We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Grub, Done Really Well”
Review of The Cutter Inn

The Cutter Inn
Ranked #11 of 111 Restaurants in Ely
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pub Grub, Done Really Well”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We ate here with a large group. We were expecting standard pub grub, which has sadly become less than fantastic in the UK over the past few years.

What we got was very well cooked home-made food. We all had starters which varied from baked camembert to soup, everyone agreed that they were fantastic. The baked camembert was served with celery and what tasted like home made bread and red onion chutney.

As mains we had curry, steaks, burgers, fish and chips and I went for the duck. Those who had the steaks said that they were very tasty and cooked just as they had asked for them to be, the fish was enormous, but still very tasty and cooked just right. I had the duck which was absolutely delicious, served with plums and boiled potatoes, I also had a side of fresh vegetables which were cooked just right.

We had a young child with us and a kids menu was provided.

Teas and coffees at the end were also very good and a few people had the chocolate fudge cake, which was apparently excellent too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LanzaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    288
    145
    68
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent location....................”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This pub restaurant is literally right on the river & just a few minutes walk into the town.

Within it's picturesque & beautiful setting the pub benefits from a very tastefully decorated restaurant and 2 bar areas. There is outside seating on patio & terrace areas.

The food is excellent too. You can choose very nicely presented bar snacks or opt for the luxury of the restaurant area.

Very well done to the Cutter Inn owners, a family run business I understand who operate a small number of establishments. Family friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveandsuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely evening with friends”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a lovely evening with very good food and plenty of it. Will definitely go back again. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. There was 10 of us and we did not have to wait for anyone's meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnGarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Finely placed building but only average food.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The riverside position is good for visiting this ancient part of Ely. Spacious bar and dining rooms with good reception from staff on a busy Sunday lunchtime. Sat in upper level of dining room which was comfortable and ideal for our party. Staff attentive with drinks and food ordered from variable menu of typical pub grub, including roasts.
Food was only average with beef overcooked and tasteless. Ribs ok but wraps dry and not good. Vegetables overcooked.
Pricing reasonable. Overall impression - welcoming venu but could do so much better. Maybe snacks in the bar would be OK.
Pity that there is not more competition in this part of town with two other eateries now closed. Plenty of custom from families of all ages and nearby car parking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandD&B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Great Xmas atmosphere
wonderfully layed tables
food was super- service was prompt
Def use again next year

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cutter Inn also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing