We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rice Boat

Rice Boat
Ranked #289 of 683 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An thrice award winning restaurant offering the cuisine of the State of Kerala in South India. Indian food that is very different to that available in the normal High Street Indian Restaurants in the UK. Fresh fish, prawns, vegetables and meat cooked with a deft touch with spices. Not all of our dishes are hot, we offer vegan, vegetarian dishes and gluten -free breads. Air-conditioned, with disabled access and disabled toilet. Group menus arranged on request.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have visited the Rice Boat several times over the years. Initially the staff were clearly passionate about bringing authentic South Indian cuisine to Cambridge. The last couple of times I have noticed something of a decline, and my last visit, for a quick supper, was really disappointing. We ordered the "signature" lamb and potato curry, which arrived in a small bowl, and looked and tasted decidedly ordinary. At £10 it was seriously overpriced. The service was adequate but it really seemed as if they didn't care. The restaurant was pretty empty, and I expect it will get emptier unless the management start to pay more attention to providing something special and improving the dining experience. I suggest trying Cocum (on Castle Street) instead.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    71
    32
    25
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting, but flawed”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had dinner here this week. Food was pretty good, but we found that the place lacks atmosphere and as others have said, the service is not great. Make sure you try the doshas as not available anywhere else in Cambridge. Also an issue with protion sizes (we tried the fish curry 'signature dish' and it was a small bowl of sauce with three pieces of fish - poor value for £10.

Interesting selection of beers. Impression that staff dont really care about customers - not sure who the owner is, but if they are one of the ones on-site then they give a poor impression.

Worth trying once, but not sure I would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank we_love_two_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overly priced and drab”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food at Rice Boat is more than I expect to pay (or indeed, do pay) in trendy London Indian restaurants (such as Dishoom). Expect to pay at least £10 for a main. I ate the Chicken Tikka Massala - a stock dish, which is easy to make delicious. Unfortunately it was bland, tasteless even. The service wasn't very attentive, and I would actively dissuade people from going there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1111222223333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G'many
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious !!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A great little Indian restaurant with dishes mainly form south India... It is my absolute favorite restaurant in Cambridge. Especially the fish curry is sooo nice and the different dosas !! The food is pretty spicy for an European and normally I am sensitive to hot dishes and not toooo fond about it - but for the rice boat I always make an exception, as the food is just so taaaasty there. The hot spicing is very delicious and just perfectly matches the food. I just loooove this restaurant :-D

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Food was great”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Food was great!only downside is parking there is no parking near this restaurant.the closest car park is a long walk away.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Duneshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Boat also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Rice Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing