We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ely Cathedral

Ely Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Ely
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Often called the most beautiful cathedral in britain......you can see why. In a lovely town/city the cathedral itself is the pinnacle. Great stained glass (including the museum), fabulous setting and devine architecture. If you want to see some beauty away from London - head to Ely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clydereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,309
    346
    95
    37
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Got your bank card ready?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ely Cathedral has one of the great architectural features of the country in the shape of the octagonal Lantern built after the central tower collapsed in the 14th Century. It alone justifies the price of admission. Yes, this might be an English cathedral, but you don't get past the front desk without coughing up a chunk of cash. The 'Shop' is full of the sort of Gift Shop tat that features in most British tourist venues. There are areas of splendour but this church was seriously depleted at the time of the Commonwealth and the interregnum. OliverCromwell ('Our Chief of Men') was a local lad, after all, and his mother's grave is in the north aisle, but there are remnants of its splendour. From the pervailing scent and atmosphere, it is now seriously High Anglican. A working knowledge of Latin would help the casual visitor, but small items delight, nonetheless. There is a memorial in one transept to the Cambridge student who challenged his Oxford friend to a boat race, and thus instigated the event we celebrate each year. This is a place to visit once, unless you are a serious student of medieval architecture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outrage!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We decided to go out for the day to Ely and visit the cathedral. So with the picnic packed we set off for a great day out. Upon arrival at the Cathedral (after a two hour drive) we were faced with a barrier and a sign showing prices for entry. Now although I am against having to pay to enter any place of worship, I am quite happy donate a few pounds for maintenance the cost to enter Ely Cathedral is £ 7.50 per adult and £ 6.50 per child. It would have cost £28.00 for us to get in.It also had a gift shop that you want brought on the out! This is not Thorpe Park, the churches in this country are maintained by the funding from the church and the government were do they get off charging this sort of money!!!!!!!! We went to the river (which was lovely) and had our picnic and left, very disappointed. There was one positive point; all the car parks are free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The real heart of Cambridgeshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The diocese of Ely is at the heart of the local community and their contribution to the local economy illustrates their desire to, quite rightly, be seen as the key to the well being between local business and local people, through the Ely Cathedral Business Group. An impressive Cathedral which draws your attention the second you see it as you descend on Ely though the Fens. Best views are available coming in from Soham on the A142 and an internal inspection doesn't disappoint either...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beauty and peace in a city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I enjoy most British cathedrals but there is something special about the atmosphere in Ely.
Make sure you take time to see the Octagon and take time to study the ceiling in the nave. There is usually a wheeled mirror to facilitate this.
You have to pay to get in, but then how would the cathedral survive if you didn't and trust me it is worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank welshtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ely Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Ely Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing