We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ely(Ely)(Great Value!)
$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Little Downham Anchor(Little Downham)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worlington Hall(Mildenhall)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Mildenhall)
$77
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cadogan Hotel(Newmarket)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
19
25
24
28
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
25
24
28
18
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 114 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Not the most inspiring of places to stay. We went for a relaxing weekend away. At 9pm on the night of arrival, we were phoned to ask where we were because reception was closing - despite the fact that the booking email said they closed at 10pm.

The room itself was very pleasant, if a little cramped, and seemed to have been renovated quite recently. My only criticism here is that the walls were very thin. Fortunately our neighbours weren't too noisy though.

Our main complaint was the apathetic service we received. On the first morning we were asked if we needed anything in our room - new towels etc. We replied that we were ok on this front. Not thinking much of the conversation, we left the hotel and went out for the day. Upon arrival back that evening, we found the room hadn't been serviced at all. Not what you expect when paying for a hotel at this price.

Again at breakfast, the waiter seemed to have more important things on his mind, disappearing into the kitchen saying "come and find me if you need anything". Really attentive.

If you ignore the awful service, this place is a fairly pleasant hotel but nothing special. I'd expect better for the price though. If we came back to Ely, we'd definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know you were pleased with your room. We have recently renovated this room and we have also just had sound proofing installed in this room to reduce any noise between the two neighboring rooms.

As we are a small hotel we don't have a 24 hour reception we always like to call guests prior to arrival to ensure if they will be arriving after 10pm we can make arrangements for their check in. We do this as a service to guests to ensure all guests are checked in to their rooms.

I am very sorry that you felt our service levels were low and we have carried out thorough training of all staff to ensure they uphold excellent customer service at all times.

Again thank you for your feedback as it really helps us build our service and hotel experience to make sure we are exceeding guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were a group of 3 men in 3 rooms sharing a bathroom, which was what was described at the time of booking. The hotel was spotless, the food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal. Good english food. All staff made us feel very welcome, and looking forward to taking my wife for a further visit. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and for letting us know you were really happy with your stay. I will pass this great feedback on to our staff as I know they will be pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

So bad. Please never stay here. It has a bad smell outside the room which is the first thing that greets you. Our room. Too much wrong with it. Main points are the beds are so old and uncomfortable you cannot sleep. Walls are paper thin. View from window is a bin. TV does not work. Noise from radiator is so annoying and is constant. Other reviews giving good marks have to be fake. Trust this honest review and stay away. Nil points.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6,276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We are sorry that you felt that way about your stay with us, even though when you checked-in we put you in an en-suite room free of charge when you had only booked a room with a shared bathroom. We were only made aware of your dissatisfaction after you checked-out and therefore we weren't given the opportunity to address your concerns at the time and move you to an alternative room.

As you know on receiving your email after your stay with us, we have refunded you the money that you paid for breakfast and 20% of the cost of your stay as a good will gesture which you acknowledged.

Again we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and had we known this at the time we would have taken every opportunity to ensure you had a good experience staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Where to begin? When we arrived the woman on reception, though friendly, didn't know what she was doing and even joked about the possibility of charging us twice. That's right, we were made to pay up front before our stay and even before viewing our room. There was a strong, unpleasant smell in the hotel of must mixed with bleach/cleaning products; ironic as our room was anything but clean. Spiderwebs with spider residents, hairs on the toilet seat and bath and quite an impressive amount of dust hanging from the lampshade. The room was lacking in any nice finishing touches, however my favourites were the big kitchen style bin in the corner and a bedside lamp that didn't work.
The double bed was comfortable and we slept well until 8am when workers began shouting to one another up and down the stairs and corridor (not great for our Sunday morning relaxation). Checkout was an early 10:00 so we made our way down to breakfast at 09:30. Breakfast was as to be expected, disappointing! We had an English breakfast which comprised of cheap produce slapped on a plate served up by sloppy looking staff in polo shirts and trainers with very little attention to care or customer satisfaction, so much so one lady was slamming doors on the dresser and throwing cutlery into heavily slammed drawers, again not the relaxing Sunday morning we had hoped for.
I have never left a review on Trip Adviser before but I really feel this stay deserved one, especially as the most recent review on here was in January 2012!
To sum up - overpaid and very underwhelmed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know the issues that you had while staying with us. We have had a complete overhaul in staff training, service levels and rooms cleaning since you stayed with us and we have done a lot of work to get our standards up to meet and exceed guest expectations.

The issues you raised regarding the noise from other guests unfortunately something that can happen in any hotel, however we have now implemented signs in the hotel so asks guests to be quiet between the hours of 10pm and 7am to try and reduce the risk of this happening.

Again thank you for your feedback, which we have taken on board and actioned to help in the continual improvement of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Unfortunately being unable to book "The High Flyer" this weekend because it was full, we wanted to stay near the registry office for a family wedding. The Castle Lodge ticked all the boxes. It was clean, comfortable and the staff were really helpful and friendly. The price was reasonable and included a huge English breakfast cooked to order. I understand that there are new owners and they are certainly making this a lovely place to stay. The bar/restaurant is nicely decorated, as are the bathrooms. New bedroom furniture will be next on the list I imagine although the beds were new. I have only awarded 4 for sleep quality because it was so hot that night. I don't think you could have got 5 stars anywhere!!

It was just 10 minutes walk up the road from the registry office, which was just what we wanted.

I don't expect we shall have any more weddings to attend but just to visit I would 100% recommend Castle Lodge

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastle50, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your review and we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually trying to improve the service we provide guests who stay with us and it is so nice to hear when guests are happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews