We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Efes Restaurant

Efes Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was initially a bit worried at the few empty tables for a Saturday night but although the atmosphere was a bit lacking, the food was great and the service excellent. With a wide variety of Mediterranean style dishes to choose it was great to try something a bit different and each was full of flavour and good portions. What most impressed us though was the attentive service and genuine interest in ensuring we were enjoying the food. I think this would be great with a large party so plan to return with some friends and try out some more of the enticing options on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    141
    41
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bookman55
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You can tell it's run by people who like running a restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went here for dinner the other evening on a visit to Cambridge (having made sure we had booked as it gets busy). Service was friendly and helpful. For the location it is modestly priced. Good ambience, tables are not too close together, so unless you have very noisy people near you it is not too loud; it did get louder later on, but this seems to be the way it is these days. (or I'm getting old!) First courses are interesting and may seem a little on the smallish side until you have eaten the main courses which are fresh and substantial.
The wine list is interesting, being mainly Turkish wines, and again is not expensive, with bottles starting at £15 or so, and house wine considerably cheaper.
If I lived in Cambridge I think it would become a regular haunt, but being a bit of an old fogey I would eat early when it is quieter.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good family run restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, very tasty food & reasonably priced

Great place for groups, families & students.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retsehcniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Large group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very impressed with the speed and politeness of service when we had a table of 15 of us at Efe's on Saturday - not on an easy number to cater for. The food was very good and we had a very nice evening - thank you very much!! The only negative was that the restaurant was very busy and with so many of us as well, it was very noisy!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brought back memories of Turkish holidays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went here based on the tripadvisor reviews & because we have found it hard to find authentic Turkish food in England. It was delicious. We had the meze & vine leaves to start; mixed kebab & Halep kebab to follow. We really enjoyed it all & will certainly return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy031972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Efes Restaurant also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Efes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing