We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable choice”
Review of Lamb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamb Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Carlisle Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Reasonable choice”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

It is too easy to list the faults. It isn't all bad. . The decor needs an upgrade.....the parking is dreadful. . the cups in the room need to be washed properly and my scrambled eggs were overcooked and then left too long before getting to the table. Some staff don't ask if everything is ok...and some staff are really good and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We at the Lamb are sorry some points of your stay were disappointing and are working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well know for. I hope this has not put you off either the Lamb or Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    173
    153
    73
    48
See reviews for
84
221
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable beds for a good nights sleep.

Rooms could do with some general maintenance but still nice and clean.

Restaurant/bar/breakfast gave you a good reception and good service.

Classic British cooked breakfast available.

Will use again if in the region.


Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eriskorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.

We at the Lamb are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the whole experience very enjoyable. We had upgraded our room to a superior one and it was lovely. The bed was at least 6ft wide and very comfortable indeed. The room was also very peaceful and quiet even though it overlooked the road.
The situation of The Lamb is ideal for visiting the beautiful cathedral and also the lovely town.
The staff were really nice and breakfast was lovely.
We really didn't find much to complain about at all. Except we received an early morning call at 7o clock on our first morning that we hadn't asked for. And also the magnifying mirror in the bathroom was missing. When I asked for this to be replaced I was told that it was on order but she would see if she could get one from another room but sadly this did not happen.
I would definitely stay here again if I return to Ely and would recommend it..

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room and stayed in number 31. Would definitely recommend this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnlandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.

We at the Lamb are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went in on Saturday 23 November in the evening and found everything most enjoyable, the food, and service was top class, I used to frequent the lamb a lot last year and was pleased to see that the atmosphere and staff had hardly changed! It was still a happy, lively, place to eat and drink. Everyone made me feel so welcome and some of the old guard remembered me, fantastic attention to customer service!
So much so upon leaving I asked to see the duty manager called Gemma wells to congratulate her on the fantastic job she was doing with the team and the whole place, if your lucky enough to visit when she is on shift I can guarantee you'll have a more the pleasant visit, it'll be memorable! Thanks to the whole team on that night for making me and my wife's visit so very enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iritis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online.

We at the Lamb are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We visited The Lamb at the tail end of September when visiting family in the area. Ely is such an understated beautiful place and the venue of the Hotel was bang in the centre and just a stones throw from the magnificent Cathedral. The new manager at The Lamb had only been in situ a week or so and in our opinion he has a bit to do to get the standards up, however our complaints were handled well by him. Poor food, many of the choices were 'off the menu ' including quite a few of their bog standard wines which were presumably out of stock to add to this there was limited pump beer as one of the guest ales had sold out so alot of the choices of beer were just the bottled variety ??. Staff seemed not up to the standard of other Old English Inns and there was much larking about between the servers and the kitchen staff. However I hope I make my point well that the new manager was more than understanding and handled our complaints very professionally I would have confidence that this person will take this hotel forward given a bit of time. Would we visit again ? .. Not sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. We at the Lamb are sorry you were disappointed and are working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well know for. I hope this has not put you off either the Lamb or Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

Canterbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Accomodation was fair, but the (third floor) room was up a lot of stairs. No lift.
Problems: a fixed-head shower at an awkward angle; the toilet flush was hard against the wall, making it very hard to use, and, despite asking for a quiet room, it wasn't. The windows did not open. Breakfast was poor - the bacon uneatable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. Being a Grade 11 listed building we are tied with what we can do to the building and would not be allowed to put in a lift.
We at the Lamb are sorry you were disappointed and are working hard to try and make sure we offer the correct high standard of service Old English Inns are well know for. I hope this has not put you off either the Lamb or Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am so pleased that I had not paid for my stay at the Lamb! that miss fortune fell to my friend. Very over priced for what you get. Poorly decorated, too hot in the rooms, the windows do not open, window frames in great need of painting. The English breakfast was the worst I have eaten in a long time (Friday morning) the bacon was like eating card board. This morning Saturday we thought we were going to die of thirst, no one came to serve us (we thought we were invisible for quite a long time) no glasses to get get a glass of juice, very sad looking scrambled egg on toast. (didn't want the a la cart !!!!!!!!!!!! English breakfast) my friend asked for some toast which came back as 4 slices of white bread !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! apparently one side might have seen slight heat as it was a bit like stale bread.
Apparently one couple asked for a pudding on the Thursday evening to be told the kitchen was closed.
Very disorganized hotel, poorly decorated,poor quality food, over priced, but little other choice in Ely which may well be why the problems persist.
Reception staff helpful as were the chamber maid.
Would not recommend this hotel for this price you will find the same if not a better standard at a premier inn or a travel lodge etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banksy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the hotel rest assured your comments will be used in a positive manner to ensure our guests have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.2 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
359 reviews
2.5 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ely
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Property: Lamb Hotel
Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing