We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer service at it's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Customer service at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a long weekend away at Alderney's Braye Beach Hotel and really, we cannot wax lyrical enough about our experience there.

Firstly, our street view room was small but exceptionally comfortable with tasteful decor. I had the most comfortable and peaceful nights sleeps (and an extended lie in) I've had in years.

The breakfast was lovely. We opted for the Full Alderney every day as the ingredients were so high in quality and delicious! I wish I could find sausages like that on the mainland! Other choices were available, however, if something else was required eg salmon, kippers and of course the buffet style continental selection. Alderney dairy is just beautiful..so I couldn't get enough of the locally produced yoghurt and the sunshine yellow, creamy butter slathered onto the gorgeous local bread.

We were there for a family wedding which was being held at the Braye on the Saturday of our weekend away. This consisted of a Fruit de Mer buffet. It was fantastic! The freshest I've ever tasted.

Which brings me to the staff. Professional and helpful. Can't fault them one little bit. The manager, who is a lovely guy, accommodated us with a late breakfast sitting after too much celebrating from the previous evening. Nothing was too much hassle.


It's such a lovely and laid back place to stay with the most beautiful view of Braye beach bay and Fort Albert. The seas are turquoise and the sand is white and powdery. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I would fork out for a sea view room....it really is a spectacular vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stewbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for saying such lovely things about our hotel, the team are thrilled that the weekend, was such a success, see you soon
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    53
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
359
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We used the Braye Beach Hotel for my Daughter's wedding last weekend. It could not have gone any better. We had a seafood buffet to die for and all our 80 guest were very impressed. The feedback we have had has been outstanding. The grooms family traveled from Jersey and their feedback has been of utter delight.
Richard and his team gave exceptional and outstanding service from the bar service to the waiting staff and the guys serving on the buffet.
As an ex Chef I know how much work and planning goes into getting things right and this team did this with fantastic enthusiasm.
From the bottom of my heart Thank You all very much indeed.
Anyone planning a wedding in the future will not be disappointed with this venue, service,attention to detail and friendliness of everyone involved.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, we loved catering to your Daughter's Wedding.
Kind regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Braye Beach during a short break in Alderney over Easter. The location of the hotel is great. Right next to Braye Beach, which has glorious soft sand. With hardly anyone else around, the children almost had the beach to themselves most of the time. There are fairly flat walks from the hotel in both directions up the coast to explore. The town itself, though, is a 10-15 minute hike up a fairly steep hill. A good way to walk off breakfast!

The hotel itself is clean, modern and well appointed. The staff were friendly and efficient. Richard stood out in terms of the high level of service he gave and he was always happy to oblige with requests. Whilst the staff were all helpful, not all were as forthcoming and perhaps lacked a little presence.

Our room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and with a great view out over the beach. A lovely sight to wake up to. The hotel also features a small cinema, which we did not make use of, but they are happy for you to choose a film to watch on a rainy day. There are also a couple of lounges down stairs, which we generally found to be a quiet haven, with board games to amuse the children.

The food in the restaurant was well cooked and tasty. All of the dishes we had during our stay were very well executed. There is also a decent wine list. If we had one minor comment about the menu, it is that after a few days it was becoming a little repetitive and a little more variety would have been welcome.

We had a great visit to Alderney and enjoyed our stay at the Braye Beach and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Rajec,
Thank for your feedback, come and see us soon
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Braye Beach Hotel is, without doubt, one of the nicest, friendliest hotels I have stayed in. From the outset my wife and I were made welcome on the island of Alderney, with the taxi driver taking our cases to the hotel whilst we went on the train (Sundays only at 2.30 and 3.30pm).
After the train trip we arrived at the hotel and were given a guided tour, the first time a hotel had ever done this. We therefore knew from Day 1 where all the facilities were without any of the uncertainty one usually experiences.
This really set the scene for our stay, nothing was ever too much trouble. The staff were friendly and helpful, the service excellent, and both the food and rooms first rate. I would highly recommend this hotel, and I look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guild4dlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you we always try and go the extra mile, as we really value your business and want you to return, Your Trip Advisor review was really appreciated by all of us.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We only stayed for 3 nights but our expectations from a previous visit were easily met and we were very pleased to see that standards had not slipped. All staff we had contact with were very friendly and happy to help, Richard has them well trained. Food was very good, very tasty and more than enough for anyone. Our room this visit faced the street but that did not really matter as it was very clean and comfortable and we had no problem with noise from any other guest which sometimes can be a issue in hotels, but not this one. The position of the hotel on the beach is ideal and if you have not been to the hotel or the island then you are missing a treat.

Room Tip: Beach views are best, but are the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian5982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful feedback, of particular value when you are a repeat guest, lovely to hear that we have dropped our standards.
See you soon
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and the hotel was just prefect. So peaceful, the room had amazing views and all the staff were very helpful and polite.

The food was in keeping with yeh standard of the rest of the hotel and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a truly amazing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNewMrsGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear New Mrs Green

Thank you for your charming review, it was a pleasure having you and Mr Green to stay and hope to see you again soon.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

There is little point in me merely repeating all of the very positive reviews already posted about this outstanding Hotel, except to say that they are all very accurate. The hotel is located in a position which gives it great views. The staff are, as has already been said, very good indeed and have clearly been carefully chosen by General Manager Richard Proctor.
I think that Richard is probably the Bray's secret weapon! I have encountered many general managers in my time and they all vary, but Richard was omni present, always smiling, always ready to help, and full of humour, but never over powering. In short what a general manager should be. Well done to all of you and thank you for making our 3 night 45th Wedding anniversary treat so memorable. We will return!

Room Tip: Silver standard Sea views VG. We had room 30 Bed Superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerfish1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tigerfish,

A special thank you from me for your touching review and I really love working at Braye ~Beach and I am fulfilled when guests have enjoyed the Braye Beach Hotel so much as to make such fabulous comments, please come back soon.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Landemer
Le Landemer
#1 of 1 in Urville-Nacqueville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#1 of 1 in Flamanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Property: Braye Beach Hotel
Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing