We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkably good”
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Ely B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 14, 2012

There is a common view the Guest Houses are usually a bit tired and elderly and located in seaside resort side streets. Any comparison between such a place and the Riverside Inn at Ely would be like comparing a Reliant Robin with a Rolls Royce.
Actually the structure of Riverside Inn is fairly old, but it quite simply has as high a standard of decoration and fittings as any room we’ve had in the UK. Everything was clean, lots of little perks, and a good breakfast. Service was good but not intrusive.
Obviously only having three rooms it does not offer the wealth of trendy add-ons (golf, gyms etc.) of a 5 star hotel. But it is a 5 star Guest House (and with a gold award) well deserves this status.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice B&B, it has a nice setting on the river front with a couple of pubs and a tea room very nearby.It is five minutes from Ely train station where there is also a Tesco store.
It is about a ten minute up hill walk to the Cathederal and shops and restaurants,the Prezzo Italian was really good they have a nice upstairs terrace which overlooks the cathederal grounds.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and the room was spacious as was the bathroom, my only complaint was the shower head that was fixed to the wall with no adjustment which meant you could not direct the water and as such did not get a great shower.
The B&B was £100 per night which you may think expensive for B&B accomadation but the service is very good. There are nice touches such as chocolates and fruit in your room plus a great selection of teas and coffees and complimentary water.There is also compilmentary fruit and chocolates in the reception. We arrived early and were welcome with complimentary coffee and toast.The breakfast choice is also very good and beautifully presented.
I cant comment on other hotels or B&Bs in Ely but they would have to be really good to better the Riverside Inn.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Location : Perfect
Accommodation : Suoerb
Breakfast : Excellent.
What more could one ask for?
Dave

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpflnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Ely and we could not have been better looked after. We arrived very early, before the room was ready and were welcomed with a pot of tea and the offer to leave our bags in the room. This turned out to be spotless and beautifully decorated, with a large, modern bathroom - with underfloor heating - and an exceptionally comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious, with the largest sausage imaginable. Despite being situated by the river there is easy access to the centre of Ely on foot, using a network of paths through parks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at the Riverside Inn last week whilst on business in Ely. This is the second time I have stayed there and must say this B&B is always my accommodation of choice. Cleanliness second to none. Highly recommended. Think the owners should expand so more people can enjoy the stay..........

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DONLOUHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A lovely 3 bed Inn with superb accommodation on the riverside,( tho our bed cracked on getting into it). Afternoon rest disturbed a little by a foreign voice talking on a mobile in the yard below Water, coffee and fruit provided and replenished every day, plenty of soaps and cream etc and a lovely varied and delightful breakfast served at a time agreed with the management.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at The Riverside inn at the beginning of this week and was very pleased with the total experience. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms and found it was spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast and was free to come and go whenever we wanted and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and accommodating for our needs. The bathroom was very spacious and with underfloor heating was a lovely touch for those early morning trips to the bathroom. Free WIFI was also great to have as was the fruit and ample of bottled water. I would recommend the Riverside inn for those of you wanting to explore the surrounding areas as Ely is a lovely place and the B&B was a great location to walk to the town or drive to other main city's or town's. If I had to find fault it would be the parking but because of the location of the B&B it cannot be possible to cater for the amount of cars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyxr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
397 reviews
2.9 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
228 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#10 of 25 in Ely
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Address: 8 Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $115 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Fenland, just fifteen miles north of Cambridge lies bustling and vibrant city of Ely. The city is on the River Great Ouse and on the most beautiful stretch of river bank you will find us - Riverside Inn Guest House.This elegant house was built in 1888 and offering a combination of classic and modern styles, warm and relaxing feeling, friendly environment and stunning views across riverside. Just minutes walk from Ely’s railway station, High street and Cathedral the location of Riverside Inn is more than perfect. At any time of the year and whatever you choose to do in Ely, whether it is to enjoy the shops and markets, or to take advantage of the spectacular views and relaxing surroundings, this is the City which is a delight to visit and you always welcome to Riverside Inn, small, friendly, family run guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing