We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ely Guest House
Ranked #21 of 25 Ely B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place has quite an odd setup, it has a few rooms above the thai restaraunt (the two are linked and run together) and then two additional 'flats' round the corner. I stayed in one of them. It was quite modern and well decorated. good TV, and tea and coffee facilities. the bathroom was clean and modern, but small so it didn;t have a bath, just shower. And it didn't have a mirror, so if you were doing your hair or shaving etc you have to keep running back to the bed area and use the mirror there. Unfortunately the windows aren't double glazed so early in the morning you get quite a bit of road noise, and Even more annoyingly one of the nearby houses has a cockerel-That seems hell bent on making the hours between 5:00am and 6:30am a complete misery. I found the bed comfy, But The windows had venetian blinds, which even when closed let alot of light in. Meaning I was woke alot earlier than needed.

Now onto the really frustrating part. We booked a twin room initially (me and colleague) (on a booking website that deals with late bookings). fine, no problem. Then when we arrived to check in, we were told they didn't have any rooms. so ended up having to have 2 doubles, at a slightly discounted rate. If it was a one off, You can accept it as a mistake, although reading past reviews it seems to happen here alot. Sadly I can't help thinking it isn't some sort of scam. Which is a shame, because for the money, the rooms are decent. and it's well located in the middle of what looked to be a lovely place. with plenty of shops, pubs and places to eat nearby. There is also a free car park just round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmyodsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 61 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

The first time we came to check in staff very nice and welcome she told every information that guest need to know and surprises me that she send us to the room and tell everything we need to know in the room such as fire door exited that we never have this service in five star hotel. Room very clean and location very near to town down stair bkk Thai restaurant very delicious food and good service with smile although she make some mistake she alway smile and do apologies. also have big garden if we in Ely we will stay here again need recommend

Room Tip: Better than u expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

You get what you pay for, this is a reasonably priced guest house for the area at £37.95 I of however expected some Kind of breakfast for that price. Rooms consist of single bed, small desk, large TV mind 32" which is unusual for hotels. And there is a tea and coffee making facility! Rooms very clean and presentable. Bathroom facility is shared, but again very clean and welcoming. Bathroom was very modern and I would say recently refitted!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent one night over the late May bank holiday in Ely Guest House which is linked to and run by the BKK Thai Restaurant.

The room was clean and spacious with the usual towels and kettle facilities but the toiletries supply was a bit funny with the hand soap consisting of the shower gel very much diluted with water. Although the room was clean and nicely decorated, it had nothing to do with any of the period pictures on their website. The guest house is run by the BKK Thai Restaurant but our room was not in the same building but around the corner in a more modern building.

They kindly let us lock our bicycles in the restaurant patio-garden but we were not given access to them until 11am on the following day. Breakfast is not served but there is no need for it as the local Costa and The Lamb (just opposite) serve early breakfast every day of the week.

The fee for a double room was a good 30% more expensive than what is stated on the website. The chek-in is done at the restaurant which proudly states at the door that a variety of cards are accepted for payment. We found it quite peculiar and intriguing that card payments were not accepted for the accommodation but we did not inquire further and made a trip to the cash point just opposite. After a long cycling day, we needed a warm shower and a clean bed which is what we got even though it did not really match the website.

Watch out for the bottom step of the staircase which is just a little higher than the rest of them!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jujuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a good room, ensuite, powerful shower etc found the bed comfy so no issues with the room itself......but the 'nearby St Mary's car park is 2hours only and none of the long stay car parks were useful as you have to move your car between 0830 and 1000! We parked at the station for £6 the weekend and got a taxi to the guesthouse! Not ideal really, a hotel with no parking! Also £60 with no breakfast is a tad steep! We didn't realise there was no breakfast until we'd paid. They need to make it more obvious on their website

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazyographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This little guesthouse in central Ely is a nice place run by Thai people. Our rooms was
orientally decorated and with an ensuite bathroom. We could sit outside for coffee
which was nice. They had two rabbits in the garden which was a nice experience too. We
came from the railway station and had to walk to the guesthouse but it went well. The
guesthouse is located very close to the local museum, the cathedral + park. There are
shops, restaurants and cafés around. If you are interested in Antiques there is an Antiques
by the water. The town is small so you easily walk in the town centre to what you want. . Close to the guesthouse is also the tourist office which is located in the Cromwell house. We had lunch at a pub "The Lamb" near the guesthouse adn it was good. Easy for us on the way to the railway station after checking out. The ones who run the hotel also seems to run the Thai restaurant next door if you like that kind of cuisine.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This guest house is in a very central location in Ely above a Thai restaurant. I was shown to the room on arrival which looked ok at first glance but then I noticed that there was a large area of damp on the ceiling and patches of white and black mould. I also noticed some potentially dangerous wiring in the room. As this room was in my view unsafe to stay in, I called the restaurant back to insist on another room. I was offered the room next door but there was mould there too. I was then taken to another block that they own round the corner. This was thankfully damp free but was furnished to a very poor standard and not very clean. The heating wasn't on when I arrived but it did end up quite warm.

Also note that no blankets were provided (I had to borrow one from family) and they don't do breakfast. You also have to pay in cash on arrival.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seascaper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ely
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 4 in Ely
396 reviews
0 mi away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ely
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barge Waternimf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 4 in Ely
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ely
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ely Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ely Guest House

Address: 6 St. Marys Street, Ely CB7 4ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range: $82 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ely Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ely Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing