We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful Sunday lunch - Cambridgeshire resident”
Review of The Maid's Head

The Maid's Head
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maid's Head is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 110 Restaurants in Ely
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
March
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An awful Sunday lunch - Cambridgeshire resident”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have taken Sunday Lunch as a group for almost 2 years in various venues in the region and have never complained before. Sunday 23rd June 2013 at the Maid's Head half the group were served and after a considerable wait the remainder received their meals. We were presented with cold food on cold plates, really tough lamb or beef, reheated yorkshire puddings almost burnt to a cinder, dreadful roast potatoes and a heap of swede chunks, carrots and shredded cabbage all mixed together. When we complained, it seemed to surprise the landlady and, after a minute or so, she asked us what we wanted. When asked what was on offer she said did we want something else or a refund.Some of us reordered but didn't risk the Sunday roast. Those who had not reordered were not charged for their meals, the rest of us paid full price for the replacements with no reduction or offer of a drink to compensate for the spoilt meal. Desserts on the whole were ok, but one person was given a jug of lumpy custard. When this was mentioned to the landlady she said 'it isn't custard, it is vanilla cream and if it is in the microwave for just a few seconds too long it goes lumpy'! So, future customers please note that if you order custard you may be given lumpy vanilla cream, so that's all right then, isn't it ?Having eaten there several times under the previous owner, we always enjoyed our food and the service was very good. We will not return as the service was as bad as the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jcr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    40
    24
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our first time here and we were very happy with our meal. The food was freshly cooked and the menu was quite extensive with plenty of choice. Tables are well spaced out with candles and the service was efficient and friendly. The pub is idyllically located on the village green with plenty of tables outside. We will definitely try this pub again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank padan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good choice of ales a few yards from NT”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went here today for lunch, our third visit so we had high expectations. Happily, we were not disappointed, all our dishes were cooked perfectly and well presented, the beer selection was excellent and all in perfect condition. COmbine with a visit to Wicken Fen for a great day out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveSCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Prepare to have a long wait for dessert”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary & after a few recommendations by friends. We both had the sunday lunch, it was good food & valve for money. Dessert was ordered along with drinks, the drinks followed shortly after the order but 2o minutes in still no dessert?, the table next to us who came if after we had sat down & ordered dessert after us & got theirs pretty quick. On this day it wasn't very busy, yet there seemed to be a lot of staff on and not once did any of them come over to say there is a delay in the dessert or to check that everyting is ok. So after waiting a further 20 minutes we asked for the bill, & when the waitress brought us the bill there was no apology about the wait. so despite a promising start, I don't think we will be back anytime soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 2012RAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just awful!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have now visited on two occasions first it was a very cold night so leaned on the radiator to get chewing gum all over my dress in the bar area, when telling the management I didn't even receive an apology just disbelief while we remained there no one had a look to clean it off! Second time when ordering a diet Pepsi it didn't taste correct so I took it back the daughter was helpful but the manageress once again was having a loud conversation saying it tastes fine to me that's how it would taste at McDonald's! Also having a steak there when asked for medium/rare it was received well done when they can't even get a steak right something's wrong......mistakes happen but it's the way you react to them which has made my experience so bad and trust me I have told my acquaintances about the total lack of customer service! Being local it would be nice to a welcoming village pub!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Princesspea84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maid's Head also viewed

 
Reach, Cambridgeshire
Stretham, Ely
 

Been to The Maid's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing