We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in January and thought what a perfect place this would also be in the middle of summer when the situation on the banks of the River Ouse could really be appreciated. It is perfect for arriving by train being only a short walk from the station. It is perfect for sightseeing in Ely being within walking distance of the centre. It is perfect for a delicious breakfast. It is perfect for its comfort. What more can I say!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and the floor above did have squeaky floorboards when the occupants were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    25
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
128
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gt Yarmouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my second visit to The Riverside Inn. I was so impressed the first time, I wanted to bring my husband with me to celebrate our anniversary. It is very difficult to find anything to criticise about this guest house. The attention to detail, service and quality of furnishings and fixtures is superb, and well worth the money.
Fresh fruit, bottled water, chocolates, biscuits, tea, coffee and hot chocolate are all replenished on each day of your stay, and a jug of fresh milk if you are not a fan of those little cartons.
The guest house has a beautiful view of the river, which on our visit in December was quite atmospheric. It is a pleasant walk along the river and through the park to reach the town, which is charming and has everything you could need.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Riverside Inn for your trip to Ely.

Room Tip: My personal favourite is the honeymoon suite, which along with the other upstairs room enjoys the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smitchell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I don't usually stop in b&b's but Ely is a bit shy of hotels and I was taking a customer for dinner at the boathouse next door anyway so gave the riverside inn a try . Glad I did, far better than 90 % of the hotels I stop in. Very comfortable rooms. Couldn't fault anything about it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prinndoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissamos, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have stayed in a few B&Bs in Ely over a few years but mostly they have been lacking in some way. For our latest trip we decided on the Riverside Inn which we had not been to previously. We had noted the 2 or 3 negative remarks from previous reviewers but can only say we did not experience any of them during our short stay and agree with the majority of reviews. We had a large room on the first floor so can only base our review on that. It was very luxurious with good furniture, paintings, fresh fruit, tea & coffee, large comfortable bed and fabulous bathroom. It also had a great view over the river. The owner and staff were pleasant and friendly and they provided a nice breakfast with a good choice of food - any combination that you like (though sadly they had no kippers)! The Boathouse restaurant right next door was also very good. This is a very luxurious B&B and while it may be at the top end price-wise it was well worth it.

Room Tip: If you can stretch a few extra pounds for the honeymoon suite you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulK743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This B & B is ideally situated on the riverside away from any traffic. It is immaculate in every detail and cannot be faulted.
Our room (2) had a pleasant view across the river. It was large, spotlessly clean and really well fitted out as was the bathroom.
There was fresh fruit and bottled water every day, not just upon arrival.
It is in an ideal location for the town centre and the railway station each only about 10 minutes walk away.
We have never has a better breakfast anywhere! Not just tasty but plenty of it and well presented.
However the main thing is the staff and owner. We had a very friendly greeting from a young lady on our arrival. She was very helpful and pleasant as was the owner Liljana who we met at breakfast.
If we go back that area again the Riverside Inn would be our place to stay! Try it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Number 2 on the first floor gives a view down the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkinsonkevan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

My only complaint is the over use of plug in air fresheners, they are quite overpowering & is the only reason I docked one star.

The hotel is everything you would hope your home could be. Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, superb view of a river from the bedroom window & close to the attractive parts of the town.
Breakfast was lovely & more than adequate. There is a good selection of other options should full English not be to your liking.
Swap the air freshener for some fresh flowers & it would be perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumpymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was wonderful. The rooms are beautiful furnished and absolutely tidy. They deliver all amenities (water bottles everyday) and The staff is friendly and helpful but the biggest surprise was the breakfast: go and try the Full English Breakfast or one of their tasteful omelettes. The quality of the food is outstanding and the taste is delicious.

Thanks for the two days of excellent hospitality. We'll come again - that's for sure!

Andrea & Michael

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiAnMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#10 of 35 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 8 Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Fenland, just fifteen miles north of Cambridge lies bustling and vibrant city of Ely. The city is on the River Great Ouse and on the most beautiful stretch of river bank you will find us - Riverside Inn Guest House.This elegant house was built in 1888 and offering a combination of classic and modern styles, warm and relaxing feeling, friendly environment and stunning views across riverside. Just minutes walk from Ely’s railway station, High street and Cathedral the location of Riverside Inn is more than perfect. At any time of the year and whatever you choose to do in Ely, whether it is to enjoy the shops and markets, or to take advantage of the spectacular views and relaxing surroundings, this is the City which is a delight to visit and you always welcome to Riverside Inn, small, friendly, family run guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing