We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”
Review of Peacocks Fine B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peacocks Fine B&B
Ranked #2 of 35 Ely B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Peacocks exudes hospitality and generosity. On arrival we were greeted by George who served us delicious cake and tea of our choice, whilst sitting and chatting to us before being shown to our rooms. We stayed in the smaller suite which is delightful - a spacious bedroom with a very comfortable sitting room. It's beautifully quiet, warm and self-contained. From the front window there is a glimpse of the river and a lovely view across the green where geese feed, whilst the bedroom window overlooks mature trees providing a peaceful outlook whilst lying in bed in the morning!
Breakfast provides a real dilemma - there is so much choice! I think it's quite brave not to offer a full English, but my goodness, it works. Guests are definitely made to feel that the prime desire of their hosts is to give guests the best experience possible. We sampled omelettes, smoked salmon and Welsh rabbit, all of which were superb and the granola pot absolutely delicious.
Unfortunately we only had two days at Peacocks and were genuinely really sad to leave. We've stayed at many B&Bs over the years and this really is as good as it gets. Nothing was too much trouble and you could tell that it is not just a job that Rachel, George and Patrick are doing, but rather that they are keen to provide a service to the very best of their ability. It was greatly appreciated - thank you all. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thanks for coming, and for the generous review. It took a while to settle on our breakfast menu, because the ideal breakfast varies from person to person, and from day to day, so I'm glad it seems to fit the bill. We all look forward to seeing you again. George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

We would like to thank Peacock's Fine B&B for a fantastic stay. The accommodation is beautiful and very comfortable. The service was top notch and the breakfast was devine especially their granola dish.It is perfectly located by the river and the hosts are very friendly yet not intrusive. We would recommend this B&B many times over. We hope to come back soon. Conor & Karol, Coleraine.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thanks, Karol - we hope to see you again. You're right, we're lucky to have such a good location, so it's nice to be able to share it.
George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

A chance find on the web, but what a find!! My daughter and I wanted to visit Ely Cathedral and needed a nice place to stay, we found it with knobs on. I don't think that I have ever been treated so well at a B&B, and I have stayed in a few. A bit of advice here: MAKE SURE TO TAKE BIGGER CLOTHES WITH YOU, the cakes are so good it is very hard to say no thank you. George and Rachel were born to be hosts, they were kind, thoughtful and truly delightful. For the first time I found somewhere that I could have stayed and not returned home, as lovely as home is.

Room Tip: Whichever room you choose there really is nothing to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We'd have been happy for you to stay much longer - but anyway, come again soon. I know you're joking about the clothes - because you don't have to down a big fry-up here; there are lots of other things to choose from - including granola and yoghourt and fresh fruit... and Bucks' Fizz.
All the best. George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you are looking for a relaxing stay in Ely, close to the river, this has got to be the place to go. George and Rachael are wonderful hosts, and Peacocks is a fabulous family B&B and tearooms. We were greeted (mum and I), with refreshing drinks and the most stunning cakes, all in the comfort of our rooms. The rooms consist of a huge bedroom and large lounge plus a separate toilet and shower room. These rooms are beautifully decorated in Laura Ashley. Rachael has furnished them in a mix of antique furniture, mostly Edwardian, to make it really homely. George has a good range of books to share and makes the extra effort to find books for your taste. The rooms have everything you need, and the king size bed is very comfortable. If all this is not enough for you, then breakfast should seal the deal. I have never had such a good breakfast as the ones I had here. No greasy full english, but instead a wealth of home cooked uk favourites including Welsh Rarebit and Crumpets. I had French Toast with Cream Cheese and Strawberries (a must have) and Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup. The location is right on the river side, with views over to the mariner. It take less than 10 minutes to walk in the city centre or to the station. There is a lovely walk through the cathedral grounds to the river. It is quiet yet perfectly situated for everything. I thoroughly recommend Peacock's B&B to you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage suite, which is slightly smaller, but still much bigger than any other B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REL3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thanks for your kind review - I have to say one of the best things about running a B&B is the people you meet.
Let me point out for other readers that the Brewery House suite has a stand-alone bath as well as a shower, so that's the one to go for if you like to lie back and soak.
So glad you enjoyed Ely. George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We felt privileged to be staying at Peacocks B&B.
The accommodation, food & beverage and service are provided with incredible attention to detail & style.
This, teamed with the uncomplicated, warm & witty hospitality from George & Rachael makes this B&B a must for anyone travelling to Ely
We spent 10 days at Peacocks and our time there was delightful
We will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Lisa, it was lovely meeting you. Thanks for staying, and for the warm review. We'll be thinking of you, and looking forward to seeing you next time you visit England.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We arrived at Peacocks tea room, which is attached to the B&B, to be greeted by Rachel & George, the owners. A very warm welcome followed by delicious cake and a huge choice of fine teas. The complimentary champagne & chocolates in our room was the icing on the cake!
The B&B room is really a suite! A huge lounge with sofas, fine old furniture and views over the nearby river. Next door is a large comfortable bedroom and equally comfortable bed. Finally, you are also treated to a huge bathroom, claw footed bath, separate shower and loads of soft and warm towels!
There are lots of good eateries within walking distance and of course Ely cathedral is a must!
Breakfast was great as well, home made jams, yoghurt and fruit cocktails, Croque Madame and entertained to a few interesting anecdotes, by George, over breakfast by the Aga! We highly recommend this B&B and will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks, Pauline. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's still early days for our B&B, and we're keen to get feedback. Just in case people get the wrong idea, perhaps I had better point out that the Champagne was in honour of Valentine's Day - not everyone is going to get that - but we do always leave a hand-made chocolate or two for guests, and try to make every visit special. Rachel & I look forward to seeing you next time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Our 4 night stay at the fine B&B was wonderful. From the fresh flowers in the room, bottles of water, the handmade teapot shaped biscuits replaced every day and the surprise of 2 slices of cake in our room after a long day out. The breakfast choices were refreshingly different with a wide range of possibilities. We will back again soon

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Owner at Peacocks Fine B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thanks, Sue. It was good to get to know you both over the four days - especially at breakfast time, and it helped us perfect the breakfast menu. Rachel and I are looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 35 in Ely
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacocks Fine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacocks Fine B&B

Address: 65 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $125 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peacocks Fine B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a friendly welcome in two roomy suites (above our award-winning tearoom) in our Georgian house overlooking the River Ouse, in the pretty Cathedral town of Ely. Each bedroom has a king-size bed, and its own adjoining living room (each with a sofa bed). The Cottage suite has a shower with a separate toilet. The Brewery House suite has a large bathroom with both a shower and a free-standing bath. The rooms are furnished with our antiques. There is TV and wifi and a good library of books. We will do all we can to make your stay comfortable, restful and interesting.It is easy to get here by train or car and Ely offers plenty of interest, starting with one of the greatest Cathedrals. From our door you can stroll out into the countryside of the fens without crossing a road, or up into town. Ely still has good independent restaurants, pubs and shops - including a great bookshop - Topping's.Beyond the town it is easy to explore the Fens, Cambridge and Newmarket (the home of horse-racing). Norfolk and Suffolk are within easy reach too. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing