We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

What's not to like about this lovely place? Lovely outlook, right on the river. The rooms are spacious, with large ensuite bathrooms...which have warm tiles on the floor. Don't be fooled by the little shower head, it is a powerful shower!

Access is very convenient with a coded lock on the outside door, then key card for the rooms. It made it very easy for us to go out and explore and come and go as we pleased.

As others have said, the welcome is warm and really the service we got was excellent. Fresh milk for the in room tea and coffee is a nice touch.

The full English breakfast is not only substantial, it is beautifully presented. The sausage is locally produced and is enormous. I struggled to finish my breakfast.

We will be back in Ely for a wedding in 2 years time and This place will be my first choice of where to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonClaireW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
128
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night early
January - partner and I not had a break for couple of years so we wanted something special. We were not disappointed! Top class accommodation in a lovely peaceful location. Room was elegant overlooking the river and we even saw the Cambridge boat crew Sunday morning whilst having breakfast! Spotlessly clean, huge bathroom with excellent shower - underfloor heating was lovely! Owner was charming and very friendly and helpful! Breakfast set us up for the day - we didn't to stop for lunch! Smashing !!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived later than we hoped but still had a nice welcome and we were offered fresh milk for our coffee. Room was lovely and clean and comfortable. There were really nice touches in our room, fresh fruit bottled water and nice toiletries. Breakfast was very nice loose leaf tea and fresh coffee. The place itself is in a nice position. I will definately stay again and i would definately recommend staying here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JobozLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew this was a gem. Friendly, wonderfully decorated, brilliant location right on the water, quiet and very comfortable. A welcome basket was on the table and turn down mints on the pillows. Breakfast was excellent, wel prepared and laid out. Close to the Cathedral and town with wonderful walks. This was the best place we stayed at in the UK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in Room no.2.
The Riverside is in an execellent position with a view up the Gt Ouse and conveniently only a 10 minute walk into the city.
The room is beautiful with absolutely everything you could need and the bathroom is spacious and has lovely underfloor heating.

The bed was very comfortable and we both slept well.

Breakfast, if you had the full English, was very hearty, in particular the sausage was one of the tastiest (and biggest) I have ever eaten and prompted us to buy some from the local butcher (Edis).

The owners were extremely pleasant and very hospitable, eager to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

We would definitely recommend the Riverside and would stay here again if we were to re-visit Ely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A comfortable and well appointed lodging with excellent breakfast service. It is located right on the river front and an ideal place from which to explore Ely, its Cathedral and surroundings. The bathroom was very well appointed and appeared quite new. There is a good restaurant just next door, although this had recently changed hands we were very happy to eat there.

Room Tip: There are just 3 rooms, ours was excellent, it was upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestilential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Riverside Inn in the ground floor room. Even though we were very late in arriving (after 10pm) Lily came out into the street to welcome us and guided us to the rear of the building where we could park the car. Lovely views on to the River Ouse with moored boats and barges, very scenic. The room was spacious and very well equipped. The bowl of fruit was a welcome touch. The bathroom was very well fitted out, lovely to have a heated floor. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good, exceptional teas and very good coffee. The omelettes were also very good, my husband had the cooked breakfast the first morning, beautifully presented, thoroughly enjoyed it although the sausages were not to his taste.
I had been a little concerned when Lily explained she did not live on the premises, however, this was not a problem for us, although what a guest would do if there was a problem during the night was not made clear.
We would definitely stay at the Riverside Inn again and would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Ely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiredandRetired500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#10 of 35 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 8 Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Fenland, just fifteen miles north of Cambridge lies bustling and vibrant city of Ely. The city is on the River Great Ouse and on the most beautiful stretch of river bank you will find us - Riverside Inn Guest House.This elegant house was built in 1888 and offering a combination of classic and modern styles, warm and relaxing feeling, friendly environment and stunning views across riverside. Just minutes walk from Ely’s railway station, High street and Cathedral the location of Riverside Inn is more than perfect. At any time of the year and whatever you choose to do in Ely, whether it is to enjoy the shops and markets, or to take advantage of the spectacular views and relaxing surroundings, this is the City which is a delight to visit and you always welcome to Riverside Inn, small, friendly, family run guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing