We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Fabulous location. Great décor and fabrics. Silence at night. Good rooms with all the finishing touches such as tea and coffee, biscuits, free Wi Fi, fruit and even sherry! Views to die for. Incredible staff that cannot do enough for you. Good value fine dining. Wonderful bar and outdoor seating and dining areas literally on the beach. Everything is meticulously overseen by the most welcoming flamboyant General Manager Richard who works tirelessly and charmingly to ensure you enjoy every minute of your stay. Richard makes you feel like you own the place from the minute you arrive and I am sure that even if you asked him to provide you with a pet elephant for your stay, he would somehow manage it with the greatest of pleasure. Do try it!!!

This is real understated quality. It is not a big hotel and it is clear that you really matter to the staff and management. We tried a couple of the local restaurants for a bit of variety and found the hotel dinner was actually by far the best value in the area and it was a bonus that it was also the best quality.

In a word..."Bliss".

Room Tip: Get a Platinum Plus room with a mini balcony. Leave the balcony door open and drift off to sleep to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whistleblower2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Whistleblower 2009 (what a great name)
Thank you for your magnificent review, my only concern is that I have run out of pet Elephants and can only provide Giraffes for our future guests, hopefully they will be understanding of this minor flaw, please come back soon.
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    53
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
359
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent. The staff are welcoming, efficient and friendly. The food is varied, modern, high quality and good value for dinner at £25.00 for 3 courses. Our room was spacious, airy and had a lovely view over the beach and bay. We enjoyed the private cinema and caught up on newish releases which we hadn't seen. There were complimentary newspapers, magazines, books to read and games to play. A top quality hotel without a hint of pomposity. We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Hilary,
thank you, it is very kind of you to write such a great review and I hope we will see you very soon.
regards Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent a very self-indulgent couple of nights at the Braye Beach Hotel. Contemporary decor, great attention to detail, stylish, friendly and attentive staff, immaculately clean and tidy, great food, fabulous views, luxurious bedrooms...the list goes on. If you want to escape for a few days and pamper yourself, I can't recommend this hotel more highly!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little bit extra for a room with a view over the bay...you can't beat th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
What a fantastic review, made us all delighted to that you enjoyed your stay, come back soon.
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed Saturday night at the hotel after roughing it on a narrow bunk on a yacht.

What a change - beautiful sheets, comfy bed and excellent furnishings and fittings.

Dinner was superb and I enjoyed a first class sleep.

Next morning I was able to book a flight to Southampton courtesy of Reception. I then enjoyed a full Alderney breakfast and then took a taxi to the Airport.

Well done Richard Proctor (General Manager) and all your terrific staff.

Room Tip: Tell Reception what you want and they'll oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heights73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Sir, it was lovely of you to write such charming comments and much appreciated, I hope you summed up what a comfortable place Braye Beach is to have a holiday, whether taking refuge from a bobbing yacht, or as stranded aircrew! We love having you all to stay.
Come back soon please
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We turned up at the hotel early evening without having a booking and were greeted by Richard and the Receptionist who couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. Whilst we enjoyed a drink in the bar they sorted out a room with a sea view for us. The room was spacious and luxurious, with a stunning view of the bay - everything we could wish for, and it was lovely to wake up in the morning with the sun streaming through the shutters and the sound of the sea. Fresh milk in the room for our tea and coffee was an added bonus - very rare in hotel rooms! We were very lucky with the weather and had our breakfast and evening meals on the terrace, with Trevor the sea gull in attendance. We would not normally eat our evening meals at a hotel but with such a wonderful welcome and service we decided to eat here and we were not disappointed - our two evening meals were excellent. We have visited Alderney on many occasions and Braye Beach Hotel is definitely the place to stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennyandphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Stranded Aircrew
What a pleasure it was to have you staying with us, I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves,
The fun of running Braye Beach is the banter that I enjoy with all my very lovely guests.
Come and get stranded again soon.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first stay in Alderney but certainly not our last. Our cares just melted away in this lovely hotel overlooking the pale sands and turquoise sea of Braye Beach. Richard and his team pitch it just right offering excellent friendly, efficient service. We had a lovely welcome from Suzie, the receptionist, who gave us a tour of the hotel and explained the cinema system. We loved being able to choose a film and watch it in the comfort of the private cinema and used this facility several times during our stay. The food in the restaurant and bar is very good and reasonably priced for the quality, as is the wine! We stayed in a Platinum room overlooking the beach, it's cool, calm decor and the stunning view were a recipe for instant relaxation. The bed was so comfortable and the thoughtful touches such as fresh milk in the fridge and a decanter of sherry were the icing on the cake.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and the peaceful, beautiful island of Alderney. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wintlekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you it is great to receive such positive feedback, I really appreciate the time everyone tkaes to write a comment on the hotel. I hope we will see you back very soon.
Thanks again
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've just returned from our short break here & absolutely loved it!
Richard & his staff are all very friendly & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them to make our stay perfect.
The food was lovely & the location stunning! Our platinum plus room (number 26) had a double aspect with stunning views over the beach & bay. It was spotlessly clean, superbly comfortable & luxurious, we especially enjoyed the decanter of quality sherry which was ideal for a night cap!
Richard informed us of a boat trip that was being done by Alderney wildlife which we went out on & thoroughly enjoyed. This took us around the coast of the island to see the bird life such as the gannet colony & puffins.
All in all a 1st class, friendly & beautifully run hotel in a prime location.
We would strongly recommend it to anyone thinking of taking a holiday on the channel islands.

Room Tip: Go for a platinum plus room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gahanbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your really lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Braye Beach and on Alderney, please come back soon.
Thanks Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Roche du Marais
Hotel La Roche du Marais
#1 of 1 in Omonville-la-Petite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Landemer
Le Landemer
#1 of 1 in Urville-Nacqueville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Bel Air
Hotel Bel Air
#1 of 1 in Flamanville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Property: Braye Beach Hotel
Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing