We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Highly Recommend”
Review of The Maid's Head

The Maid's Head
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maid's Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 110 Restaurants in Ely
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Highly Recommend”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was my first time going to The Maids Head. I found the atmosphere to be very welcoming, happy to let in dogs and is kept to a very good standard of cleanliness.

Additionally, the menu is good and varied. The pub does an amazing job as the food is locally sourced, I found the meat from Spinny Abbey Farm (local) to be especially delicious. It's also very good for veggies. If you want a great lunch the sausage and mash is just 'smashing'!

So if you are visiting the area for work or leisure, this is a great find. I would certainly look forward to a return visit if we have cause to be in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    24
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value and well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Three of us recently dined at the Maid's Head and enjoyed it very much. The welcome, service, imaginative food and prices were all good. 3 courses, a bottle of wine and coffee all for about £25 per head. Ignore early reports as under new management since September. Give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williamro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I always look forward to going”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I travel past the Maids Head (not in Ely but in Wicken, 6 miles to the south) quite often during the summer, and calling in for lunch or dinner is an experience I always happily anticipate. The building is a chocolate box picture from the outside, and the inside doesn't disappoint either. It's warm and feels cosy without being cramped. The welcome is good, the service is good and the food is always a cut above what one might expect in a pub/restaurant. It's not the cheapest, but it's different, innovative and always a pleasure.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience Again”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have been to the Maid's Head six or seven times in the last couple of years and have always had a lovely meal. We went with two friends earlier this week (23 Jan 14) and again had a really enjoyable evening. It's a cosy restaurant with a lovely atmosphere and a gorgeous open fire in winter. The food was really good, with all four of us having different dishes and remarking how much we enjoyed it. The service is good and the food is good value for money. It's a pub restaurant, so the drinks are reasonably priced and bottles of wine start at about £12.50. We finished with a cup of coffee and agreed that we'd had a lovely night out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikehero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We eat here regularly. The food is excellent and with the specials there is plenty of variety. My favourite has got to be the ribs. Loads of meat which just falls off the bone.
The staff are really friendly and always ready to make recommendations.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

 
Reach, Cambridgeshire
Stretham, Ely
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing