We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful and relaxing stay in lovely Ely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #11 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
227 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A peaceful and relaxing stay in lovely Ely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful charming and delightful inn in the small town of Ely (15,000 pop.). My husband and I could not have been happier with our decision to come to Ely. The main attraction is the handsome cathedral with the unusual octagonal tower. However, we found Ely to have more to offer in the quiet setting on the River Ouse. The Riverside Inn is perfectly situated to give a full length view of the river, situated at the bend in the river, with barges and private motor boats lining the shore. It is a wonderfully pleasant stroll along the river and the inn is an easy walk from the train station. The building has been renovated and retains its 19th century exterior with a beautifully decorated and updated interior. We had the king room on the ground floor with a full view of the river out our window. The room had a spacious bathroom with heated floors and a bench in it which served as a second luggage rack for us. The bedroom had a comfortable king bed plus a table and two comfortable chairs so we could both sit. (That has not been the case thus far in our hotel experiences in England.) A kettle plus tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fresh fruit was provided in our room. Breakfast was included and was very filling and well-prepared by a chef who comes in to cook breakfast. It is served 7:30 - 9:30 and one must be out of the room by 10:00, so it is an earlier departure than from hotels. The receptionist/hostess was a lovely woman from Lithuania and she made a wonderful cappuccino. We wish we could have stayed longer and would make Ely a destination in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneGrecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
127
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for one night in late May. It is a great location near the station and on the river. We found it a pleasant walk into the city - and loved the Cathedral. We did the octagon tower tour - which was fantastic. We were in room 3 which had fabulous views of the river. We liked the décor and the personal touches like the fruit and the chocolates. The breakfast was great - very good quality and quite a lot. We didn't get the name of the girl who works for the B & B but she was very nice and made our stay most enjoyable. She even ran after us in the rain when we forgot to pick up my husband's specs when we left. We would stay her again if we came to Ely.

Room Tip: The top two rooms have a great view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuffolkScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The location couldn't be better, as we came by train and it is a short way from the station. Very lovely area around the B&B. Walks alongside the river and benches for just sitting and enjoying the view. If the weather is good, that is. We were unlucky and weren't able to do that because we would have been frozen. This at the end of May! As I am less-abled, we chose the ground floor room, which was spacious and had a large bathroom. Everything sparkling-clean. Lots of nice little touches, such as a fruit bowl, bottled water both in bedroom and bathroom, and chocs on the pillow every day. The breakfasts were very good, although we were puzzled when the omelets were said to come with vegetables. It turned out that the vegetables were sliced tomatoes and dark green leaves. Our main complaint was the lack of places to plug in chargers, etc. There was only one easily accessible outlet which was where the room freshener was plugged in. That was easily removed, but others involved moving furniture and unplugging various appliances. Also the lighting for the bathroom mirror was totally useless. My husband said he felt he was shaving in the dark. And it looked like he had, as well. The shower was excellent, but as it was over a high-sided tub, I would have appreciated something to grab onto when using it.

We had dinner a couple of times at the restaurant next door, and appreciated being able to go just a few steps along which meant not taking the wheelchair. We thought the food quite good and the staff friendly. We also had a lovely lunch one day at the quirky Peacocks Tearoom just nearby. We also enjoyed a meal at the old Fire Engine House, near the cathedral.

Ely is a beautiful city with a magnificent cathedral. We enjoyed our stay and would love to see it in better (warmer) conditions.

Room Tip: As we needed a ground floor room, that is what we chose. There is a good view out of the bay window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex,UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location for this B and B is excellent. It is right on the River Ouse, with a very picturesque view and a 10-15 minute walk ( 15 uphill, 10 back downhill!) to and from the city centre. There are just 3 rooms and the bedrooms on the upper floor have a better view. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean and the ensuite facilities were excellent.....piping hot water all the time and a good jet of water from the shower. Breakfast was very tasty. There were some nice touches too....plenty of bottled water in the room, chocolates and fruit in the entrance.

So, what didn't we like. Well a few things. As another reviewer has pointed out the plug-in air fresheners in the rooms are really overpowering. We unplugged ours from the bedroom but there were more of them in the entrance and breakfast room. The bedroom while well decorated and furnished was very dark and with heavy curtains this gave a bit of a gloomy air to the room. The bed and especially the pillows were too hard for us - maybe this is personal taste but we were glad to return to our own beds after two nights at this B and B. Lastly, the service while extremely efficient was some way short of warm and welcoming.

None of these negatives is a major issue, but I would summarise our view as being if we were coming back to Ely we would be happy to stay here but we would check out other places first to see what else was on offer.

Room Tip: Bedrooms 2 and 3 on the first floor have a much better view of the river and maybe a bit less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussextravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

This B&B is the best ever, definately 5*****. We satyed for 3 nights from 3rd to 6th May and could not have wished for a nicer location, accomodation & the full english breakfast was delicious. 15 mins from Ely catherdral & town centre. Lots of pubs to pop into. We had a meal at the Basmati Indian restuarant & that was amazing, the flavours & presentation were just perfect. We visited Wicken fens aswell early Sunday morning & the peace & tranquility of the place was blissful. All in all we had a fantastic time. Recommend to any one to visit this B&B and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms in this B&B but all high standard, Owners mentioned they refurb constantly as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

All the rooms at the Riverside Inn look along the Great Ouse RIver in Ely. It is a short walk through two adjoining parks to the Cathedral. The rooms are elegantly furnished and the bathroom floor has underfloor heating which feels luxurious. HIgh quality and attention to detail make this a wonderful place to stay. The breakfasts are superb: the omelets are among the best I have tasted while traveling the world and the friendly attitude and real cappuccino make breakfast a great experience. Lots of nearby places to eat dinner or just walk along the canal path beside the river. What a relaxing and luxurious place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights at The Riverside Inn in late February. The accommodation was of a much higher standard than many hotels we have visited and in fact it is difficult to think of anything to fault about this B & B. Possibly a slightly less enthusiastic approach to plug-in air fresheners would be an improvement but hey, we turned ours off, so even that was not a problem! Other reviewers have mentioned the bathrooms, breakfasts, cleanliness, under-floor heating etc so you can see the quality of service and comfort that is on offer. The staff were perfectly hospitable without being overbearing or intrusive - exactly the right level for us. We ate twice at The Cutter which involved a walk of approximately 30 - 40 yards and offered perfectly acceptable Gastropub fare at a reasonable price. In summary: stay here, it's great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
0.5 mi away
The Nyton
The Nyton
#24 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Three Pickerels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 8 Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Fenland, just fifteen miles north of Cambridge lies bustling and vibrant city of Ely. The city is on the River Great Ouse and on the most beautiful stretch of river bank you will find us - Riverside Inn Guest House.This elegant house was built in 1888 and offering a combination of classic and modern styles, warm and relaxing feeling, friendly environment and stunning views across riverside. Just minutes walk from Ely’s railway station, High street and Cathedral the location of Riverside Inn is more than perfect. At any time of the year and whatever you choose to do in Ely, whether it is to enjoy the shops and markets, or to take advantage of the spectacular views and relaxing surroundings, this is the City which is a delight to visit and you always welcome to Riverside Inn, small, friendly, family run guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing