We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"DONT GO THERE"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Ranked #95 of 231 Restaurants in Guernsey
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"DONT GO THERE"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

my sister her husband my self and my husband have just had a meal at the taj mahal, I had the puri chicken I ask if it was hot, the waitress said she would ask the chef not to make it hot, but when it came it tasted nothing like any other chicken puri I had had before and so hot I could not eat it.
the main course's were slices of tasteless chicken in a sauce, I asked for chicken tikka the chicken was like tasteless rubber it came on its own no salad just 7 slices of chicken and a few slices of onions.
thank goodness they did not try and charges for my meal as I did not eat 95% of it.
we have been to many indian restaurant some better than others, we have always eaten the food but not in this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    19
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Have had much much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well what a Dissaapointment!! Arrived in guernsey to do a bit of buissiness , and the wife and I fancied an indian,the butterflied prawns were deep fried, the curries were tasteless, the nam bread was ok, without a doubt the best of all was the ice cold beer,but it did come in a bottle, so really can't go wrong with that!! Won't be going back, and certainly wouldn't recommend it!!shame as a bad start to a few days away

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stadbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jacques-de-Néhou, Basse-Normandie, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing compared to some Indians in Jersey”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It was just correct, but nothing to die for .... The waitors and waitresses could be a little more natural and charming. The decoration needs relooking. The food was alright, but not to die for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If this is the best...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

With out a doubt one of the poorest Indian restaurants I have ever been too.... If its an award winner it must be for still being open.....the award it did get was in 2003 and even after the visit still couldn't tell you what it was for....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balders1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ghastly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

If this is the best on the Island heaven help the others. The starters, a sort of spring roll and samosa where cooked in stale fat. The advertised saffron rice was in fact turmeric rice - and a lot of it. The peshwari naan was like eating candied coconut and two mouthfuls of my chicken with cashews made me realise I was going to go hungry. In their favour the waiting staff where graceful when we explained the food was inedible and only charged us for the drinks and starters. Oh, but this is one to avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
Guernsey, Channel Islands
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing