We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Delight”
Review of Cathedral House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cathedral House
Ranked #7 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well I have to say this came as something of a surprise. Not normally fans of B&B as can't help the feeling you're in someone else's house - which you are of course but hotels are more impersonal & not owned or lived in by the receptionists (you know what I mean I'm sure!).

This was recommended by another B&B up the road which was full up as there was a stamp auction on in Ely so when I phoned I was fully expecting to be told Cathedral House was full up too but we were in luck & duly made our reservation.

The first thing which struck us when we arrived was how close it is to not only the Cathedral but also Oliver Cromwell's House & Ely Museum - couldn't be better situated. Next up was the character & setting which was magical, through the door in the wall & it's like stepping back in time with a beautiful garden full of mature trees & bushes & lovely garden ornaments.

The house itself was in the same vein, full of character, lovingly maintained & with lots of amazing old books, knick-knacks,ornaments,pictures etc etc. We were shown to our room by Jenny who was very friendly & not only was the room superb (along with a great en-suite) but we also had exclusive use of the hallway outside which led to a private sitting room. Wasn't expecting that & it was great to have so much space to ourselves.

In the morning we had an excellent breakfast, freshly cooked, & met Robin with whom we put the world to rights for a good hour & a half! Apparently they used to live in London & guess where - yep, exactly where we live now, small world!

Very sorry to leave but places to go, people to see - we will certainly be back & I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grasmi909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Cathedral House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

Two minutes from Ely cathedral, I found this Bed and Breakfast a very different place to stay to any I have been in before. There were no rooms left in the main house but was offered a room in what normally is the self catering unit. All rooms in this unit were en-suite. The bathroom was "snug" but sifficient but anyone of large proportions may have a problem. Converted from the old stables , many of the original features still remain, and the current owners have furnished it sympathetically.. comments from other guests staying in the nore conventional house were also favourable. Hosts , Jennie and Robin are delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrestatynChanghua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Tucked under the spires of Ely Cathedral, this cottage is a hidden gem. Leave the busy road, through the garden gate and you have a pleasant walled garden. Through another gate, into a cobbled courtyard and the old stables have been tastfully converted into a 5-person cottage.

The cottage is full of interesting items, approach the room from a different direction and you will always see something new. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable with bijou en-suites in each. Each room was very clean, quite a task because this is as far from clutter-free as you could get.

The owners are very personable and knowledgeable, make sure you put aside a little time to talk with them.

Great location with good days out. We went to Duxford (don't forget to get tickets with Tesco Clubcard), The Newmarket National Stud (a bargain tour for £10) and an easy train journey into Cambridge (use the tour bus and visit Maddingley American Cemetry). Real Ale enthusiasts must visit the Liberty Belle (10 min walk).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesterGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The self catering cottage at Cathedral House is like stepping into The Secret Garden from the second you walk through the first gate into the B&B. As you walk the gravelled pathway surrounded by shrubs and flowers, another doorway leads you into a private courtyard that separates you from the bustle of the city completely. The cottage itself is well beyond what one could expect: every room is a treasure of well equipped comfort and all in keeping with the history of the house, beams, boards and all. An unusual blessing was the individual ensuites, but also much appreciated was the proliferation of books around the house and the extremely comfortable sitting/dining room just off the kitchen. I spent some of my time just sitting in the garden soaking up the sounds of the distant world among the baytrees, lupins and birdsong, feeling like I was in a vintage book of some sort. As I was in town for a funeral, I needed this peaceful place to retreat, but the fact that after walking out the door you not five minutes walk from the cathedral/high street just made everything so easy. And the final, most worthy part of the five stars go directly to our wonderful hosts - Jenny and Robin were wonderful; not just helpful and present, but personally welcoming. My thanks for creating such a place to stay and for being such warm and gracious hosts. (And for returning my forgotten belongings so speedily!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have been staying at Cathedral House, on and off, for the last 12 months when work requirements take me to that part of Cambridgeshire.

Cathedral House is a beautiful Grade II listed building, kept in a relaxed and comfortable traditional English style. The rooms are good sized yet cosy, there are shelves of eminently readable books everywhere (example: "The Devil's Army" about that famous local resident Hereward the Wake), and the welcome from Jenny and Robin could not be warmer. Jenny also cooks a delicious breakfast served in a beautiful dining room. There is off-road parking for guests, and the location could not possibly be better. Ely Cathedral, Oliver Cromwell's house and some great dining options are two minutes' slow walk away (the celebrated Old Fire Engine restaurant is just around the corner),

There is a beautiful walled garden with a table and chairs, simply inviting one to sit down on a warm summer's evening with good company, a bottle of wine and perhaps a sneaky cigarette. The only slight downsides are cramped bathrooms in some (but not all) of the rooms - a legacy of the property's age and listed building restrictions) and the Wi-Fi signal can be weak. Neither of that has stopped me from coming back time after time, nor will it in future.

Payment is cash only, but the flip side is that the rates are very attractive.

The B&B is not well signposted or aggressively advertised, which is a relief as I have usually been able to secure a room!

Room Tip: The top floor room in the main house is my favourite - although the bathroom is not technically en-s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My partner and I wanted somewhere nice to stay for the weekend in Ely, and we found just that. We traveled by train, and were fairly tight for time to make it to the Cathedral for a concert. Jenny and Robin couldn't have been more helpful, settled us in smoothly so we even had time for a quick drink before the concert.
The whole weekend we were made to feel very welcome, and Jenny and Robin had lots of advice on things to see and places to eat or drink.
Can not speak too highly of this lovely B & B.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinm1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

What an amazing place to stay! We booked the self catering cottage and found it most delightful! It was full of character, antiques and many books. The garden was magical, just like a secret garden! The cottage was well equipped and the beds really comfortable. It was brilliant to have en-suites for each room, so no queuing for the bathroom!! The owners of the property were most charming and full of information to help travellers find their way around. Ely itself is very central to explore the surrounding area. We spent a day in Cambridge and enjoyed punting on the river. We also were close to London and had an enjoyable day there too. Would recommend Prezzos to eat out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#5 of 5 in Ely
535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#9 of 34 in Ely
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral House

Address: 17 St. Marys Street, Ely CB7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $34 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional English bed & breakfast in historic house two minutes from Ely's medieval cathedral.One luxury suite and a twin en suite decorated with an eclectic mix of furnishings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing