We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have tried so hard to like this pub”
Review of Lazy Otter

Lazy Otter
Ranked #31 of 111 Restaurants in Ely
Price range: $19 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Annette, Steve, Lucasz and the rest of the team welcome you to the Lazy Otter.Come and enjoy fine food, wine or traditional beers all in a setting that is truly delightful. Nestled halfway between Cambridge & Ely, just off the A10, this Riverside Restaurant & Bar is the only place to dine.The Restaurant and Bar is located next to the sleepy River Ouse, with space for 5 boats on the overnight moorings. Whilst dining in the Restaurant you can enjoy the tranquil scenery typical of the fens and watch the River Boats and Canal Barges sail lazily past.The Lazy Otter can cater for anything from intimate couples to large groups of 50 arriving by Coach. You can sit in the sunshine outside and relax by the riverside or dine inside with friends and enjoy the pampered personal service from the helpful staff.The restaurant has a large selection of dishes to choose from, catering for all tastes; please take a moment to look at the menu on their facebook page with examples of the food available.They also have some great Wines, five ever changing Real Ales and 8 Ciders to sample and wet the whistle of the most discerning drinker.
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have tried so hard to like this pub”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Living locally, this is such a convenient place and I have tried so hard to like it. But having visited this Bank Holiday Monday, I just don't feel the place wants to like back! On the positives, they have a fantastic selection of beer and the food is good pub food. But the big negative is the staff behind the bar who have absolutely no rapport with the customers. You can't raise a smile, you never get an apology if you have to wait a while and they just seem to tolerate working there. So don't know your name but lady with ring through your lip who served me, you really should consider another profession. And I need to consider another pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    92
    65
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not just a restaurant but fantastic bedrooms rooms and friendly service”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Did a late booking (again) found another good family run pub with letting rooms. Staff excellent all friendly and helpful shown to room which has all you need for a comfy weekend - fantastic bed sooo comfy. The room even had all the extras for forgotten items, toothbrush and toothpaste, razor with complimentary water alongside the usual display of tea and coffees(one of the best coffees giving a filter coffee rather than freeze dried coffee) and even a dish of chocolates. The I-pod docking clock radio was another good touch along with the flat screen tv. Ample storage space in wardrobe and drawers. Downstairs the pub had a good pet friendly atmosphere only saw a few dogs while we were there but all were well behaved. Good choice of food usual pub food with a few daily specials - the Sunday roast dinner was very tasty followed by a to die for Tia Maria, Coffee and Walnut Gateaux - def. melt in your mouth cake. Good choice of wines, and beers and also choice of nibbles, crisps, nuts. Tried a few different coffees all very tasty - latte, cappuccino, mocha, americano. All in all definitely a place to go and stay if you need a comfy room, good food and pleasant staff - well done Annette you have a lovely place just hope you can enjoy a holiday one day you deserve it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mo_roYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A very nice pub/restaurant by the river”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is a great pub restaurant with good food. You can sit in a variety of different locations, inside and outside. I liked the corner under a shelf of books and overlooked by a stuffed otter. It is also very pleasant to sit outside in good weather and to watch the river. I found the service to be friendly and quick. There is plenty of parking space.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value family fare”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Conveniently situated near the A10 between Cambridge and Ely this is both a nice riverside restaurant / pub (with rooms) and a great alternative to a Little Chef or equivalent.

We had booked a table for six of us as a family celebration, arrived and were greeted at the bar. There was no need to take our table at the restaurant at first - they were very happy for us to sit in the bar, and drink a little prior to going through. From a "pub" viewpoint, the beer was well kept; very pleasant. The restaurant area overlooks the river (and there are outside tables too), good facilities.

The food was good - I've certainly had better food, but I've also paid a lot more for rather worse food. It served our purpose well. Two courses was enough for all of us although the desserts looked good too.

Don't overlook the specials menu - don't know how often it actually changes, but that seemed to be the best fare of the lot.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very average”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went for lunch with baby and toddler (and their Mum). I had veggie burger which I had hoped was homemade for the money but wasn't....I should have checked beforehand I know, I know.... it was just something out of a packet. A bit light on the chips too. Toddler had sausage and mash with pretty nasty sausages (won't make that mistake again). Mum had a lasagne which didn't even look like it had been made on the premises. Some unpleasant coleslaw too.

On the upside the staff were pleasant and helpful and the garden was great for toddler who wanted to run off every five minutes. The children's play area would be OK for older children with only the slide suitable for toddlers really. Proximity to river pleasant too.

In summary - very average pub grub somewhat overpriced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nearmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Otter also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing