We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must !”
Review of Alderney Museum

Alderney Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum collection on display reveals an island community changing over the years to both external and internal pressures. Alderney has a fascinating history starting with extensive Stone, Bronze and Iron Age activity, with evidence of historically important Roman activity at Longy. The Victorian era brought huge change to Alderney and the landscape is still dominated by Queen Victoria's interest in the island as a defence harbour from the French. Most recently the Second World War had an extreme effect on Alderney when all but a few of the island's inhabitants were evacuated and the island occupied by German forces for the duration of the war.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must !”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very knowledgeable staff, extremely interesting. Some great War History and really old artifacts. This is a Must do on Alderney.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    54
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Gannet and shag”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We explored this museum when rain stopped our walking holiday. We knew quite a bit about the distressing history of Alderney but the exhibits here brought the experience into sharp relief.
Although compact,there is plenty to see here for a couple of hours or so......Napoleonic history, occupation history, wildlife exhibits including local sea birds and local art.
Really well laid out with helpful voluntary staff in attendance. Outside is a yellow phone box and a blue postbox....typical Alderney!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Although the arrangement of exhibits I found somewhat confusing, the museum (staffed by informative and friendly volunteers on our visit) is well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than exspected”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice small but plenty to keep you interested. very nice to get the facts and see the exhibits. just of Victoria street so a not to be missed trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bussby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A little museum but interesting”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I liked the insight into Alderney's occupation and the fact that the children of Alderney had been allowed to have a say how the evacuation of the Island had been portrayed. The museum will take you an hour, tops, but I'm glad I went.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val9401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alderney Museum also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to Alderney Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing