We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lamb Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ely
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Having read through recent reviews we expected the worst but were pleasantly surprised. Staff were very helpful and although there were insufficient staff to cope with a busy Saturday evening, they did their best to make sure we had a comfortable stay and enjoyable evening meal and breakfast. Rooms were fine and contained everything we wanted. There were seven of us sitting down to dinner, and extra care was taken for us to have a table set aside from the merry throng. Although service was slow, we were in no rush. Food was good and Rioja wine was excellent and very reasonably priced. Beds were comfortable and Sunday breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments it is good to get positive feedback about our team members .We are always working hard to speed up delivery of food service thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    161
    142
    70
    45
See reviews for
76
206
23
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went in for an evening meal returned chips as cold the mushy peas were so dry it was one big lump, when food was returned to us i believe they had put the same chips back in fryer and just forked the peas to make it look good and returned the dinner, by then the cod batter was wet not crispy and warm not hot, my son had hunters chicken and it was so dry he could not cut into it, we will never eat there again. Spoke to the manager and she refunded our money for the main meals

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 487mick987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We are very sorry you had a bad experience dining with us and rest assured your comments will be used in our efforts to make things better here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

Barcelona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom had good shower but no full shower curtain so water went everywhere and smelt a bit damp. Bed was very comfy, and room 8 was quiet as overlooked the car park .No lift which was a pain carrying heavy suitcases. Breakfast was ok but there were quite a few flies near the breakfast bar. The daily price peaked on Tuesday for some reason. Overall satisfactory for a work trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments it is always good to get positive feedback
About our team members ,and we will look at the shower curtain and put it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stay here occasionally for business I've never bothered to write a review before but just read a couple of negative reviews that I think are a bit harsh, I always find the staff here helpful and friendly, he food is excellent with some interesting veggie options that is refreshing. I always ask work to try and book me in here as first choice and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay, the team will love reading your thoughts. Hopefully we shall see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Lamb on a few occasions and am accustomed to its somewhat shabby state - but being centrally situated is some compensation. What was totally unacceptable on this occasion what the offensive manner of one of the male staff at breakfast on being asked for some coffee - which we hadn't had during the meal. The downright arrogance of his manner was breathtaking - and noted by other diners.
Hard pressed to say anything positive about the place with staff like this souring what should be a straightforward exchange of hotel/guest/and a bit of breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for giving us the feedback on your experience at The Lamb please accept our apologies .We will use your feedback to hopefully make sure this does not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is of very poor quality and indeed bad value for money. The room was very basic, small and very cramped. The breakfast was a disaster. Cold toast, no porridge, even though the menu offered some. Wil not be going there again.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill your comments online. We at the Lamb are always working hard to give the best service and quality we can. Sometimes due to other issues we are let down. We send our apologies to you that on this occassion this did not happen. I hope this has not put you off either the Lamb Hotel or Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Lamb for 1 night. Check in was not good as staff member who should have been doing was meeting with a client. this left the busy bar staff to cover. Once served the check In was fast.
Car park is busy and very small in relation to number of rooms.
Room ok quite spacious basic amenaties but clean and tidy. Staff assisted with wifi connection.
I had dinner in the bar (hotel is actually a pub with rooms above the bar) Food was what you'd expect from a National pub chain. Again staff were helpful but seemingly only 3 front of house dealing with busy restaurant and hotel matters - not enough
Slept well even though I had a front facing room over the busy road, so that's good.
Breakfast was a disappointment. Staff do their best laying out the bar area, but again it just doesn't say "hotel" fruit looked past its best, and cereal choice was limited. the cooked breakfast was fresh and nice.
Check out was speedy.
If you're looking for a non impressive value for money night or two in a lovely part of the country then you cant go wrong, staff are helpful and friendly - but you may want to explore more refined dinning options in the locality and better accommodation if you're staying any length of time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen19675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill your comments online. We at the Lamb are always working hard to give the best service and quality we can. Sometimes due to other issues we are let down. We send our apologies to you that on this occassion this did not happen. I hope this has not put you off either the Lamb Hotel or Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#11 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nyton
The Nyton
#24 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Property: Lamb Hotel
Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing