We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal but wont rush back”
Review of Loch Fyne

Loch Fyne
Ranked #32 of 693 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Loch Fyne restaurants present a fine selection of fresh shellfish and oysters, along with seasonal fish and seafood specials. Each restaurant is rustic yet contemporary, with an elegant ambience. Grilled meat dishes are available at Loch Fyne, along with a popular kids menu. All of the fresh seafood is sustainably sourced.
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice meal but wont rush back”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to Loch Fyne with the children for Mothers Day. It has recently been refurbished and now feels contemporary. The restaurant was a little cold for my liking. The staff were attentive. The portion size was a little on the small side but the food overall was very nice. I wont hurry back as there are many other places to try but I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farmer_boy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    379
    189
    100
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming staff, terrible food”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The expensive Lobster Bisque was watery and lacking in taste. The 'Whole Plaice with garlic butter and new potatoes' was very badly and messily presented, the black skin was uppermost, and there was a brown liquid on the plate. The Tarte Tatin recommended by the waiter materialised as apple pie with ice-cream. We sent it back. A garbled explanation was given as to why there was no Tarte.
The staff were charming and we didn't complain, so the above is our opinion of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 124michele123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disppointed”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Not very nice at all, would not return! Prawns in garlic should of been prawns in Lemmon ! Fish was mostly batter and my daughters had more bones then fish! Coffee was cold!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere, patchy service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a lovely meal at Loch Fyne on Saturday night and we would go again and recommend it to others.
On the plus side:
It's an atmospheric restaurant, much larger than it looks without being cavernous in any way. Nicely decorated and laid out.
The menu is full of interest. It's hard to choose as so much looks good, and the Specials board just adds to the appeal. We had a range of dishes - mussels, sardines, fish soup and others to start with. The particular highlight was the fish soup - full of taste and flavour complemted with tasty bread. Shame the Prawn and mango cockatil didn't have any mango - but it still tasted good.And for main courses we all had something different - the sea bass was beautifully cooked, my halibut melted in the mouth, the taglione sauce was lovely and creamy, the fish and chips was memorable.
An appealing wine list. We had the Picpoul de Pinet. A fantastic alternative to habitual NZ Suavignon Blanc drinkers.
The only downside was the service. It was okay but our waiter seemed distracted and forgot one of our drinks. We didn't seem to have the right cutlery unless we asked. The cheese seemed to take ages. We were never offerred a jug of tap water.
All in all - a good night out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quick lunch in this super restaurant”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Prompt service. Super food and the staff accommodated our specific request to mix and match the food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing