We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, tranquil break in Alderney”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely, tranquil break in Alderney”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our second visit to Alderney and the Braye Beach Hotel. There is something quite special about the combination of the Braye Beach and this understated island.

The hotel is excellent in all respects: location, comfort, style and service. It has a ‘seaside-cool’ style that runs through both the public areas of the hotel and the bedrooms. For us, it is a place to be quiet, and to relax.

This brings me to a important note about the attitude of the hotel staff. They are young, smart, calm and helpful. They are completely professional and work smoothly and elegantly under the guidance of Richard, the general manager. There is no stress nor fuss and this, in our opinion, creates the tranquil experience that we find so fitting for this location.

We found the standard of breakfast and dinner to be very good. We had dinner the first night and it was a thoroughly enjoyable way to begin our weekend.

We find the Alderney experience to be great fun as well as being relaxing. The Aurigny flight from Southampton to the island is quite different and exciting. The Island itself is very interesting and we have spent a lot of time walking the cliff paths right around the island. The fortifications on the coast add another dimension to a very pretty island. If you like coastal walks, I am sure you will like Alderney.

I even managed to get a little sun-burned while out rambling, which was a bit surprising given that we visited in the middle of September. So, more sunscreen needed for our next visit.

We were met with smiling, friendly faces everywhere we went on the island. It really is an uplifting experience when you spend a few days on Alderney.

We will return and we will stay at the Braye Beach. If you, too, decide to visit then try to get one of the rooms facing the bay. It is a beautiful view to wake up to.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms facing the beach is very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrRichardProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jim,
Thank you for your charming review for Braye Beach and Alderney, it is wonderful that you took the time to wirtie such a great piece about us all, we hope you will come and see us soon.
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    60
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
110
387
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

another lovely trip in June,i think that makes it 9 years running now. the hotel,food & staff just get better each year. i am always thoroughly looked after, & even had a boat trip booked for me this time so i definately got to see the puffins! still looking for the blond hedgehogs tho!

Room Tip: ask for richard! south rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,
thank you for your lovely review, I have been trying to round up blond hedgehogs for your viewing pleasure, hopefully I will perfected the art by the time you next visit. It is always great to see you.
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The fact that this was our 3rd visit to both Alderney & the Braye Beach Hotel says it all. I can only echo the comments of all the, numerous, "Excellent" reviews on here. Excellent Hotel, excellent weather, beautiful island! Another perfect holiday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Richard,

It is always a pleasure to have you both staying with us, as you are both such delightful guests,
please keep coming back

Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Probably the best hotel on the island. Certainly a magnificent position overlooking Braye Beach [though my room looked onto the street behind]. Just a thing to remember, if you want to get up to St. Anne it's a steep walk [only taxis of course, no pubic buses on the island]. Food in the hotel was excellent and the service equally so. For a holiday that's different, choose Alderney for a remarkable experience - I sat next to the pilot on the tiny Aurigny plane from Southampton on the Trislander plane which seems to be the only type able to land on the small airstrip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Terry,
thank you for your candid review, I hope we will see you again.
Regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited Alderney to attend a great chums wedding and decided to stay at the Braye Beach Hotel. It is a stunning location, right on the lovely beach of Braye. From the moment we arrived until our departure, we were made to feel incredibly welcome. Clearly the influx of wedding guests in addition to a full house(including A list celebrities) meant that the hotel was at full stretch. However the staff all went the extra mile, with special attention being afforded all guests and not just those more famous!
Richard the manager runs a very tight ship and all his staff were first rate, including reception, who juggle roles from check-in, to providing beach towels, taxi and restaurant reservations etc etc.
We were biased and prejudiced by our connection with the Scilly Isles, however we left wishing that there was a Braye Beach Hotel and a Richard on Scilly!
Thoroughly ecommended and we will return for a quieter , less full on stay!!
Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your tremendous review, this was a great weekend, we gained a lot of energy from the fun people visiting Alderney, there was so much going on it rivalled Alderney Week, and it was great having my hero Ian Botham and his super family to stay at Braye Beach Hotel..
Thanks
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A recent stay at the Braye Beach with friends was an excellent 4 days away in a nice hotel with absolutely excellent service from the waiting staff. My wife and I don't like to complain, but had an issue with Room 30 (Platinum Plus Room) on the top floor, the smell in the room was as though it had a well used damp mop hidden somewhere in the room, we left windows open, fan on, door open, still it did not go, we gave the air change a couple of hours to subside the 'dank' smell, didn't go, we reported it to reception, they couldn't do anything for the evening of our first day, we put up with it for that first night, it was still as strong in the morning even though we'd slept with it all night, windows open! on waking we made a call to reception requesting a room change, the manager approached us prior to breakfast asking if we had a problem and would we like to change room? (already requested it).. we were offered a lesser room from our booking, I requested a a confirmation of price amendment, we were told £10... assuming per night.. we moved room, to 18 on the first floor, which was fine, window no balcony and on the same side as were originally viewing toward sea. When our bill came we were discounted £20 from the total for the lesser room for the 2nd and 3rd night... period.. we stayed 4 nights, 3 nights at £185 with a fourth night night offered as a 'complimentary' deal... we just think it was quite unfair that we had to pay the full £185 for the first night smelly room scenario... there was no discussion at reception that was the bill... the reception staff don't get 5 ticks for 'service' but the rest of the staff do... Our friends had no issues with their rooms and it was their second stay in the last 2 years, we'd have been more than pleased to have had the same point of view, but not to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 659ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear 659ed,
thank you for your review, I must confess this is rather difficult to answer as you were travelling in the company of dear repeat guests and I value their patronage, They have already told me they will be coming back.
Therefore I am not going to get into a long reply, I know you had a number of other issues with the hotel, menu etc.
I was sad that you highlighted my very hardworking receptionist for criticism and a lower set of ticks and feel that you understimated the ammount of effort we put in to try and make you happy, all to little or no avail.
Sometimes it is better to admit defeat rather than keep trying against the odds..
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Went with a group of friends for a celebration weekend. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The setting on brave beach is outstanding. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Food was lovely too.
We had a corner room with a small balcony and panoramic views of the bay.
Would love to go back sometime. Be a lovely place for a romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Kazz94,
thanks for your charming review, please come back soon whether for a romantic break or with a group of friends, we look forward to it.
Cheers
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
59 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
796 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Property: Braye Beach Hotel
Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing