We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noodles pure”
Review of Dojo - CLOSED

Dojo
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dojo is a hugely popular restaurant serving street noodles from the Far East. From rich creamy Malaysian Laksas to ocean flavoured Japanese Seafood Soup Udon, Dojo centres on their uncompromising passion for serving quality noodles at fantastically reasonable prices.Dojo is renowned for Excellent Value for Money using the freshest ingredients and premium grade herbs and spices.No MSG additives are used in the restaurant's cooking reflecting the restaurant's dedication to serving healthier food as well. Having undergone a recent major interior refurbishment, Dojo has a contemporary design with cross-overs into a "Chinoiserie" style.. This cross-over is particularly exemplified with a 10 metre feature wall showing an enchanting hand-painted mural of lush summer faunas and vivid songbirds in an Oriental garden. From spring onwards, Dojo's access to Millers Court Yard, provides for fantastic al fresco dining.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Noodles pure”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

If you like Asian and noodles you are in the right place. Big menu with dishes from different countries, quickly prepared and big size portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jbilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Jbilk
Thank you kindly for taking the time to write up about us.
Hope to see you the next time you are in Cambridge.

KInd Rgds,

Yuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    60
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An authentic gem!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Simply, this is a must try when in Cambridge.

Looking for some nice authentic food, the misses and myself trawled through websites trying to find somewhere to go when we finally decided on Dojo... and what a decision it was!

From the second we arrived, the owner made us feel exceptionally welcome, moving wheelchair ramps, moving reserved tables and cracking a gag or two.

The selection of food was amazing, making it a difficult choice, however we persevered and decided on some great dishes.

Cooked fresh, fast and friendly service (even when the place was at capacity) and the food tasted outstanding.

A word of warning... the portions are HUGE, and once the owner laughed a few times at the meager amounts we had managed to get into our bellies, he happily brought over some steel trays so we could continue the feast later that night - albeit with knives and forks this time.

Couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meso_Ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi Meso Ollie
Thank you so much for your kind words.
Pleasing our customers are what makes us tick and I am truly delighted to hear of your experience at Dojo.
Thank you once again and we very much look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Rgds,

Yuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a tiny restaurant so be prepared to wait and squeeze in but it is packed because the food is so god. Not only is it tasty but it feels like a healthy option for a meal out because of the quality of the ingredients used. The portions are huge but it is an accepted practice here to take half home in a tub for the next day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CoralCasey-Stoakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi CoralStoakes

Thank you so much for taking the time to write up your comments on Dojo.
Happy customers always leaves us with a big smile on our face!
We are really thrilled to see your most positive review on Dojo.

Thank you once again and see you soon!
Kind Rgds,

Yuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

When I lived in Cambridge 8 years ago this was one of my favourite restaurants: fast, wonderful food. It was my first choice when dining alone and I ate there dozens of times with my family and work colleagues. Today's trip with my now grown-up son and girlfriend was intended to impress his guest, but did anything but!

Service was hurried as usual but with my old favourite salmon ramen disappeared from the menu, it took longer to find an alternative. We settled on beef ramen, chicken ramen and sea-food pad thai with a couple of sides and tea.

A pad thai came quickly - but vegetarian rather than the sea-food one we'd ordered. The waiter was insistent that we'd ordered it and we put up with it as tofu is also a family favourite.

Ten full minutes later for the ramens - at least the ones we'd ordered but with tough beef merely scored lrather than cut into neat slices - a nightmare with the blunt chinese-style lacquered chopsticks that have replaced the disposable bamboo.

The ramens themselves were horrid. No longer the huge mix of asian vegetables of yesteryear, they consisted of a tasteless broth with lots of pak-choi and a couple of bits of bamboo shoot. The noodles were clumped in a sticky mass at the bottom.

Our sides were better - the duck spring rolls were very pleasant - crispy, flavoursome and packed with vegetables - and the satay chicken was tender with a very spicy sauce and thoughtful cubes of pineapple.

Certainly a case of "never again".

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Joe S

I am sorry that your experience at Dojo was not up to your expectations.
Possibly, you may have caught the kitchen on an off day.
In addition, part of our ktchen brigade have not been available for work.
In any case, we do not settle on excuses.

Had you asked us to exchange the dish, we would have done so without any hesitation given that we are strong believers that our customers should only pay for genuinely good food.

I hope this message conveys our sincerity and our disappointment in our inability to please you, a valuable customer.

Kind Rgds,

Yuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

If there is anything that can cheer you up - it's the food at dojos! Great variety and generous portions of food! Make it hot and spicy according to your tastebuds and leave with a great sense of satisfaction!

Helpful?
Thank Drashtti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dojo N, Public Relations Manager at Dojo, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Drashtti

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write about us.
Not sure about the title tho :)
Perhaps high quality, good value and generous portions - would be a tad more appropriate.

If you like your food hot, you may wish to select from our Extreme Chilli Sauce menu, a favourite with our hot-headed customers!

Thanks again and see you soon.

Kind Rgds,

Yuet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dojo also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing