We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor Delivery Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lotus House

Lotus House
Ranked #300 of 399 Restaurants in Jersey
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Jersey, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Poor Delivery Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ordered a home delivery takeaway 7.45pm, an hour past & we called the Restaurant to see if it was on its way, we were told it was & they apologised saying they didn't expect to be so busy & it would be with us shortly.....at 9.10pm we rang again & was assured the driver would be with us soon - he was deffiinately on his way, at 9.40pm I rang for a third time to cancel the meal as it was now too late to be eating & I was really tired after waiting 2 hours!!! - she kept saying the driver would be there any moment but I said i would prefer to cancel & she said she would contact the driver & tell him the order was cancelled. At 10.25pm I was woken to someone banging on the front door, it was the delivery driver with the food that we had cancelled 45 minutes earlier!!!
If you are that busy, apologise & don't accept the order for a home delivery - it quiet simple - rather than loose customers by such bad service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Another nice meal form the Lotus House. We have been going there since the mid 1970's and never had a bad meal. The aromatic duck is great as is the seaweed great starters. Very good mains like the Sweet and sour pork (but not the balls). Friendly service and a warm welcome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyP_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Value. Quick service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Greatly enjoyed the £16 set menu with a bottle of house red Merlot for a bargain £10-50!
The service was quick but we were not hurried. The food was very well cooked and in good portions.
The place has been renovated since our last visit and is modern/ comfortable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 551613Gerald54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service for their take away!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We ordered a delivery from here, having used them numerous times before and been relitively happy, however the sweet and sour chicken arrived minus the swwet and sour sauce!! I phoned and complained, and they delivered a sauce to me about 40 minutes later. Not great as the chicken was cold by then. However when it happened a SECOND time a few weeks later, I called again and didn't even get an apology!!!! They said they had no driver to get a sauce to me, and didn't even offer a refund for the dish!! Shame, as the food is nice, but the service is truly terrible. I will not be going back for this reason :-(

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, staff seemed a bit keen to get you you finished asap thought.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

We visited on a week night and there were only ourselves and two other people in the restaurant. we had a set menu for two, there was plenty to eat and the shredded beef with chilli was to die for! My only complaint was that we felt as if we were being rushed by the girl serving she was however very pleasant. We have also had takeways from here and the food is always of a high standard.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steffi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus House also viewed

St. Aubin, St. Brelade
 
St. Helier, Jersey
St. Helier, Jersey
 

Been to Lotus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing