We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing time”
Review of Braye Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braye Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you want a relaxing break at a hotel with friendly excellent service, look no further! Our room overlooks Braye Beach from one balcony and the breakwater from the other!

Bed six foot, comfortable, all very clean, safe to store valuables, two chairs, balcony with two chairs and another Juliet balcony overlooking the beach. Also pillows wonderful which is not always the case!? Amazing to see high tide this morning and last night to see moon shining on the sea! We have taken some amazing pictures!

So far food wise - crab sandwich delicious, wine superb and breakfast best I have had in any hotel!

Fresh milk in jug in fridge rather than little long life milks (very special touch).

We had a problem with fridge on arrival and we locked safe by mistake but sorted in minutes by friendly staff.

Alderney is a quiet special place and well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Book well ahead and go for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, nothing like a fresh Alderney Crab Sandwich, we get them from our firendly Fisherman just fresh off the quay.
Come back soon and try the Fresh Lobster,
Thanks Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 697 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is a gem. Fabulous location on beach, friendly staff, great food and excellent breakfast. Richard the manager most helpful. More a boutique hotel but at very reasonable rates. Great for a few days peace quiet and regeneration at any time of year. Don't go if want to shop till you drop or go clubbing. Do go if you love clear views of the night sky, empty Caribbean style beaches , lovely walks, great fishing and piece and quiet. What time is it in Alderney - about 1952.

Room Tip: Choose one with view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you for your beautiful and very apt description of Braye Beach and Alderney, looking forward to welcoming the guests who like that sort of environment, virtually on their doorstep.
Thanks Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had an excellent time here with my husband and two children. We had 2 rooms together, (on a corner), with another door outside so that when that door was closed it effectively made the rooms interconnecting. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, and the decanter of sherry was a lovely touch. The games and reading rooms in the basement are really lovely, as is the private cinema. Breakfasts were superb, with plenty of choice, the staff very friendly and helpful, and dinner and other snacks excellent as well. Can't fault this hotel really!

Room Tip: overlooking the sea and beach has to be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lookinghopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Wonderful review thank you, much appreciated by us all, Have a great Christmas and a happy new year when I hope you all will revisit Alderney and the Braye Beach.

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Greeted by the hotel general manager upon arrival, who was very attentive throughout our stay. The bedroom was very well apointed, with wonderfull views over the beach. A decanter of sherry was provided and filled as and when required. The rest of the staff were excellent and always on hand to offer assistance when required. The food was excellent and the cheff deserves a special mention, as he was always on hand and prepared to discuss his menues and methods of cooking, to ensure you get your food exactly as you like it. Well done to everyone. and woild love to return in the near future.

Worth a special mention is the hotel location, which is situated adjacent to a beautifull beach with pristine, shallow water, suitable for bathing, especially for children.

Room Tip: request a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for your very kind review, come and see us soon, Happy Christmas to you both
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Splendid, relaxed hotel break. Everything was good, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, starting with their opening gambit of "we'll put you in the best room" (corner of top floor with windows overlooking both beach and harbour). The hotel was almost empty, so we had the undivided attention of almost all the staff. The dinner menu was excellent, and every dish we tried over the weekend was both really tasty, and perfectly presented - apparently there were two chefs cooking just for us, so it felt a bit like being on the receiving end of goodies from the final of Masterchef! And all for £15 for 3 courses!
The room was really comfortable, and very well appointed. We made use of the Hotel's cinema which was an unexpected bonus fun facility.
The only (very minor) downsides were the piped music in dining room and bar, mentioned by a previous reviewer, a rather intrusively noisy fan in the bar, and leaving outside floodlights on during our second night which detracted from the dark skies we hoped to enjoy. We later found the lights were left on by mistake, and the other two criticisms hardly detracted from a perfect break. I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for the "platinum" rooms, which overlook the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, bar fan rectified, lights back on their timer, (thank goodness)
Piped music is at present Carols for the festive period, I hope we shall see you soon, Happy Christmas and New Year.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for one night with my wife - booked a Platinum (seaview) room, with breakfast, afternoon tea and a bottle of wine. Also booked dinner, as the menu looked good when we got there.

Couldn't have wanted more! Staff were friendly and welcoming from the moment we arrived, allowing us to check in at 9.30am and check out at 5.30pm! We were shown around the hotel, and informed about the cinema, which we took advantage of - luxurious!

The room was well appointed, with TV, wireless internet, a decanter of sherry and toiletteries. And the view from the window was absolutely gorgeous, right over Braye Beach.

Three course dinner was wonderful and imaginative, while breakfast had a great selection and some tasty kippers! And afternoon tea had fresh, warm scones and tasty sandwiches.

Location is great for setting off north around Braye Beach, or South West around the harbour.

Absolutely top notch, perfect service, and a wonderful, relaxing stay. Thanks!

Room Tip: The seaview (Platinum) rooms are well worth grabbing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkymotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you, it was great to receive your kind review, everyone staying at Braye Beach is regarded as a VIP, because we really appreciate that you have chosen our hotel above others, this is instilled into the team and hopefully a lot of other people will feel that they have been treated like royalty, so please come back soon.
Thanks again Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is everything you need for some quiet reflection.....and has all the lovely qualities written in the preceding reviews. Richard might like to consider turning off the piped music in the dining room and beach view room though. No one needs cover versions when the wind, rain and sea are creating a perfect harmony. What is the purpose of the music? It is not a feature of the sister hotel Fermaine Valley!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms might be noisy in the summer as the terrace is below.....and next to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greedyguts370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerProctor, General Manager at Braye Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am glad you and your son enjoyed your stay with us, I appreciate what you are saying about the music, but when I leave it off (because I have forgotten to switch it on)
I have had reviews, which suggest background music would have been nice. so I am a bit torn.
Thank you again for all your feedback and I appreciate your taking the time and trouble to give us a review. I look forward to your return, when I will most certainly turn the music off.
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alderney
24.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
894 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
889 reviews
21.6 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
23.9 mi away
Duke of Normandie Hotel
Duke of Normandie Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Peter Port
715 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braye Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braye Beach Hotel

Address: Braye Street, GY9 3XT
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Alderney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alderney
Price Range: $132 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braye Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without doubt the most luxurious hotel in Alderney, the stunning Braye Beach Hotel has one of the most spectacular views you could wish for, standing picture-perfect on the edge of Alderney's finest sandy beach. This stylish and elegant hotel offers the highest standards of food, accommodation and personal service. With the style and elegance of a luxury small hotel, the finer points of hospitality come as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braye Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braye Beach Resort All Inclusive
Braye Beach Alderney
Braye Beach Hotel Alderney, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing