We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea ”

Cafe Rouge Cambridge
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #100 of 763 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired by French cuisine and Parisienne bistro style. Cafe Rouge is your local bistro to enjoy delicious food and gorgeous glass of wine.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Booked this through Groupon, the cafe atmosphere was nice and romantic with low dim lighting, the service was excellent. the afternoon tea was fullfilling with a choice croque monsieur with ham and cheese or a vegeterian option of cheese and mushrooms.
The assorted cakes was excellent and the Scone with cream and strewbarryJam, The only down side which is not a reflection on the cafe as it was very good, my wife is allergic to strawberry flavours which I did let the cafe know before we arived,it would have been nice to have had something different like raspberry jam.
In all very nice thank you.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank nickhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 709 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Had a late afternoon meal in Cafe Rouge during a recent visit to Cambridge. Came part of a deal with Virgin Experience days that included punting and then a 3 course meal. The restaurant was extremely busy so we were glad we had prebooked a table before. Staff were polite and friendly and although it was very busy the guy who waited our table checked back with us several times to make sure everything was ok. Food was great. Had camebert to start which was a good serving, moules for main which came in a big pot, huge portion and Lemon Tart for dessert. All in all enjoyed our visit. Great deal to include some decent food as well as the punting on the river.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank GlennPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

A very enjoyable lunch in the secret garden. Started with the sharing board for two which was a delicious, good portion size to share and well presented. We both went for Moules Mariniere with frites, served in a huge marmite they are superb - the sauce was perfect. A glass of picpoul de pinet to compliment our lunch was perfect. Great service during our visit, offered tables both indoors and out - we opted to sit out to enjoy the summer sun. Highly recommend and great lunch spot after punting in Cambridge.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank laurenbQ1173VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Wife and I were on a day trip to Cambridge and went in search of somewhere for lunch. Crowds and crowds of tourists all had the same idea. Some places had people queuing just to read the outside menus. Eventually we came to Cafe Rouge where the queue was at least inside and we we're greeted with "and have you booked?" My heart sank but as we expected to be turned away the waitress said she would check for us. To our surprise we were shown to a table and enjoyed a very pleasant lunch. We had chicken burger with sweet potato fries (fantastic) and a beef burger with fries. A soft drink plus coffee each and a crumble dessert for the wife. Service from the staff was excellent and they worked really well in welcoming a group of some 40 tourists while coping with the main restaurant. Congratulations to the management, your staff did you proud.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank colinpNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

Usually I don’t like chain restaurant but this one is very nice. I like everything and the staff friendly and very nice with the customer.

I recommend it

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tielle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Cambridge also viewed

 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing