We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recce”
Review of Lamb Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lamb Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Recce”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a recconnaisance trip for a choir tour next year.

Positives:
The Lamb is superbly located for the cathedral.
The bar and reception staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
The room was clean and comfortable, albeit in need of new furniture.

Negatives:
The rooms are (for the standard of the hotel) over-priced. The Lamb really takes advantage of being the only hotel in the city-centre.
Breakfast service on the Sunday was so slow that we only just made it to the cathedral's morning service. The staff seemed much more concerned with clearing away than serving us and my breakfast arrived cold. We has no time to send it back!
The corridors were turned into an obstacle course in the morning with piles of clean linen outside the rooms: some of these were being used to prop open fire-doors which is illegal and a cause for concern which should be addressed urgently.
'Sunday Lunch' was a disaster: they had run out of both roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings - so why continue to offer it?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekthecleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review The Lamb. It was nice to read your positive comments and we will discuss your thoughts regarding breakfast and Sunday lunch with our kitchen team. In regard to the corridor doors being propped open, this is only done when the housekeeping team are working directly in that area, and in the event of an evacuation their first task would be to close any door or windows that are open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    172
    148
    71
    46
See reviews for
81
216
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I didn't stay at The Lamb Inn, but I ate multiple times at the pub during a week-long stay in Ely. We were staying just down the road, so it was very convenient to just pop into the Lamb for a quick bite and to use the free WiFi. The staff is exceptional here - particularly David, whose brother happens to be the chef. We were always greeted with a smile and everyone was pleasant. The food was tasty, basic British fare. I enjoyed the one breakfast I had there and loved the fish and chips. Actually, the chips are great! Had a very nice chicken and mushroom pie - I just wish the chicken had been cut up rather than served as one whole piece. The atmosphere is great, it's convenient to the cathedral and downtown Ely, and the evening dinner specials are exceptional deals for the price. Overall, I'd suggest stopping in for a quick bite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaniergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the Lamb. The team here will enjoy reading your thoughts and we hope you have the opportunity to visit the UK and Ely in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I recently stayed at The Lamb, during a work trip. The hotel/pub itself is in a great location and within an easy distance of Ely Cathedral and the town centre. There is limited parking on site, but luckily I managed to squeeze my car into the car park. The bar area is really nicely decorated and I was expecting the room to be of a similar standard, but was left disappointed. The room was a good size, but quite shabby. It is a real shame because the bed was good and I slept well, the rooms just aren't finished to a similar standard as the rest of the building. The room was fairly clean, but would certainly benefit from a deep clean. The staff here are friendly and the food in the restaurant is good. This could be a great hotel if the rooms were refurbished to a good standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Lamb. We are glad to have read that you found a number of things pleased you and will look to improve
on those areas that didn't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I spent the night at the Lamb in following a wedding in Ely. It was a fairly reasonable place to stay, well located, within walking distance from Ely Cathedral and a seconds stumble across the road from the registry office.

Rooms and communal areas were clean, tidy and appeared to be well maintained, fixtures and fittings were basic, but acceptably clean and in working order (light switches were however quite confusing). Television was standard Freeview fayre. As other reviewers have noted there is only limited parking on site. Staff were polite and helpful.

An excellent choice of cooked breakfast was included alongside a buffet cold breakfast, in the dining areas of the attached public house, which was well maintained and up to modern standards. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review The Lamb. The team will enjoy reading your positive feedback and hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in the Lamb for the first time in several years. The rooms have been refurbished in the last few years and are clean, tidy and well maintained. I stayed in a double room that was a good size with all of the expected amenities. The hotel is well located in the middle of Ely. There is limited parking on site, but there is a good size car park opposite which is free with no time restrictions after 6PM.

On the down side the bed was fairly uncomfortable and could have done with a new mattress. The bathroom was clean, but was tired and could do with a significant refurbishment. One basic issue which could be resolved cheaply and easily was a bathroom window with clear glass at the top and no curtains or blinds.

The staff were very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of hot and cold options all of which were of a good quality.

Overall a good hotel for the price of the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments on The Lamb. We appreciate your thoughts on our staff and breakfast in particular and will look to remedy the points you were dissappointed by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The price charged for a Saturday night stay reflects the lack of competition in this city.

The room was small although this is to be expected in an older town centre hotel but the bathroom was cold with very tired fittings and was barely "guest house" standard.

The breakfast service was slow and amateur and the grilled kipper on the menu turned out to be two small kipper fillets!

Overpriced averageness

Room Tip: Stay in Cambridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosinante_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Lamb. We are sorry you did not find the experience matched your expectation
and will look to improve our service where you have critiqued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Rooms clean, staff very friendly; stayed for 2 nights with 5 other couples. Excellent choice for breakfast menu. Only slight negative is the the shower head leaked badly making the bathroom a wet room; were offered another room.Can'nt coment on the bar or other dinig experiences.
Probabily not worth the full price but as we were a large group; had a large discount,
Hotel is a bit dated, one group member probaily summed it up as aged gentility.

Room Tip: Room 24 okay, no noise from air conditioning as other reviews have found, ask if the shower head has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaeldMinehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We'd like to thank you for your kind words regarding your visit to The Lamb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nyton
The Nyton
#26 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb Hotel

Property: Lamb Hotel
Address: 2 Lynn Road, Ely CB7 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lamb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb Hotel Ely

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing