We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re stay”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at castle lodge last year and it was very clean ,but i I have stayed again last weekend a group of ten of us came down from Manchester for a stag night,we stayed in newly refurbished rooms with en suite they were immaculate brand new ,Tina the manageress was lovely considering we were a little rowdy,it's a million percent I would defiantly stay here again 10 outa 10, the new rooms with ensuite are boss
Great price to ,the new management have really made a difference the guest house is fab ,great price to highly recommended see u next time I'm visiting liverpool Alan

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 112 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Normally stay at the Lamb Hotel but it was booked out for bank holiday weekend. Tried the Lodge based on review by others. Lodge being progressively refurbished by enthusiastic young owners. Still a bit rough around the edges but getting there. I would have given it three stars except the my bed mattress was one of the most uncomfortable i have ever slept on, and I travel a lot, so it only got two stars. Hope the mattresses are next on their refurbishment program! Within walking distance to central Ely.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank AustraliaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We wanted to see Ely and this hotel gave us the accommodation we needed for a reasonable price. It is a 3*** guest house in a convenient location. When we arrived we was greeted by someone who didn't look like she really wanted to be there. On the phone I was told the price was £80 for a double room with breakfast, on arrival it was £85! The room was nice and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee. My only suggestion would be they really need towel rails in the bathroom. We had to out the hand towel on the sink and when we had a shower we had to balance the towel again on the sink. However all we wanted from this hotel was a base to sleep so for the price is great. The breakfast the next morning was lovely and plenty of it. The staff in the morning were very friendly. Overall I would recommend this guest house to anyone wanting to explore Ely which is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymum74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I thought this place should have an 's' added to the sign - it seems more like a hostel than a hotel.
The owners are friendly and very informative about the area, the breakfast is fine, there is a licensed bar and it is close to the city centre. However, it feels very casually run and if you are squeamish about dust, tired decor or the odd hair in the shower it is not for you. The room I had shared a shower room and toilet with other rooms on the second floor (although I am not sure about rooms on the other floors). Luckily, I am used to less luxurious facilities as I stayed in quite a few holiday hostels when I was younger, but they will have to clean it up to get more stars. Actually, I think the place is in transition with newish owners so don't rule out as they may improve it as time goes by. It is also not too expensive for a single room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenjaminBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had to come on and write a review as I completely disagree with the last reviewer. My recent stay was with the new owners and I found them nothing but firendly and polite.
My room was basic but clean and well equiped.

The location is great for a visit to Ely City centre as the Cathedral is only a few minutes away and the River not much further!

I found this hotel to be fairly priced, family friendly, with a homely atmosphere and the breakfast was wonderful, friendly waiting staff and more food than I could manage!

On speaking to the new owners they seem to have already done alot of renovation and intend to do more soon, I will be booking again and can't wait to see what other improvements they have made!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Have been staying at the castle for a couple of month whilst contracting in the area. When i got here work had just begun on refurbishing this lovely, quite large building. The new owners who had only recently acquired the hotel are a lovely couple and also very helpful. They have a pride in their work and the hotel itself. the refurbished bar and entrance corridor/ reception have improved greatly. The bar has a nice friendly atmosphere. Also they have started doing some lovely meals which are usually homemade and also very accommodating as some nights we could not sit down to eat until after 10pm due to our own work commitment. But this was never a problem in fact it seemed to be a pleasure.

Many thanks.

Graham

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank graz126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

This hotel has recently changed hands. The new owners are making improvements and have begun by decorating and re-furnishing the dining room and lounge bar area. I stayed two nights recently and they made me feel very welcome, going out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The full cooked breakfast was excellent quality and service exemplary. In time I think this will be a first class place to stay at a lower than average cost.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#4 of 5 in Ely
384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 35 in Ely
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: 50 New Barns Road, Ely CB7 4PW, England (Formerly Castle Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ely
Price Range: $73 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located on the doorstep of Ely's historic town centre, just a few minutes walk. With 15 comfortable bedrooms, spread across three floors and a full English breakfast for guests to enjoy in the morning, what more could you want! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing