We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic break”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

A brilliant hotel in a gorgeous location which is just perfect for a Romantic break. We were staying for Valentines weekend, and were looked after by Richard and the staff really well. The rooms are luxurious and very comfortable and the food is gorgeous. We had such a great time that we will definitely return in the summer so we can explore more of the lovely island of Alderney.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Ann,
thank you for the lovely review, the team are delighted, look forward to your next visit.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 696 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked the 3 night stay at the Braye Beach Hotel over Valentines weekend as a Christmas present to ourselves. We were not disappointed. Our stylish, clean and comfortable room overlooked the bay, and the waves would lull us to sleep in the large very comfortable bed. There was complimentary fruit, fresh milk and a rather pleasant sherry. Manager Richard and all his staff were very friendly, helpful in all ways and most professional. The private cinema is a bonus on wet and stormy nights and there is a large choice of films to watch whenever you choose. The restaurant food was beautifully cooked and beautifully presented. We also ate and drank in the Divers Arms where the staff were just as friendly and pleasant. Valentines Day was the day of The Big Storm, we still got out walking, torrential rain, hail and of course The Wind, but it was exhilarating and watching the waves break over the harbour wall was spectacular. For such a small island there are plenty of walks and all the route maps were in our room, we made the most of them, never mind the weather. Thank you to Richard and staff for helping to make it such a great weekend, we do hope to return in due course.

Room Tip: Choose a Platinum room overlooking the beach and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Jane,

thank you for your wonderful review, we had a really great Valentines Weekend thanks to people like yourselves, making it such fun and being very appreciative of the team's effort.
Hope to see you both soon.

cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is perfect, it overlooks the beach and is just amazing. The rooms are so clean and I wish I could bring the bathroom home with me. The manager is so friendly and the staff are always very helpful. Alderney itself is a lovely, idyllic place to go. I've been several times and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Hi Julie,
thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to give us a review,
look forward to your return.
Cheers
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Braye Beach Hotel is a fantastic hotel on Alderney whom is owned by 'Vista Hotels' who also run the Fermain Valley in Guernsey. All the staff are phenomenal with so much knowledge of the island, especially the manager (Richard) who was extremely courteous and treats all like a member of his own family!
The rooms are very clean and elegantly furnished, some even with a breath taking view over Braye Bay (Platinum Rooms). Plus also being only 30 minute walk (uphill) from St Anne's it's defiantly one of my favorites on this quaint little island.

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the Platinum rooms which have amazing views over the bay or other wise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callum1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Callum,
thank you for your great review, it was a pleasure to have you staying with us, and it is reviews like this which helped us be voted 6th best hotel in the UK. by Trip Advisor reviewers who are our best judge.
Regards
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

As another reviewer has said, it was the people here which made this place so special - that and the beautiful beach!

Alderney is a small island with only about 2,000 people on it. We really felt the staff at the hotel knew the island and its inhabitants back to front. When we said, making small talk, that we had heard the fishing was good, they said they knew the perfect chap to take us on a shore walk if we fancied. When mentioned that we thought we might go for a cycle that day, they not only recommended a cycle company but knew them very well and offered to give them a ring so they could have bikes ready and waiting on the forecourt for us.

The room itself was lovely; the bathroom clean but unremarkable. Our fridge made a slightly irritating 'ticking' sound, but it did have fresh local milk in it which more than made up for the noise.

We had a sea view over the deserted white sand beach, and saw oyster catchers, cormorants and a range of other birdlife from our balcony. The clear sky and lack of light pollution was also superb for stargazing.

Room Tip: Check the small print - the 'Silver' Rooms face away from the sea - not terribly expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yetanothergeneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you realised that nothing is too much trouble
we want all our guests to have a great time, I will check on the clicking fridge.
Please come back soon
Thanks Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel provides a classic example of the difference a visible and involved manager can make. Richard (I even remember his name - unlike the managers in almost any other hotel I have stayed at) was a very hands on and competent manager. The staff worked well under his direction and nothing seemed to pose any problems.

What was impressive about this hotel was that 'packages' were put together - which included flight bookings, taxi transfers, hire cars and anything else you could require. This made the planning of this trip simple and enjoyable.

The hotel was in particularly good order, the room was great - views unbeatable. The hotel even has a cinema - and you can book movies from their collection.

Dining at this hotel was good. It really did depend on the chef though. At times, things were clearly cooked from fresh with care and imagination - at other times the menu was a bit disappointing - but this did not detract from the stay as there are plenty of options outside of the hotel.

Not having been to Alderney before it was an interesting experience. Definitely a fair weather destination with outdoor pursuits being the key attraction. We did have some rather amusing moments 1 - being taken by taxi to the Museum - which was closed (The taxi driver did not feel it necessary to inform us of this when he picked us up) and 2 - the Tourist Information center which has available no information whatsoever. Accepting it was run be very well meaning volunteers, it still made us laugh when we asked a question about sightseeing and were told to look in the window because they didn't know of anything! Still chuckling now as I write this.

While Richard is very proactive in Alderey tourism, the sleepiness of the Island is not a reflection on his hotel - the highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_wilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Dr Wilkinson,
thank you for your great review, my team and I really enjoy looking after my guests and want them to go away with a positive feeling about Braye Beach Hotel and Alderney.
I do hope we will see you again soon, happy new year
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked at the last moment for a New Year's Eve 3 day break, the greeting was the start of 3 nights of quality, we were given a guided tour of the Hotel & then shown our room , compact but with everything you could wish for including fresh apples, a decanter with some rather pleasant Sherry & REAL milk in the refrigerator (we had recently stayed in a 5* hotel complete with uht milk!) The food, it really is top class with a very reasonably priced wine list, the private cinema, the quiet lounges & the piece de résistance is the view. Thank you Richard & all the team for making the break a memorable one.
PS The beer in your Pub next door is pretty good too!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterandjenny282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Peter and Jenny,
thank you for your charming review, I do hope we will see you back at Braye Beach very soon.
Happy new year,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
882 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
64 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
888 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
24.4 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: $127 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing