We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack's Brasserie

Jack's Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Alderney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British, Cafe, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A light and modern brasserie serving fresh internationally inspired cuisine in a relaxed and informal atmosphere. We offer a wide range of speciality coffees, homemade cakes and treats to tempt you and an extensive wine and bar selection to relax with whilst you enjoy our sunny terrace. Our friendly, attentive staff take care of you and ensure that your visit is a truly memorable one.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived as a group of five late in the afternoon the team were so helpful and the food delicious really really recommend this excellent friendly brasserie.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    57
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
1 review
“The perfect "Family lunch" spot.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have to hand it to this place, the customer service was flawless. Greeted with a smile. The food, amazing, couldn't have asked for a better lunch. The food also went down a treat with my Mother too, who passes on her congratulations towards such an amazing 'Brasserie' Well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamuelJClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Award Winning but Not for Customer Service”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This 'award winning' brasserie clearly did not win for customer service. We wanted a light lunch but were immeditaely put off when told 'lunch didn't start for another ten minutes and there are five booked tables ahead of you and they must take priority'. We decided to take our chances but waited some time before anyone approched us again and only then to tell us again we would have to wait and, more or less, told us to go elsewhere. So we did. The whole atmosphere was unwelcoming and rather precious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacks2011, Owner at Jack's Brasserie, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion.

When you arrived (on what was a particularly inclement day) 5 other parties had already taken shelter from the rain and were waiting for lunch to start at 1230, at which time we had another 3 tables reserved. I thought it was important to make you aware of this as I understood you were looking for a "quick" lunch. I then left you to have a think and look at the drinks menu which your wife had picked up.

All of our dishes are freshly prepared to order. Therefore, when you advised my colleague that you needed to be finished and out by 1pm, he felt it only right to offer you the option of trying somewhere less busy as with 8 other tables looking for lunch at the same time we could not guarantee to meet your tight schedule.

We do not like to turn customers away, however, we believe it is worse to deliver false promises only to dissapoint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Cake!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really nice place to eat great cake and drink very good coffee! Comfortable inside or good seating outside too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noonfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I visited Jack's 3 or 4 times during our week on Alderney, lunch was wonderful, we tried too many good things to list (but try their speciality chocolate brownie if you're having tea), and the guys running it couldn't be more helpful (helping me identify a song that was playing that I wanted to know about at one point, ). We sat outside several times as the weather was good, really enjoyed it and will be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fizzy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack's Brasserie also viewed

Alderney, Channel Islands
 
Alderney, Channel Islands
 

Been to Jack's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing