We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm hospitality and superb breakfast”
Review of 29 Waterside

29 Waterside
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
29 Waterside
Ranked #25 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
Torino
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“warm hospitality and superb breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Located in a mid-18th century cottage, this B&B is close to the river Ouse and only a short walk away from the stunning Cathedral of Ely. Jude & Charlie offered us a warm hospitality in their small house furnished in a Victorian flavour and decorated with a personal touch in every corner. The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed. Our en-suite double room was clean and provided with tea and coffee making facilities, an LCD TV, a large cupboard, a desk with lovely fresh daffodils and two bedside tables with an alarm radio. The bathroom was roomy with pieces of tea pottery on the window ledge.
The full English breakfast was delicious as well as the selection of cereals, the orange juice and the home-made jams and marmalades. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biol76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

jude +charlie couldn,t have done anymore to make our stay more enjoyable,they were like old friends although we had never met them before,without a shadow of a doubt we will be returning later this summer for another charming stay. thank you jude +charlie.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We completely agree with the reviews on this page, and especially those of Tom and Catherine concerning travelling with young children. The hosts of 29 Waterside, Charlie and Jude, could not have done more to make this a relaxing stay for our young family. The inclusion of fresh sunflowers in our room was really lovely as they are my favourite flower. Thank you Charlie and Jude.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOliverCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Just one example of a very warm welcome at this B&B when stayed there with my husband and one year old. Several B&Bs in Ely were distinctly sniffy about small children, but our hosts were charming about it, had made various adjustments to suit her and gave us a very pleasant stay. A beautiful cottage, though small, and perfect location, just moments from the river, and a short walk to the cathedral.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We had a fantastic stay at this B&B in Ely. The house was full of character, and the couple were fantastic. They really made us feel at home and were more than helpful. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank itchy_feet_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.3 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nyton
The Nyton
#26 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 29 Waterside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 29 Waterside

Property: 29 Waterside
Address: 29 Waterside, Ely CB7 4AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Hotel Class:4 star — 29 Waterside 4*
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing