We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Fun, Funky Food”
Review of Wok N Grill

Wok N Grill
Ranked #310 of 761 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: A family-run restaurant near Cambridge serving a variety of quality Chinese & oriental food in the buffet style, featuring wok stir fry and teppanyaki grill open kitchen live cooking where a selection of fresh vegetables, meats & seafood are served. Also on the menu are sushi and desserts.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

A really good buffet style Chinese restaurant, with freshly cooked food available also, a large range of well cooked food, from starters to deserts the mini toffee bananas are delicious!

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank youknowthescore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 385 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

The most remarkable point about the Wok n Grill is how you can sample Chinese; Japanese and related cuisines all in the one place, and if you wish, all on your one plate. While I've lived in the far east and the idea felt really odd, it's not a bad thing in itself.
I'd agree with other reviewers comments on the best time to arrive, as the buffet was in a bit of a mess when I got there. The chefs will cook you food freshly but you may not know how the place works. Service, and some welcoming helpfulness was seriously missing. The food was good enough. My conclusion is that just as this place is unsure whether it's Chinese, Japanese, Malaysian or whatever, it is also unsure whether it's a restaurent, cafe or hawker-style eatery.

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RogerF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was excellent and good value in my opinion. It is way better than the local Chinese buffet in our town. It was only £2 more expensive but so much nicer. Loads of choices and good ice-cream. I was visiting Cambridge and made a right choice not to eat in the town. I think I won't visit our local Chinese buffet for a long time. The only downside is, like lots of people commented, it is very busy, crowded and noisy. I visited on Friday evening and the place was packed. But it wouldn't be that busy if the food was not good. The service was OK for me. The chef at the grill was nice and patient.

Date of visit: March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lis415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Buffet style Chinese as much as you can eat plus get your choice of ingredients stir fryed to your own spec. It's usually noisy, crowded and not very conducive to a relaxing meal out. The quality of the meat is ok but it is so heavily disguised its hard to tell. If you are particular about knowing the source of your meat don't eat here. Quantity rather than quality in my opinion , drinks quite expensive and staff poorly trained and surly.

Good for large party of big eaters who are not too fussy otherwise the salt, sugar, fat and artificial flavours content may put you off. . . . .. It certainly has me!

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A 3 course meal for £8.50 at lunchtime. Go to their website and add your name to the mailing list and get a free glass of wine (2 people, other offers for more).
There is a routine.
You get seated.
You order wine etc
You go to the buffet and fill your plate.
You return to your table and eat the food. Go for more if you wish.
You go to the wok (or grill) and select food to be cooked rather theatrically.
You return to your table and eat the food.
You go to the buffet for sweet course inc self serve ice cream.
You eat it at your table, Get more if you want.
You pay and go.

Atmosphere not great and a little crowded. Best to go at or just after opening time for best choice as some food runs low and takes a little time to be replenished. I enjoy the "starter" more than the main, lots of meaty bits some in batter, veg, fish, noodles etc but no prawns when i went.
I forgot that the main course shrinks when cooked so only had a little but after a slight surfeit of starters this left room for the sweet course.
I agree with others that staff appear to think that you know the routine so it can be a bit off putting. Also prices vary so check website. Before my visit there was a different price on the menu, cheaper, than the one on the main site but when I queried this they said the menu price need updating so i had to pay the £8.50. Response was polite and within 24 hrs.
Overall good value and will go again. Compares well with other local fooderies.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandallEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok N Grill also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Wok N Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing