We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new favourite restaurant”
Review of The White Pheasant

The White Pheasant
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $84
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our new favourite restaurant”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We visited the White Pheasant this week for the first time for my wife's birthday, based mainly on its TripAdvisor ranking. Despite being a Wednesday evening we were suprised to see the restaurant fill up over the course of our dinner. The service was top notch and the food was epic. We had the king scallop/chicken wing and crispy pork belly starters and loved both of them. To follow we both went for the Hereford beef fillet steak, cooked medium rare, with triple cooked chips which I have never had before but definitely will again. Our desserts were sticky toffee pudding and their cranachan, which both looked and tasted the part!

Our meal, plus a couple of drinks and some water, came to £85, which we thought was pretty reasonable considering we ordered the most expensive things on the menu (the two steaks came to £50 on their own!).

With the recent closure of our favourite restaurant in Ely we have been looking for a replacement, and we think this is even better. Very much looking forward to going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Wow what a fantastic review & thank you so much for your very kind words it's very much appreciated. It's a massive boost to all our staff front & back of house, especially from a seasoned reviewer like yourself. We very much look forward to seeing you again at your "new favourite restaurant" in the very near future.
Regards Gary & The White Pheasant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    85
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ely
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Gourmet food in a surprising place”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We went on a groupon deal (which is either an introduction to something really good, or something really dire). Anyway we went for the tasting menu. It was a wild night outside, but inside was warm and cosy. The staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly, informative and enthusiastic, and they really made the place buzz nicely. The food was exquisite; tiny portions, but beautifully served, very original, and all very tasty indeed. We found it almost impossible to decide what we had enjoyed the most.

Quite definitely an up market experience, the food is expensive, but based on our meal would be well worth paying the extra for.

My only gripe is that the car park is very awkward (with more cars than there seemed guests and it was not particularly busy when we went) . I hope this is a success and we look forward to going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlesnfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
What a lovely review & thank you so much for taking the time to write it. You can rest assured that your comments come as a great boost to the White Pheasant team.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Regards Gary & The White Pheasant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
1 review
“Delicious food in lovely welcoming surroundings”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Made welcome from the moment we walked in. The food was delicious and the service was fantastic. Will definitely return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi & thanks for taking the time to write your 1st & fantastic trip advisor review about our Restaurant. It's a great boost to both front & back of house to hear such lovely comments & we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Regards
Gary & The White Pheasant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Warm Welcome x”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We have been a few times now and it's just gets better! From the lovely welcome to the spotless restaurant, The food is stunning! We always argue over the puddings so we order extra and share x x

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review & your continued support of our new venture. The violet panna cotta is one of my all time favourite desserts looks & tastes amazing reminds me of my childhood & parma violet purple sweets :) we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Gary & The White Pheasant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab meal ”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the pleasure of visiting this little Gem in the Fens , From the very friendly welcome to the excellent service and Food , A real treat for a Sunday family lunch , A big well done to all the staff and well worth the trip from Essex , see you again soon

Helpful?
Thank kevinwhit1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary H, Owner at The White Pheasant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi thanks for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review & driving up from Essex with your family to try us out. So glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch & we hope to see you all again soon.
Regards
Gary & The White Pheasant Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The White Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing