We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you've got to be joking!”
Review of Boathouse - CLOSED

Boathouse
Price range: $65 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: There are few more attractive places to eat in Cambridgeshire than looking down the river Ouse as you enjoy a meal of fine British cuisine supplied with the Boathouse’s unique European twist. The inners of the restaurant calmly reflect the tranquillity of the riverside setting, but whilst you relax you can also peek at the chefs hard at work in the open plan kitchen, perhaps cooking up the locally caught eel which often features on the Boathouse’s a la carte and light lunch menus. Service is friendly and efficient, the wine list is extensive, and the Boathouse is delighted to host occasions ranging from a quiet lunch on the riverbank to a cheery evening feast.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“you've got to be joking!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a great visit to the Cathederal we walked along the river front. Having been unable to sit outside at the Cutter which was quite busy, we saw vacant tables outside this pub. When I say that I mean empty.= bar one couple having coffee and one table not yet cleared of its empty coffee cups etc. Unperturbed by the lack of customers we decide to stop for a late lunch, Being one of the few people left who smoke, I thought this would be a nice place to while away the afternoon....BUT you cannot smoke outside at the tables. We were approached by a young lady who said I could smoke but not at the table. well done guys , I spent my £60.00 on lunch elsewhere

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenathlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    62
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ely
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“long wait & over priced!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I ate at the Boathouse last week with friends from a local walking group.
We had booked & waited one & a quarter hours for our food to be served. Other diners, who came in after us, were being served before us, which was very irritating. We were not told initially that there would be such a long delay. It was only after everyone was getting fed up that the waiter told us there would be a delay due to the hot weather & shortage of staff!
Two lime & soda waters were £7, the wine was cheaper by the glass!
My husbands fish & chips looked meagre, we counted 7 chips! Mind you, they were hand cut! The saving grace from my point of view was the chicken & bacon salad, it was delicious, but would have tasted even better if I hadn't had to wait so long to get it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverley597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Warm humid evening, we needed a light snack so decided to 'stop off' in Ely where my wife had been to school many years ago. The boathouse was perfectly situated on a bend of the river. Our expectations were not high as it was busy and we didn't want a full meal. However the staff were very attentive, we had a seat by the river and eat a fantastic 3 course meal whilst watching a thunderstorm develop. Food is simple but delicious. Great way to break the journey between Hertfordshire and North Norfolk

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkcity72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful position”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had booked a table on the 22 nd July for lunch. We enjoyed everything ,the service was excellent, very professional and helpful. The food was delicious and the wine list very interesting and different.This was our first visit and certainly won't be the last.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Location along side The Camb.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

You cannot judge a book by its cover and you cannot expect as a right excellent food to match a location.
Today was no exception. The food was acceptable, not great but ok. The starter was very different and has to take top marks. The main course was only a little better than PUB GRUB.
The service was of a good standard and the staff were chatty.
We had a good evening, not inexpensive, we could have found better food in Ely but not as good a location.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse also viewed

 
Ely, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing