We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”
Review of Poets House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poets House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed just one night but will definitely stay longer next time. Poets House is a textbook example of how to just get everything right.

We drove into the courtyard and the car was valet parked for us and we were welcomed by Linda, who checked us in and took us to our room. One of her colleagues brought our bags. They could not have been more welcoming. The whole place is a masterclass in taste and service. It's immediately obvious that the management team know exactly what they're doing and the staff team really enjoy what they do.

The room was huge (a Master Suite) - beautifully decorated with some great touches. An iPad mini with all the info preloaded. A Bose bluetooth speaker, excellent wifi and web enabled LG TV with Netflix, free, very fast (free) wifi for all our devices, fast enough for streaming. The view across the green to Ely Cathedral and excellent window systems so we heard no road noise. Housekeeping - well done team the whole hotel is absolutely spotless.

The bathroom... bigger than most hotel rooms, huge copper tub, 5 person shower, and beautifully decorated - black walls, white tiles - sumptuous. Hermes AND Bulgari toiletries, huge new fluffy towels, great bathrobes.

We ate in the Study bar. Lovely supper, a complimentary welcome drink. We both had the spiced plaice with blue cheese and grape salad. Delicious and the guys in the bar were excellent with just the right balance of service and hospitality without being at all in your face.

Great nights sleep in a very good bed, with very good quality high thread count bedding. And excellent Aircon! We chose to have breakfast in bed and it was a proper treat - boiled eggs and soldiers, a gourmet bacon roll (on delicious fresh ciabatta) fresh fruit, gourmet apple and orange juice. The choice was huge. No delivery charge for having breakfast in bed. Having just come from a 5* Hilton where that was an extra £6 this was really nice.

Little things.... No charge for breakfast in bed, no charge for car parking and valet service, no charge for bottled water in the room, no charge for a newspaper in the morning, no charge for wifi -

We've been lucky to stay in some wonderful hotels all over the world - who knew that one of the best would be less than an hour from home? Having just had a disappointing stay in a MUCH more expensive "luxury" spa country house hotel, Poets House will be our go-to romantic break/staycation destination from now on. I know this sounds too good to be true but that's how we felt about it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Dear tryanythingonce,

Thank you for your review of Poets House. In all of the reviews we have received since our opening some 18 months ago yours has been one of the most enjoying to read.

Your appreciation for what we do is much appreciated and your recognition for the additional brand elements that we include in our offerings is good to see.

I will be delighted to share your comments with the team concerned.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments and if back in Ely please do look us up as it would be nice to thank you in person.

Best wishes,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 655 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

The style is elegant and opulent with the Black, Grey and Silver décor contrasting against crisp white linens and sparkly light fittings. Nothing was too much as far as staff helpfulness was concerned. The rooms were luxurious and large, the copper bath tub looked amazing although we didn't get an opportunity to try it out. Breakfast was great and the study Bar with its sun trap patio area was lovely too. The location is perfect for the cathedral and town and its just a 10 minute walk to the riverside where you can sit outside a bar watching the boats go by.....

Room Tip: Suite 12 overlooks the cathedral - perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Julie M,

Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am pleased to read that we were ‘ the perfect get away from it all stay’ for you. That most certainly was at the core of our thinking when designing and bringing the hotels to life.

It looks like the weather held out for you and that you got to see Ely at its best with the river and cathedral offerings which are most spectacular (even when not blessed with the weather.)

Thank you again for taking the time to review us Julie, come back and see us soon at our house !.

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Poets House experience was first class from beginning to end. Our room was huge, overlooking the church, with all those added luxury's which makes a stay really special. Fluffy bathrobes, chocolates and petite fours, good (if noisy air conditioning), a great shower, an i pad and a hot and cold running butler service, which provided excellent Americanos at the drop of a hat. Drinking bubbly in the bar from 1930’s style coupe glasses will live long in the memory, along with the excellent dinner and lovely breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Goosey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Goosey2014,

Thank you for your great review of Poets House. Your appreciation of the ‘little touches’ are good to see as is your comment regarding the champagne saucers. Believe it or not there has been much speculation about the use of the glasses in the past, so your positive comments are much welcomed from the person that chose them.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, I am pleased that we left you with a positive, long lasting memory.

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We went to this hotel for a overnight stay, party of 2 adults 2 children ( 13,&9 yrs)
Hotel decor was nice, rooms large for 2 persons, bathroom fantastic cooper bath rain shower, nice location and central in Ely.
The vegetarian/vegan menu was non existence and staff knowledge of vegetarian/vegan food was poor, my wife was was offered gnocchi which contained eggs and given chorizo bread with our meal, in the end she had cheese and pickle sandwiches for main meal, hardly fine dinning
We found staff condescending we where told we could not eat our food in the main restaurant as other fine dinning guests would not want to sit around us whilst my wife had sandwiches !!
We where offered the bar area or outside patio area for our food.
Breakfast in the room was a nice touch, and it came very well presented but it was stone cold on arrival. There where no tea / coffee facilities in the room, we where told to call and it would be freshly made, which was a nice thought but it was but cold on arrival.
We have had better meals for a lot less, the food and drink is very overpriced and the price of food and drink did not reflect the quality or quantity
We are a family of four and when booking we did not have the option of a family room so had to book two rooms.

Would recommend the tour of ely cathedral and Oliver Cromwell house

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrianesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Ariannesara,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback of your visit to Poets House. I am sorry to learn of the elements of your stay that were not to your liking with reference to the vegetarian and vegan options.

Our main menu was created with ‘ Garden Dishes’ in mind given that I myself am a vegetarian and like you suffer from lack of choice when dining out. I am sorry that despite this we were still not able to offer you something of choice. With regard to the vegan choices admittedly are not something we have in abundance but with a little notice is something that we most certainly can cater for. Your comments regarding both points have been taken on board and shared with the Food and Beverage team as to why we were not able to offer you something other than the sandwiches that you note.

I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the location worked for you as a family. ( Apologies for the family room availability, we have one at the hotel that was booked out for a long stay ).

Thank you for taking the time to review and feedback and I hope you will look us up if ever back in the area .

Best regards,


David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unfortunately we could only spend one night at this hotel. We had not booked ahead but were greeted very warmly at reception and shown to a very large and quite luxurious room. The bar was very comfortable with reasonably priced drinks. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening but did enjoy a delicious and varied breakfast the next morning. All the staff we came across were very attentive and friendly. This hotel is across the road from Cromwell's House and the beautiful Cathedral. It's worth doing the town walk that is suggested by the hotel. It may be a little pricey compared to other accommodation in Ely but you certainly get value for money. Would definitely stay here again if lucky enough to visit Ely again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bolly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Bolly27,

Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am pleased you had a good stay with us and also got to see the sights of our wonderful city, Ely. Your comments regarding the staff , product and service have all been received with great thanks and shared with all concerned.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and if back in these parts we will look forward to seeing you again !!

Best wishes.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took my father and his wife here for a "bucket list" trip (he has terminal cancer). The hotel were warm and welcoming and looked after us really well. They allowed him to keep his car close at hand should he need it. The rooms were excellent and the copper baths are a delightful luxury.
We ate in the first night and the food was great. The staff were really helpful and quietly there when needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brassjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Brassjon,

Thank you for your recent review of Poets House and indeed choosing us for your fathers ‘bucket list’ trip.

I am delighted that the stay was a good one and further that the team took care of you during this time. I hope your father enjoyed this part of his bucket list and that his health is as well and can be expected.

Sending you all our very best wishes during what must be a very difficult time. Please relay to your father that he is welcome to Poets House anytime !!

Warm regards,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent service with valet service for car parking, food excellent and wine list reasonable and rooms with big baths recommended-central for tourist activity including Oliver Cromwell's house and cathedral-recommend a visit.

Room Tip: room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Poets House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Julian H,

Thank you for your review of Poets House. I am pleased to read of your recommendation for us an appreciation for the hotel and team.

Much appreciated Julian and I hope you will look us up when back in the area.

Best wishes,

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
0.2 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
14.4 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
399 reviews
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
230 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets House

Address: St Marys Street, Ely CB7 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Price Range: $211 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poets House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ely’s historic city centre, Poets House commands superb views of the magnificent Cathedral, and having undergone a sensitive, design-led transformation is set to become one of the city’s premier Hotel, Restaurant and Event destinations.You can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in The Dining Room, an elegant space where you’ll enjoy the perfect combination of a warm and friendly welcome, top-class service and traditional dishes served with a twist. Alternatively, The Study, overlooking the tranquil courtyard garden, is the perfect venue in which to enjoy an expertly-mixed cocktail, an informal platter, or an indulgent afternoon tea. If you want to stay over, each of our 21 guest-rooms consists of a spacious suite, in which period features and restful views blend seamlessly with the latest technology, elegant free-standing Copper baths and the last word in luxury beds. Whether you’re planning to stay, want to book a meal, or would just like to know more, we’re here to give you all the help you need and look forward to talking to you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Poets House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing