We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boathouse - CLOSED

Boathouse
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: There are few more attractive places to eat in Cambridgeshire than looking down the river Ouse as you enjoy a meal of fine British cuisine supplied with the Boathouse’s unique European twist. The inners of the restaurant calmly reflect the tranquillity of the riverside setting, but whilst you relax you can also peek at the chefs hard at work in the open plan kitchen, perhaps cooking up the locally caught eel which often features on the Boathouse’s a la carte and light lunch menus. Service is friendly and efficient, the wine list is extensive, and the Boathouse is delighted to host occasions ranging from a quiet lunch on the riverbank to a cheery evening feast.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant on the quayside in Ely and I'm so glad we did. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent! A great variety of food from steak and fish dishes to bangers and mash. 3 people, 3 courses with a glass of wine and some soft drinks came to a very reasonable £81. Will definitely be returning there again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    62
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wicken, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We live locally but this has been our first visit. A pleasant atmosphere, friendly staff and great food made this one of the most enjoyable 'eating out' experiences we've had for a while. All of us, including our teenage boys, enjoyed the food and would happily go back. Richard, our waiter was very friendly and took time out of a busy restaurant to make sure we were happy. If you value good food and value for money the Boathouse is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lunch for four”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Not sure what Lukas B is talking about as we all had a really great meal here on the 22 August. There are three other restaurants in this local chain and they are all superb. The staff are helpful, friendly and know their wines and details of the food on offer. The four of us all had something different for a main and sweet. All said what a great meal and would be back the next time we visit Ely. Delightful outlook over the river and Marina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scooter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
175 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great food, good service and grandchildren friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really nice location by the river with a steady stream of barges and leisure craft slipping slowly by. The choice of food is great and all the meals our party chose were well cooked and beautifully presented.

Staff were helpful and engaging and the prices were reasonable for a gastro pub environment.

Recommended as well worth a visit if you are looking to have a good meal out in Ely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkrBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“you've got to be joking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a great visit to the Cathederal we walked along the river front. Having been unable to sit outside at the Cutter which was quite busy, we saw vacant tables outside this pub. When I say that I mean empty.= bar one couple having coffee and one table not yet cleared of its empty coffee cups etc. Unperturbed by the lack of customers we decide to stop for a late lunch, Being one of the few people left who smoke, I thought this would be a nice place to while away the afternoon....BUT you cannot smoke outside at the tables. We were approached by a young lady who said I could smoke but not at the table. well done guys , I spent my £60.00 on lunch elsewhere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenathlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing