We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”
Review of Midsummer House

Midsummer House
Ranked #4 of 691 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With its divine location right on the River Cam, Midsummer House is among East Anglia���s best restaurants. Once you���ve finished punting down the river and taking in the sights and sounds of the beautiful university city of Cambridge, pay Midsummer House a visit. Relaxed and elegant, with a sunny conservatory and perfect al fresco dining for warm summer evenings, this modern British restaurant offers a wide range of creative dishes with a sophisticated touch learned by Chef Patron Daniel Clifford throughout his years in Britain and France���s best restaurants. Passionate about ingredients, Clifford even uses the harvest from Midsummer House���s own 80 year old apple trees in his cookery.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Visited with American relatives. We had a wonderful experience savouring the food which was exceptional. Every thing about Midsummer is great the only fault is that there is only limited parking which is not that near if you have limited mobility . ,but I would walk a mile to get to it
Saving for the next visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Copson96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    172
    67
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gb
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another amazing lunch!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been a few times now this year and every time our expectations have been exceeded so we keep re-booking! The food is so delicious and the service fantastic. We will keep going and spread the word... But not too much as we want a table!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
875 reviews
491 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 890 helpful votes
“Five stars is not enough this was perfect”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was a special occasion our wedding anniversary, deliberately chose this restaurant as Cambridge is easy to get to on a weekend.

Everything about Midsummer House is great very attentive, knowledgable and friendly staff, who are keen t make sure that you have a great time. We chose the market Menu, there were one or two things on there we were not sure of, and in discussion with the staff, they offered with
In reason to "adapt" the menu t suit, in the end we went with their recommendations and were delighted that we had done.

Half way through we were invited to tour the kitchen and the operation generally which was very informative and made the evening even more special - thank you Matthew, and the team.

Food out of this world, service to match - yes it's not a restaurant that most people would eat in regularly but for special occasions it's outstanding trip advisor either increase the number of rating points or I will need to down value most other places that I have been to, this is special..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Completely amazing”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

A long overdue visit to the nearest 2* to home was fantastic. Every thing was perfection, from food to the bonhommie of the staff. The wine flight with the full tasting menu was superb and the sommelier was very informative and keen to debate his pairings, a refreshing approach. Midway through the evening we were lucky enough to get an impromptue tour of the kitchens and cellar - a facinatin experience and a well timed pause. We can certainly say that when we left we could not have eaten a single mouthful more!

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection from start to finish”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Best restaurant experience we've ever had! There was not one aspect of our evening that was not absolutely wonderful. The maître de/main waiter who took care of us (from Belfast) made our evening that bit more special. There was 4 of us, my cousin being pregnant so he went through each aspect of the menu with her to ensure she was happy to eat each course and provided an alternative when appropriate. He was always on hand to support (as were all of the very professional staff), at times without us evening noticing and with the most wonderful sense of humour. Our wine and water was topped up regularly before any of our glasses became empty. All four of us thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening and we're already talking about a return visit.
Thank you to all the staff who were working on Saturday 9th Nov 2013 for making our "catch-up" evening among the most special that we've ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jofo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midsummer House also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Midsummer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing