We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just does it all. Brilliantly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault
Ranked #8 of 24 Ely B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Back to the Anchor, Sutton Gault, for the umpteenth time in about ten years, after a gap. What did we want? A really good meal: a quiet but beautiful retreat..a comfortable room.

And we found all three. The food is astonishingly consistent, and as good as you can get. The staff are very friendly, and service excellent. The rooms slope intriguingly in all directions. The bed was comfortable and enormous: the setting peaceful.

So - recent reviewers - it's not flashily decorated, and the food costs real money: but you get what you pay for, the food is still outstanding, and this place is brilliant.

Every time I arrive at the Anchor I know why it's so well worth coming deep into the fens.

Room Tip: The suites give you room to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viatorNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We appreciate that there are many differing views, but we comment only as we find it and hope that this helps. We received a very warm welcome and our case was very kindly taken to our room. We certainly found that our room was clean, tidy and well presented. The facilities were great. Proper coffee and proper milk. Lovely towels and a comfy bed. We were not spending loads of time in our room as we wanted to get out and about. So, the accommodation was perfect for us. Our room was cleaned to a high standard which was lovely upon our return.

The restaurant was excellent and the quality and presentation of the food was fantastic. The food and restaurant experience, we felt, represented good value for money.

Breakfast was great. We did not find it a problem with the choice. The breakfast menu is extensive and offers something for everyone - unless you are extremely fussy!

The location lends itself to some imaginative exploring. Ely is 20 minutes away ans from there it's possible to catch a train directly into Cambridge which solves any potential parking problems.

If you want a classic hotel, then this is not it.

However, if you want a comfortable, atmospheric venue to eat fine food, drink quality wine and to have a relaxing night, then this is certainly the place for you.

We greatly enjoyed our stay and would like to thank the owners and staff for their warmth and hospitality.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff in advance about any requirements which may assist you booking the room. Remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The food is decent, however for an average of £6 for pudding and £15 for a main course it is not good value for money.
The bar prices are extortionate; £4.30 for a gin and tonic. Also the coffee was £10.80 for four of us, which is too much in my opinion.
The waitresses were very friendly however very forgetful, we had to ask for some forgotten items several times.
Also the toilets weren't terribly clean.
All in all, not bad, decent food, but I'm sure you could get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camb_H_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed at many restaurant/pubs with rooms and found Anchor Inn Riverside Suite to be average. The decor was very tired and needed somebody with an 'eye for detail' to bring the suite to the potential and character it could have. Forgetting all the creeky & slopping floors (the building is very old) the loo was very bad at flushing. From the sounds every room had the same problem. The shower was excellent. The food was excellent but have never had to choose between orange juice or stewed fruit at breakfast before! This place could be 100% but felt that it trades on its reputation.
Position by the river is very good and the riverbank walk was very interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sauvarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had breakfast there, which was decent. Our room was very tiny, clean and fairly comfortable, but really small. Felt like we were in a hotel in Paris, as far as size goes. There are bigger rooms I believe, so I would suggest upgrading to something bigger. The hotel itself is nice and in a lovely area right next to the river. Good for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for and book one of the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdloots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed in the Riverside Suite. Accommodation comprises sitting room (double sofa bed, couple of wicker chairs, TV) with views out onto the river, this leads through to the bathroom (corner bath, shower) and then through the bathroom to the double bedroom ( River views, TV, dressing table, tea and coffee making facilities - real coffee, real milk. Take your own biscuits if that's your thing as none provided). Bedroom can be accessed by separate door without going through bathroom.
Not much soundproofing but unlikely to attract rowdy neighbours. Everything very clean. Furniture / fittings basic and servicable. Not the Ritz but at the prices charged just about right for the money. Beware the low ceilings / doorways. Although you can regulate the heating to some extent it was very hot in the rooms.
The evening menu was excellent and imaginative, food very well cooked and presented and served in the cosy dining room. Good wine list with the usual mark-up.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was nicely presented but limited to 2 choices and you need to decide the night before what time you want to eat the next morning.
Would I eat there again - absolutely.
Would I stay there again - probably.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harvesthome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was taken here as a birthday present for a two night stay so i can't comment on value for money but in other respects i'd rate The Anchor as very good, especially the restaurant with its imaginative well executed (and not overly long) menu, and friendly staff - Ok maybe our 'suite' really wasn't quite up to the standards of the restaurant but I don't actually live in a palace at home and frankly the flights of fancy of some hotel bedroom designers leave me cold ! The Anchor may look isolated, but seems a popular and relaxed place to eat. - On our last day we went for a three hour walk along the raised bank of the New Bedford River / 100 Foot Drain - enjoying the local wildlife and the views for miles across The Fens and to Ely Cathedral on the horizon. We didn't meet another soul

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14Rom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
6.9 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
567 reviews
6 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
401 reviews
6.8 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#7 of 24 in Ely
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
7.9 mi away
The Old Hall Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault

Address: Bury Lane, Ely CB6 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $112 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Anchor Inn at Sutton Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn At Sutton Gault Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing