We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!!!!!”
Review of Mowbray B&B

Mowbray B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mowbray B&B
Ranked #98 of 122 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid!!!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just to add my thoughts on Jan Y's posting. We were in the group of 5 guests who had booked (some months ago), one night at Brooklands B&B,including cooked breakfast and en-suite.As Jan rightly says we were only told on arrival that we had been moved to the Mowbray, "our sister hotel" !! We never saw anyone at all which put paid to the "warm welcome". We were only told the code for the door and the room numbers and that the breakfast was "in the room".On arrival at the Mowbray we discovered no en-suite facilities at all,just a sink (cracked in our room) which required two hands to turn the hot tap on!. Our room was fairly basic,bare floorboards with the odd, rather shabby mat, and a small set of drawers on which stood out "breakfast". This consisted of 3 small cereal packets, 2 weetabix, 3 small orange cartons (29p),UHT milk, and a few sachets of coffee, sugar,and tea-bags. One of the cereal bowls and spoons still had the remnants of the previous occupents milk and cereal in the bottom-not good!!. To their credit the bed linen and towels did appear to be clean and fresh-probably the only reason we stayed!. The two shower room/toilets across the landing left a lot to be desired. Both toilet seats were loose. The pull cords were strangely located behind the doors, one was filthy and the other was a brown boot lace!. The showers looked grubby and had visible hairs stuck around the shower trays. We,my wife and myself. woke early next morning and left for home just after 7. On returning home I checked the prices for both the Brooklands and the Mowbray. Brooklands averages around £75 (which is what we were quoted,plus £55 for a single) and the Mowbray around £55. At the time of writing I dont know what Jan has been billed,hopefully not the £75 because even at £55 I feel cheated. I wonder if this has happened to any other guests???
All in all a very unpleasant experience, and if I could offer one word of advice to any potential visitors to this establishment it would be,,, DONT!!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank KevinGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    5
    9
See reviews for
1
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the sister 'hotel' to Portland Guest house on Cherry Hinton Road. I was under the impression that I had booked at the Portland Guest house. However on arriving there was directed, over the phone, to this dump. We had two doubles and one single room (ensuite - joke) and paid £75 and £55 respectively for B&B. This must stand for Bad and Badder. Our 'breakfast' was boxes of cereals, uht milk, cheap tea and coffee sachets which were 'thrown' on a tray in the rooms. On a positive note the bedsheets and towels appeared clean. That's where the good bits end. There was no-one to greet us, just a code to get in and keys in the appropriate doors. We didn't see anyone until leaving in the morning. It was obviously a student who was living in and supposedly looking after the place. The ensuite was a sink with no plug. We had to share bathrooms.
On entering the property (which could have been very nice with a bit of care and attention) the scruffiness was immediately apparent. The beds in the double rooms were comfortable but the one in the single room had a very stained mattress with a hole in the middle. The mattress was covered by an old bed throw that had obviously been used for a decorators dust cover.
There were grubby rugs around the place which were trip hazards. The bathrooms had days worth of human hair on the floor and had not been cleaned thoroughly. The pull cord for the light switch was dark brown with dirt. The taps swivelled around and the water pressure in the shower was very hit and miss. One of the bathrooms had a shoe lace as a pull cord.
The only hanging space for clothes was a hook on the back of the door.
Thank God we were only booked in for one night!!!!! Our friends were out before 7am as they couldn't stand it any longer.
Thinking of staying here - DON'T !!!!
I have given it one star but actually it doesn't deserve and.

Room Tip: Just stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This has to have been one of the most laughable and scary experiences, on booking I was lead to believe that it included breakfast, on arrival we were told it was already in our room, this included a tray with a few boxes of cereal, uht milk, and a few sachets of coffee , the rooms were really basic but on the upside they appeared clean, however the bedding didn't smell like it had been changed, the floors were all floor boarded with grubby sticky rugs, there were two small bathrooms straight out of our room which were very basic and the tap was faster than the shower, the on sweat facilities consisted of a sink in your room in which the taps don't work haha.
On arriving at the house of horror we were greeted by a young foreign lady which as soon as we arrived through the key coded door we were asked how are you paying, we had made an online payment to book the room, as we settled in to our room the lady and a guy were arguing for a good half of the night in foreign language, this was quite an un nearing experience to which I would never like to repeat........ Enter at your own risk!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious, but no on sweat, and facilities are old, dated and very very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireKayla1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's stretching things to say this is a Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast constituted a packet of cornflakes, UHT milk and a carton of orange. For some unknown reason there was tea, coffee and jam but no mugs for tea or coffee and nothing to spread jam on. The shower leaks. There are no staff available at any time of day or night, the reason for the pincode is to prevent the need for staff, in my view.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank H_Oates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived before check in time, so we had to wait a little because the B&B personnel comes just for that time. It was not a problem, because the specifies it clearly in the booking form. The toilette and shower was "shared", but there are so enough toilettes and shower that it was barely noticeable. The room was spacious, fresh, the bed was totally comfortable. The wifi was excellent and they let us to use the microwave oven and the fridge, so we could bought food at Asda, Tesco or Sainsbury's and cook it or put it into the common fridge, ABSOLUTELLY SAFELY. We definitely loved this stay and would be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusArturoRomero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked the Mowbray B&B for a wedding with a check in time of 12-2.00pm. This time is given by the hotel as the prescribed time you need to arrive to be greeted, unless you want to use a key code to get in. We arrived at 12 as we needed to walk to a wedding for 1pm and needed to change before we went. At 12.20 there was still no answer at the B&B so my husband phoned their number and she said she would come over and gave us the key code to get in.
We managed to get in at 12.30 to be met with unchanged and unmade beds from the previous occupants , white powder all over the hall carpet and there were pasties and remains of food and fruit all over the table and floor and cherry pips spat all over the bathroom floor. It looked like student digs used as a B&B at the weekend. The owner arrived at about 12.45 and said she was short staffed and didn't have any cleaners. She then proceeded to strip the beds and her manner wasn't helpful. We had to leave as the wedding started at 1pm, and we had to get dressed in the car.

The website states a friendly welcome but there was no one there at the prescribed check-in time and when we did meet the manager who was abrupt. We didn’t feel that it was an environment we would want our toddler staying in and we certainly didn’t want her to touch anything due to the lack of cleanliness. The Mowbray then took £65 from our account under the name Brooklands guest house even though we didn't stay. We booked the room via booking.com but they state they are not responsible for taking payment so won't challenge the payment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip1000093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

There was no warm welcome just a phone call to tell me the code to get in the house which was quiet clearly a student home.
Clearly no maintenance carried out to the property.
Lots of noise when the students came in and stayed up till late.
I never saw the owner over the 3 night stay.
Breakfast was dismal.
Money was taken from card prior to commencement of stay.
Never again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Sorrento Hotel
Sorrento Hotel
#25 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.4 mi away
Acacia Guesthouse
Acacia Guesthouse
#51 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alington House
Alington House
#41 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.9 mi away
Citystay - Glenalmond
Citystay - Glenalmond
#15 of 37 in Cambridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairways Guest House
Fairways Guest House
#82 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray B&B

Property: Mowbray B&B
Address: 32 Mowbray Road, Cambridge CB1 7SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing