We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub grub in a lovely location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cutter Inn

The Cutter Inn
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Ely
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pub grub in a lovely location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My local and great to pop to at lunchtime but a bit ordinary for a night out. Sunday lunch is very busy and the food tastes mass manufactured.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank H4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    267
    132
    61
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good fresh food, sensible menu, (not too big but still varied).Good polite,attentive staff and lovely food. Fabulous location overlooking the river Great Ouse which helps create a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oven chips!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I went with my teenage daughter to celebrate her birthday. The starters we had were garlic mushrooms and potato skins. The garlic mushroomswere excellent and the potatoe skins were good although a little hard but that is personal choice. What really let the meal down was the chips. We had a sirloin steak and a homemade beef burger. The plates were half piled up with I can only describe as oven chips, they were horrible and around £16 for the steak a little thought could have been put into the overall content and presentation. I find a plate which is piled up can be very off putting. Why not offer the chips as a side order or sweet potato chips. The surroundings and waiting staff are really good but serious work is needed on the main meals. I don't think I will be going back in the near future even with the £5 voucher off the next visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Bit Quiet isn't it?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stopped visiting the cutter after the refurb a couple of years back however i do check in every now and again!

It's just a bit dull and quiet now, no background music unless you pay to operate the duke box and the tv is always on silent!

The menu isn't fabulous either, standard pub grub made to look classy by fancy typography on the menu.

The staff are nice however they are always round the corner out of sight, in a society where calling "boy" "waiter" "service" isn't acceptable your left waiting for a while sometimes.

Its an ok pub and all, don't get me wrong.....Maybe the branding and image is better than the contents within!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollie_Wainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went for a walk by the water at Ely and dropped into the Cutter for a spot of lunch. It was quite well patronised as it was a Bank Holiday with very few other places open. We opted for steak baguette with chips which was quickly served and was very nicely cooked. It was just a little pricy but this could probably be mitigated by the surroundings and atmosphere. The real joy however was the Adnams Innovation on draught!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Squirrel-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cutter Inn also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Cutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing