We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
160
31
12
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
31
12
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river underfloor heating honeymoon suite quality toiletries attention to detail bottled water the ground floor perfect location very comfortable room lovely view train station per night relaxing stay biscuits bedroom window good size on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 214 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Fabulous place but it is not an Inn so if your expecting to pop to the bar it's not going to happen, however next door both sides there are pubs which also offer food. This is a room only property however we did not find this a problem, our room was very clean. Quiet, and well equipped with a and nice seating, big TV and excellent bathroom. Not a cheap option

Room Tip: Fabulous view a little obscured by a tree (room 3)
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Fantastic location, the accommodation couldn't have been better, very clean and well decorated with facilities you would normally associate with a hotel. These included free wi-fi, hairdryer, a huge bathroom, great dressing table, and a tea making tray. Will definitely return. Handy that the Grand Central diner is next door which does a great breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhanlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Location is what this Inn is all about. Beautiful views of the River from all front facing rooms. Lovely to walk along the river and sit awhile. Lily, the owner, is on hand to offer handy hints. She advised us to take the train and bus into Cambridge and we were very glad of her advice and left the car behind. Bedrooms comfortable, good quality large TV. Nice touches such as fruit and tea and coffee. There did not appear to be any individual climate controls and as we were experiencing the usual English Spring we could have done with a little extra warmth. Bathrooms large with underfloor heating and the hugest fluffiest towels. Would mention if you are a little infirm the shower over bath might be a little difficult to tackle. Suggest grab rails would be good option. Shame no breakfast is offered but understand that might well change in the future. However there is a handy Costas based in Tesco next to the rail station for that much needed coffee and toast !. We ate in town one night and at the Cutter Inn the other night. Thoroughly recommend their restaurant. An enjoyable couple of days and we hope to make a return visit. Ely is well worth a visit for a short break.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank BennettEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016

We stayed here three nights with friends as the base for a cycling trip. The situation was perfect as it was right on a cycle path giving us immediate access to a wide network of cycle lanes. It's also very easy to walk to the charming centre of Ely and explore the magnificent Cathedral and restaurants. Decent beer is a stone's throw away at The Cutter Inn. Breakfast is available right next door at the Grand Central. The rooms are extremely well appointed, very comfortable and beautifully furnished. The owners are very accommodating, helpful and thoughtful. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016 via mobile

I spent a lazy weekend in Ely, I used to live nearby in Cambridge. The inn was delightful, good sized but cosy rooms, heated bathroom floors and a lovely view of the river.

A good restaurant a minute's walk away and plenty to explore in the village.

Breakfast was lovely and our stay was faultless!

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Ariane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews