We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, always busy, bit pricy”
Review of Peacocks Tearoom

Peacocks Tearoom
Ranked #2 of 111 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer cream teas, hot dishes, salads and sandwiches all day, and all freshly prepared to order. It's not 'fast food' and sometimes, especially busy days in the summer, there may be a bit of a wait for the food. It could probably be done quicker, and cheaper, but it wouldn't be as good. Our tea-list is certainly unique - nowhere else in the world are you offered teas from every continent. We're proud that the much-missed Tea Guild, in their final annual awards in April 2013, again gave us an Award of Excellence - the eighth year running, counting the time they declared us the best tea-place in the country. The Times newspaper has listed us in their top 5 places to have tea, and Country Living magazine named us their favourite tearoom. Most recently, in 2015, BBC Good Food magazine listed us among their 10 favourite tea-rooms, so we have a lot to live up to. We keep looking for ways to improve. If you have never been, let's hope you have the opportunity soon. We look forward to seeing old and new friends. Open Wednesday to Sunday, and Tuesdays in the summer, and Bank Holidays.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have visited this tearoom for meals and afternoon teas several times when visiting Ely. The food is always fresh and good and any variety of tea is available, tea is their speciality. Peacocks is always busy, especially in the summer months. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the manager is on the ball. Superb location near the river. Lots of lovely scones for cream teas, love the idiosyncrasy of non-matching china cups. Only disappointment is the price which can seem a bit expensive for a tearoom, but this is still our number one choice to eat when we are in Ely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SunnySteveo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 711 of 922 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Came here on a windy January afternoon for light lunch and a cup of tea. Good menu - lots to choose from, Welsh Rarebit delicious, cakes looked v good and homemade but we didn't try them. The reason to come here however is the teas - I haven't seen a specialist tea selection that good for a long time. Fans of shabby chic mixed porcelain tea sets will be in heaven. And what some will describe as cosy others might feel is cramped but, all in all it's decent place with friendly staff, of which a few more during the busy lunchtime period might help them look less frantic. Ely now has a wide variety of eateries all catering for completely different price points and occasions. On our visit we ate once here (lunch) and once at The Dining Room at Poets House (dinner). Both enjoyable but so completely different it makes little sense to compare them - so take Tripadvisor rankings with a pinch of salt if you're looking for the 'best place to eat in Ely'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thanks, Thomas and Sarah. I'm glad you enjoyed it here. Of course you're right that one needs to use a bit of common sense when consulting TripAdvisor. Ely is lucky to have a lot of good places to eat at present - e.g. Poet's House and the Royal Standard and of course the Old Fire Engine House, to mention just three. Those are all very different from each other and from Peacocks Tearoom.
We're proud to have been top of the TripAdvisor ratings in Ely for quite a while now (since at least 2012, I think) - so we must be doing something right; but we haven't let it go to our heads.
If our future customers think, like you, that we're 'a decent place with friendly staff', I'll be happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Must come here 20/30 times a year

Love this place. Tip - try the salt beef light lunch. Oh and the cakes. And the scones ... All ridiculously scrummy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorfolkGirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I'm worried that there seem to be almost as many weeks in the year when you don't visit us from up North as when you do. It's not that far to travel. What are we doing wrong? Why do you stay away so much? Why won't you tell us? Let us know next time you are in, so we can get things right.
George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I was so happy with the food and service here. I had the christmas cream tea and the mince pies are to die for. The best part however are your waitresses they are absolute stars. I have some muscle problems and sometimes struggle. My husband had gone to the bathroom and I was struggling to pick up the big teapot and I spilt a bit. One of your ladies magically appeared to help me and poured my tea for me. During a conversation she told me she used to be care assistant, probably why she was so helpful, she was just lovely. There was also a pretty brown haired girl who took our order and was just so adorable you cant help but smile. Such a good place we WILL be coming back.

1  Thank chloe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thanks Chloe. It’s lovely to hear that our staff rose to the occasion – although it’s what we always hope for: it’s more important to us that we have caring staff than that we have the widest range of teas or the best brownies in the world. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wonderful afternoon tea ...always
.The pink full afternoon tea the most delicious ever.
The turkey sandwiches with stuffing, Santa could not have done better,simply divine.
Every sort of tea you could ever dream about.
Service impeccable AND cheerful. If you want to sample English ambience at its very best head for Peacocks tea room Ely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skabake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thanks to you, and to all the other kind reviewers recently. It does cheer us up, and encourage us, to hear such nice things. We are trying hard to keep up the standards in the tearoom and in our new B&B venture upstairs. On the other hand, I know we're not perfect and we have a few innovations planned in the coming months. Meanwhile our best wishes to all for Christmas and the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peacocks Tearoom also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Peacocks Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing