We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bed for the night!”
Review of Ely Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ely Guest House
Ranked #30 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just a bed for the night!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Guest House is in a perfect location next to the cathedral and the high street. It is 10-15 minutes by foot from the rail station. Our room (8) was not above the Thai restaurant (as pictured when you look at the trip advisor site). It was at the back, with a different entrance, by the parking (for guests), and it was quiet. The room was under two very slopping roofs. The space where we could stand up was small. There was a small washbasin. There was a tray with tea bags, milk, and nescafe and a kettle. The furniture was - how can I describe it? A bit sad, a white dressing table, pink old small sofa (under the slope), and an impeccably made bed with white sheet and duvet (under the other slope). Good TV opposite the bed. When booking, the shared facility is mentioned, But unless one experiences it, it is hard to imagine what can happen at 8am! Other guests can, and do, take bath/showers. There can be 8? 10? people in four or five rooms. This meant that the one and only toilet became inaccessible when one (selfish) person took a lengthy bath/shower. Very basic room. No breakfast. You get two keys and you drop them on leaving in the letter box. You pay inside the Thai restaurant, on arrival. It was a bit uncomfortable. People were enjoying their meal, and here you are, with your bags your £60 in cash. This was the only room I could find in Ely at short notice. Would I return? Probably not. This is not a B&B and not a hotel. What we got was one small room (number 8) with a kettle - and shared toilet (on a different floor ). Wonderful location though.

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite and enjoy the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    10
    13
    18
See reviews for
2
23
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is a reason why the staff at this place insist on taking your money up front. They are savvy enough to know that if you stayed there first you wouldn't bother paying the price they are asking.
Don't get me wrong, the staff are lovely and couldn't be more pleasant however, the accommodation leaves rather a lot to be desired.
The staff are clearly trying to do the best with what they've got but what they've got doesn't amount to very much.
I was put in a single room with shared bathroom facilities. This is fine if you know the other people you are sharing the bathroom with but I didn't. The room was up a flight of stairs from the bathroom so every time I needed water I had to traipse down the stairs to fill the kettle. It was clear that staff had made every effort to clean the room and the bathroom but everything just seemed, well, rather grubby. The carpet was hoovered but badly stained and could do with an update.
The ultimate indignity arose when I came to get into bed and immediately leapt up because the mattress was wet! I'm not normally one to complain but there was no way I could let that one go so I had to get dressed, go outside to the other building and let them know. They replaced the mattress for me but the one that it was replaced with was old and stained. I'm used to roughing it in developing countries so just sucked it up and put up with it.
This accommodation was definitely not worth the almost £50 I paid for it and I would urge anybody not to stay here. To add insult to injury, breakfast is not even included in the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the building round the corner from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ely hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place has quite an odd setup, it has a few rooms above the thai restaraunt (the two are linked and run together) and then two additional 'flats' round the corner. I stayed in one of them. It was quite modern and well decorated. good TV, and tea and coffee facilities. the bathroom was clean and modern, but small so it didn;t have a bath, just shower. And it didn't have a mirror, so if you were doing your hair or shaving etc you have to keep running back to the bed area and use the mirror there. Unfortunately the windows aren't double glazed so early in the morning you get quite a bit of road noise, and Even more annoyingly one of the nearby houses has a cockerel-That seems hell bent on making the hours between 5:00am and 6:30am a complete misery. I found the bed comfy, But The windows had venetian blinds, which even when closed let alot of light in. Meaning I was woke alot earlier than needed.

Now onto the really frustrating part. We booked a twin room initially (me and colleague) (on a booking website that deals with late bookings). fine, no problem. Then when we arrived to check in, we were told they didn't have any rooms. so ended up having to have 2 doubles, at a slightly discounted rate. If it was a one off, You can accept it as a mistake, although reading past reviews it seems to happen here alot. Sadly I can't help thinking it isn't some sort of scam. Which is a shame, because for the money, the rooms are decent. and it's well located in the middle of what looked to be a lovely place. with plenty of shops, pubs and places to eat nearby. There is also a free car park just round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyodsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lndom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first time we came to check in staff very nice and welcome she told every information that guest need to know and surprises me that she send us to the room and tell everything we need to know in the room such as fire door exited that we never have this service in five star hotel. Room very clean and location very near to town down stair bkk Thai restaurant very delicious food and good service with smile although she make some mistake she alway smile and do apologies. also have big garden if we in Ely we will stay here again need recommend

Room Tip: Better than u expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

You get what you pay for, this is a reasonably priced guest house for the area at £37.95 I of however expected some Kind of breakfast for that price. Rooms consist of single bed, small desk, large TV mind 32" which is unusual for hotels. And there is a tea and coffee making facility! Rooms very clean and presentable. Bathroom facility is shared, but again very clean and welcoming. Bathroom was very modern and I would say recently refitted!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank EdPritchard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent one night over the late May bank holiday in Ely Guest House which is linked to and run by the BKK Thai Restaurant.

The room was clean and spacious with the usual towels and kettle facilities but the toiletries supply was a bit funny with the hand soap consisting of the shower gel very much diluted with water. Although the room was clean and nicely decorated, it had nothing to do with any of the period pictures on their website. The guest house is run by the BKK Thai Restaurant but our room was not in the same building but around the corner in a more modern building.

They kindly let us lock our bicycles in the restaurant patio-garden but we were not given access to them until 11am on the following day. Breakfast is not served but there is no need for it as the local Costa and The Lamb (just opposite) serve early breakfast every day of the week.

The fee for a double room was a good 30% more expensive than what is stated on the website. The chek-in is done at the restaurant which proudly states at the door that a variety of cards are accepted for payment. We found it quite peculiar and intriguing that card payments were not accepted for the accommodation but we did not inquire further and made a trip to the cash point just opposite. After a long cycling day, we needed a warm shower and a clean bed which is what we got even though it did not really match the website.

Watch out for the bottom step of the staircase which is just a little higher than the rest of them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a good room, ensuite, powerful shower etc found the bed comfy so no issues with the room itself......but the 'nearby St Mary's car park is 2hours only and none of the long stay car parks were useful as you have to move your car between 0830 and 1000! We parked at the station for £6 the weekend and got a taxi to the guesthouse! Not ideal really, a hotel with no parking! Also £60 with no breakfast is a tad steep! We didn't realise there was no breakfast until we'd paid. They need to make it more obvious on their website

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.0 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Nyton
The Nyton
#26 of 34 in Ely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Inn
Riverside Inn
#10 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Three Pickerels
The Three Pickerels
#11 of 34 in Ely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely Guest House

Property: Ely Guest House
Address: 6 St. Marys Street, Ely CB7 4ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ely Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ely Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing