We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for a quiet break”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We booked at short notice for a five night break, due to coinciding acidentally with Alderney week there were problems with flights, Maria at the hotel spent a considerable ammount of time in contact with us to make acceptable arrangements. We found the staff at the Hotel, friendly, helpful and always available.

As we like a quiet life, being situated over "The Diver",(the local pub) was a little upseting, however a short conversation with Robert (asst. general manager) amicably resolved the problem.

In our view the hotel is of a high standard and very reasonably priced.

Alderney is, by the level of other places we have visited, not
tourist orientated, this made our stay all the more enjoyable and we will most certainly be returning to the Braye Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urkey175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 681 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2008

On Friday 6th June we stated at the Braye Beach Hotel overnight. We had come off a yacht after a few rough days and needed a good nights sleep. What they didn't tell us when they booked us in was they had party booked in 'The Divers' the hotel pub. There was loud music, people shouting and singing and the sound of breaking glass going on until 2 am in the morning immediately outside our room window. There is no air conditioning in the room so we needed to keep the window opening. We had a very disturbed night.

This was compounded by a totally unsympathetic assistant manager, Robert, who would make no concession and didn't even apologise. To top it all he has put through unauthorised transactions on my credit card.

A nicely appointed hotel in a fabulous position spoiled by lousy customer service.

Stayed: June 2008
7  Thank Dilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Fancied a few days in Fermain Bay, Guernsey - hotel there full but they recommended this sister hotel on Alderney, quietest and smallest of the three main Channel Islands yet one dripping with history. Arrived with fingers crossed, to find this is an absolute gem from the moment we first entered the foyer.

Outstanding staff, well-trained, welcoming, faultlessly helpful, cheerful yet discreet. Excellent decor and furnishings, harbour-view room fantastic value, wonderfully comfy bed, very high-standard bathroom, SUPERB food - the plaice, lamb and especially the rhubarb souffle (not easy) were excellent, ditto the breakfasts, and again terrific value. On this quiet - yet scenically superb - island, 3 miles x 1 1/2 miles, Braye Beach Hotel came as an absolutely staggering surprise. Got home three days ago and still buzzing!

Two caveats - choice of piped music in the restaurant one evening was lousy (what diner wants to listen to some spotty Herbert with a voice like gravel on broken glass crooning about his unhappiness?) - and while island PR promotes bicycle hire, with those gradients FORGET IT! Rent a car.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I was intrigued to try this place out as I had stayed at the sister hotal in Guernsey (Fernmain Valley) the year before and though knowing the channel islands very well, I had never been to Alderney.
Alderney out of season is quite a bleak place and could even be considered a little grim but this gem of a place is a complete god send to the island when returning form wind swept walks.
They are presently charging very cheap rates including flights for what is excellent service in an excellent location
The rooms are small but perfectly formed, sleeping to the sound of lapping waves. The food is of a very high quality and served by friendly staff.
The bar area is great for afternnoon tea and lunch.
There is a down stairs lounge but this was overun with kids on the Easter weekend so was given a wide birth!
I would certainl;y recommend this place for a get away-from-it-all weekend any time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Difficult to fault this hotel. A row of old "pirates" wharehouses have been superbly converted into what must be one of the best hotels in the channel islands. It is certainly the best hotel in Alderney. It's wonderfully located by the beach - you can fall asleep to the sound of waves. It's extremely comfortable and upmarket without being in anyway over smart or pretentious. Scott the manager and chef certainly knows how to cook - it's worth going to the hotel just for the food. In short this is one of those rare hotels which is a destination in itself. I can't recommend it too highly and being located in Alderney which has hitherto been a culinary and hotel desert, it is nothing short of miraculous.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitor_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Braye Beach Hotel on Alderney. We fell in love with the Island, the people and the Hotel. (This was our third trip of the year,which says it all)

The Hotel is immaculate, the Bedrooms by far the best I have stayed in for a long time. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help.

We ate there one evening out of the three and the food was excellent (and very reasonable) The breakfasts were also fab. The location is superb and extremely peaceful.

If you are wanting lots of action and party nights,this will be no good. If you want a wonderful "leave the world behind for a few days" then this is the place to forget it all and chill out. Fab, Fab,Fab!!!
We booked prior to leaving the hotel for next New Year. It was wort every penny....

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hobskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2007

I despaired of finding the ideal hotel for a short break to recover after recent illness and recharge my batteries ready for a new job. I wanted somewhere luxurious but understated, quiet but sophisticated, small, personal, and where I could go for walks if I felt like it or just sit around if I didn't. Then, serendipity!, the promotional leaflet from Healthspan came through the door. Unable to choose between the two hotels they offered, I decided on both - three nights at the Braye Beach and two at the Fermain Valley on Guernsey.

Healthspan organised everything including flights from Manchester to Guernsey with Aurigny, and the short hop with Blue Island to Alderney.

With a simply lovely gold room overlooking the bay, complimentary fruit and sherry, a chaise longue and armchair as well as a huge bed, I fell in love with the Braye Beach Hotel. It's location is superb. Because it's so quiet, it's ideal for single travellers. In bar or restaurant, you can relax without feeling conspicious or embarrassed. Everyone is friendly, guests, staff and islanders alike. My food was delicious - although I ate out one night across the road to have a wider choice of local seafood and to ring the changes. And although the clientele was mainly older people, the place wasn't stuffy at all - background music was contemporary, yet discreet.

No-one else used the private cinema but I did, twice. The selection of DVDs wasn't inspiring, however the facility was fabulous and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Yes, the fridge was in a cupboard which got very warm. I simply opened the door overnight. They need to sort out this silly niggle but that's all it is.

I was sorry to have to leave and it was a very hard act to follow - I wished I had stayed all five days at the Braye Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Bicyclebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.4 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
64 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
707 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: $131 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing