We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Function”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Pheasant

The White Pheasant
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $83
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: STOP PRESS... We are proud to announce we have received 2 AA rosettes for culinary excellence. Having initially trained at the White Pheasant in 2005, Head Chef Calvin Holland went on to cook at some of the UK's finest multi-rosette & Michelin Star restaurants, only to return to the White Pheasant in August this year as Head Chef and Proprietor.With an emphasis on locally sourced produce alongside award winning wines, this family owned restaurant offers everything from light lunches or a traditional Sunday lunch to the finest A La Carte menu. The epitome of country dining, boasting a beautiful open fire and weathered floorboards, the Pheasant is now taking bookings for Christmas parties with a special menu of exquisite dishes designed for the winter months such as braised cheek of Hereford beef or a Ballotine of Gressingham duck. Menu's & wine lists are all available on line.
Burwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Private Function”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I attended a retirement party last night and the staff provided an excellent service, attentive to the varied needs of 19 people. The food was great from my starter of whitebait to the sticky toffee pudding. The beef medallion for my main was nicely presented, perfectly seasoned. and came in good portion. They even provided complimentary extra portions of their double cooked chips for everyone. Very cosy environment with open fire throughout the evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hoiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    84
    31
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went there for our wedding Anniversary and had great service and fantastic food . i will say check opening times though as they are not always open !

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“At last, a decent (gastro) pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Pros: friendly service (if a little inattentive), really excellent food (we had white bait, scallops and plaice), big log fire, reasonable prices.
Cons: lack of draught beers, terrible "muzak" playing, ambience not quite right.

The food was really good; read my other reviews to see how fussy I am. Good ingredients, well prepared. Buerre noisette that was perfectly done and wasn't just burnt butter on a piece of perfectly cooked plaice - excellent.

The bar, modern wood and metal style, didn't fit the scene. I think an interior designer needs to cast an eye over it. This (plus the completely mis-matched music playing) created the wrong ambience, an unfortunately this is enough for us not to go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvorReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Food + Very Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The owners of the Trinity Hall B & B recommended this restaurant and we are certainly glad we took their suggestion. We arrived rather late (for dinner), on a mid week evening. When we arrived there were few diners left' however, we were promptly shown a table and enjoyed the most wonderful meal.
The waiter/bartender (Tom) made some suggestions for dinner and due to the fact there were few if any diners left by the time our food came, he also served as tour guide making sugggestions of things we needed to see. He was a very charming young man and made the visit all that more memorable.
While we did not dine there any more during our trip, we did stop in one weekend night for coffee and desserts. The place was very crowded but we were able to get a small table. Tom remembered us from our previous visit and the latte's and desserts were fantastic.
If you are in the area I would definitely recommend have a dinner at The White Pheasant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h2omlns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

The food once again lived up to what I have come to expect from this great gastro pub. The wine list is both reasonable and well selected, the food is good comfort eating with our the silly size plates which leave you wanting to go to the chip shop after dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mortlockralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Pheasant also viewed

 

Been to The White Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing