We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A seat by the window - except there was no window”

The Georgian House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $58
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The menus are contemporary with a mix of traditional British pub and European with a seafood influence. We maintain a constant bar menu for those of you wanting something quick and easy. Our short and seasonal main menu will have a small selection of recurring favourites, but will see changes daily according to what is brought to our back door and what is at its seasonal best.
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A seat by the window - except there was no window”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Folding windows mean that on a warm evening the seat by the window we had asked for was effectively outdoors - a real delight. The food too was a real delight - ingeneously presented too. Try the scallops and black pudding if it is on the day you go. My sea bass special was special - with some beautifully fresh samphire - magic! A slight disappointment was the lack of bananas for the banoffi desert - one of the prices one pays for being on an island when the boat with the stores arrives a day late. The apple topped frangipani was an excellent substitute - very very very good.
It also seemed pretty reasonably price wise for a special meal out - the wine list was reasonably priced too. Probably the best thing was the staff - they were lovely - helpful - attentive and worked at just the right speed. They helped make the whole experience a real pleasure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    45
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We dined at the Georgian on the last night of our week on Alderney & we were right to save it - the garden for a pre diner drink was lovely & the restaurant is perfect.

A pleasant room with very good staff & excellent food beautifuly presented - my youngest son has worked as a chef, he was full of praise about the menu, the presentation & the seasoning.

The rest of our party agree, the whole experience was delightful & rounded off our holiday in the best way possible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stag weekend”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Four of us had breakfast here. The service was excellent and the food was cooked especially for us. Unfortunately we couldn't get them to play the ukelele for us!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank heights73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a perfect blend”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

they offer eveything from coffee to three course dinners, the food is very well prepared and presented. the staff are very attentive, the chef is very accomedating to all diners beautiful views if eating in the upstairs room,perfect place to host a party!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank helena c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical stay - fantastic breakfasts!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a week-long stay in the Georgian. I know Alderney well already, but had never stayed in the Georgian; it was absolutely brilliant. The rooms are pretty, immaculate and comfortable, the staff simply could not have been more friendly and the breakfasts were a real highlight of each day!
The Georgian has always been a real hub of Alderney life, and it still serves excellent, fresh, modern food in a lovely ambiance. The 'Catch of the Day' fish special I had there for lunch was DELICIOUS!
The best thing about staying at the Georgian has to be the staff, though, who are fun, welcoming, generous and who go to great lengths to be helpful. Chris, Shugy (sp?), Judy, and everybody else were extremely attentive and made us feel right at home.
We will be coming back - highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Georgian House Restaurant also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to The Georgian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing