We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky building with good service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Browns-Cambridge

Browns-Cambridge
Ranked #145 of 677 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Browns, we believe there's no better cuisine in the world than British cooking, done well. That's why we're dedicated to serving and celebrating the very best of British food and drink. To help you discover and enjoy the great variety and quality of food that exists right here, on our doorstep. We've combed the British Isles for the finest ingredients, dishes and produce available. From north to south, from farm to seaside, from the past to the present.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quirky building with good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is great as the restuarant is set in the 'old' Cambridge hospital, so very quirky. It's such a large room with very tall ceilings however, the downside to this is that it is very noisey and akin to being in large school dining room. The place certainly has a 'vibe' about it with a lively atmosphere. The food was good and we were assigned a waitress who could not have been more attentive - service was excellent and efficient. A great place to go with friends for a social night out at reasonable prices and we will certainly be returning. Would recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jules

Thank you for your review for Browns, I have shared your feedback with the rest of my team

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards,

Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    448
    293
    204
    148
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surroundings, superb menu choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Good service, and a great deal using the '1973' menue - celebrating Browns 40th Birthday.
The decor and atmosphere is fun and relaxing, with a nice bar to sit at before your meal.
Originally a victorian hospital, the conversion has been done in a tastetful manner.
A ;must' when visiting Cambridge!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for your review for Browns, I have shared your feedback with the rest of my team

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards,

Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great quality at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Good cocktails, attentive friendly waiter. Food was very good for the price. Wine excellent and very well priced.

We had scallops and baked goats cheese, then pork belly and teriyaki sea trout. Everything was well cooked and seasoned. Scallops could have been hotter. Pork belly came with really good carmelised apple segments, more of which would have been nice.

Dessert we shared salted caramel choc cheesecake which was very good indeed.

We had the Rothschild Viognier for £20 the bottle which was excellent.

Definitely one of the better mid-priced restaurants in Cambridge overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awlad M, Manager at Browns-Cambridge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Alex

Thank you for your review for Browns, I have shared your feedback with the rest of my team

We look forward to seeing you in the near future

Kind Regards,

Awlad Miah
Manager
Browns Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still going down hill- sad as was lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rated 'Average', but 'Poor' if you just take food into account.

We ate there on Saturday night and unfortunately the meal confirmed the fears of our last visit a couple of months ago. The food has the look of the pre-prepared meals that you can find in most pubs these days, and it looks like a lot of heating up but not much cooking has gone on in the kitchen. A real shame - it remains one of the best settings of any Cambridge restaurant, maybe they have given up trying because they know they will get a steady flow of customers because of this. Come on Brown's, you can do much better!

This judgement may be unfair, but it is what the finished product looks like so that matters. Pies didn't have much meat but a lot of sloppy gravy. Staff desperate to sell you alcohol before taking food orders. Starters and puddings OK, but again nothing you can't find elsewhere. 'Specials' not very special - cod was good, but they seemed over keen to push overpriced steak, again something you can get anywhere, and the pasta with a bit of tomato sauce at £12 was overpriced and definitely not special.

Pity about the 'Lobster' special sign on the pavement outside too - it looked like one of those signs you see at tacky sea-side resorts. Why not do a chalked board, at least it looks like it is 'special' ? Sea Tree does this better.

Don't like being so negative as this has been out favourite Cambridge restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grev2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
601 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Good place for Saturday meal out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We went with friends for a weekend meal out and it was ideal. The food was pretty good, apart from tepid soup. The service was relaxed and friendly and the atmosphere in the restaurant was good. Shame there was noone playing the piano.

Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns-Cambridge also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Browns-Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing