We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful surroundings”

The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #76 of 265 Restaurants in Guernsey
Price range: $11 - $33
Description: The Kiln is a newly renovated, welcoming & friendly restaurant & cafe in the lovely Oatlands Village. Our aim is to provide high quality, good value meals in relaxed surroundings. Whether you are stopping by for a coffee & cake, a quick (or long and lazy) lunch, afternoon tea, cocktails in the garden, an early dinner or perhaps you wish to make an evening of it with a lovely 3 course dinner, we offer something for everyone.
Restaurant details
Description: The Kiln is a newly renovated, welcoming & friendly restaurant & cafe in the lovely Oatlands Village. Our aim is to provide high quality, good value meals in relaxed surroundings. Whether you are stopping by for a coffee & cake, a quick (or long and lazy) lunch, afternoon tea, cocktails in the garden, an early dinner or perhaps you wish to make an evening of it with a lovely 3 course dinner, we offer something for everyone.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Myself and friends have been visiting this establishment for many months and each time we have been treated to excellent service and sumptuous food. The staff are welcoming and friendly.The outdoor dining is well laid out and very spacious. Whether you are looking for a coffee and the most delicious cakes or for a choice of a generous and well presented lunch you really can't go wrong.

1  Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2018

When one travels with children who are a little fussy about their food, things can get tricky. Factor in a really hot day and nobody being entirely sure who won the mini golf, things can get trickier still.
Fortunately for us the Rev was The Kiln.
We had spotted it upon arrival at Oatlands and my wife noticed that they were offering a beef roast. She was sold.
So we went in to play our golf (only one of scoring a hole in one but modesty prevents me from revealing who) and then went seeking nourishment. From the moment we walked in we knew we had found somewhere special. We were greeted warmly and offered a choice of where to sit. Our children are aged 11 and 5 and so we opted for a quiet corner, away from normal humans.
Drinks orders were taken swiftly and arrived promptly. So far so good.
Then the food. Well I took an age to decide as there were so many options that appealed.
In the end I had a croque monsieur with fries, my wife had the roast beef with all the trimmings which was cooked just the way she asked for it to be cooked. Older child had a burger, again, cooked exactly as she wanted it and with none of that green stuff that 11 year olds are allergic to. The small child had fish fingers.
All dishes were cooked to perfection. I know this for a fact as I tried all of them. I had to eat two of the fish fingers which seemed to be nothing more than a lovely night slice of fresh fish rolled in a panko crumb(I may be wrong but that is what it seemed like) and oven cooked. Perfect.
Every single aspect of our visit was just as it should be and this will guarantee a return visit from us.
Keep up the excellent work and thank you for making our lunchtime treat truly worth it.

1  Thank MurphysHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Hi there

Thanks so much for your lovely review.

We do our best to appeal to all ages & tastes and are delighted that your small people were happy as well as the 'grown ups'

Hopefully we will see you soon & thanks again

Best wishes

Jenny
The Kiln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Visited several times whilst on holiday. Delicious lunches from a lighter sandwich to something special. Never disappointed! Staff are friendly, welcoming, helpful and happy to explain any ingredients and how something is cooked so you can decide whether to try something new or choose a familiar favourite from a varied menu at great prices. Nicely presented too!

1  Thank joybowstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, it means a lot to us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit & hope that we will see you soon.

With best wishes

Jenny
The Kiln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We booked for breakfast,this place is busy all through the day.We arrived at 9.00am as did other people who had booked.We sat outside.Decided to try the full english.Staff were quick to serve you.Lovely breakfast,they give you 2 sausages/2 bacon/2 eggs plus the usual beans tomato,mushroom etc.The sausages are a bit spicy,they were nice,but i prefer a normal pork sausage.
This is a big plate,there are many choices for breakfast,but i think it would be a good idea to do a smaller full english breakfast as well,Sets you up for the day.
It was nice to try the breakfast,have been quite often for lunch/coffee/and in the evening as well.Always good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Hi Karina

Thank you for taking the time to review on TripAdvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We are always happy to hear feedback regarding any aspect of our business and will have a look at the option of offering smaller breakfast! Hope to see you soon.

With kind regards

Jenny
The Kiln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018

Popped in with some friends for a coffee but ended up having tea and scones! All well presented and the scones were delicious although I do think it would have been better with fresh cream rather than the stuff out of a can! Lost a few thumbs up for that I must say. However, overall the staff were friendly and chatty when they knew we were on holiday and the range of cakes was amazing.
Would definitely recommend anyone stopping for a snack or meal - some of the dishes being served around us look fabulous.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sharjahsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Owner at The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. Apologies regarding the cream for the scones - we usually serve clotted cream so I'm not quite sure what happened - I can only imagine that we had sold out on that day and we are sorry to have disappointed.

I do hope you enjoyed your holiday to Guernsey and hope that you return in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny
The Kiln

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Kiln Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing