We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Lensfield(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regent Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Centennial Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenners Hotel(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tamburlaine(Cambridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
366
305
177
89
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
305
177
89
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barcinema suitewolf blassvalet parkingroll top bathmonsoon showernespresso machinefitzwilliam museumsuperior roomunderfloor heatingmini barbirthday treatkings collegea lovely staywalk in showerreception staffstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 976 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We arrived at Hotel du Vin after spending a couple of nights in different hotels en route. It came as a very welcome change. Service is impeccable and goes to show that furnishings and decor aren't the only yardstick of a good hotel – even though they help! Our room, ''Gaudium' was in the basement which didn't bode well until we saw it... The room was charming with exposed brickwork and a massive bed (matched only by the size of the TV) Outside was a small terrace with table and chairs, which would have been great if it hadn't been raining. The bathroom led off from the bedroom and boasted underfloor heating; a roll-top bath and wet room with monsoon shower. All beautifully clean and contemporary. We left it too late to get a table in the restaurant as they get booked far in advance, but Brown's restaurant next door serves similar Bistro fare. Fitzwilliam museum over the road is good for a range of history and art and the town centre is about five minutes walk. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and continental options were extensive. The Eagle pub, in town, served proper beer and home-cooked food and was very reasonable for lunch.Valet parking was £15 but that was for one night. It could get pricey for a week though. One of the better Hotel du Vins

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

...because the first studio room we were given (£194 a night) was a teeny room at the top of some stairs with another teeny room at the bottom of the stairs containing a bath.

It was also at the front of the hotel and the glazing isn't that great so it was not only small but noisy too. Luckily we'd checked in early and therefore were able to move to another studio which was quieter (as it was at the back - the front is a busy main road) and larger so all was well but I wouldn't have stayed for the 2 nights we had booked had we not been moved.

The room we were moved to was lovely though and we had a great weekend in Cambridge and the hotel. The location is great, five minutes walk (if that) to The Fitzwilliam museum, 10 minutes walk to the river for punting and 15 minutes walk (at most) to the centre of town. We liked the food in The Bistro and the service from reception and bar staff, which was all friendly and efficient. There is no room service though, which I've always thought is odd about Hotel Du Vin and a shame if you fancy breakfast in bed or a sandwich at midnight.

There is valet parking, which has to be booked in advance and is first come first served at £15 a night. Cambridge is a pain for parking so it really is worth booking.

This isn't as lovely as the HDVs in Bristol or Henley in my view (and I've stayed in both) but is still a decent enough hotel with good service in a great location. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickedwaterwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We had a nice stay in the Henley room - very spacious with a bathroom and a shower room. Overall the room was smart, stylish and very clean. Only one negative: the room shares an internal door with another guest room, and there is no sound isolation between them.

The breakfast was great - super selection and the cooked breakfasts were delicious.
We found the hotel bar to be very expensive, however there were good bar/restaurant alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HP-HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel because we had such a great experience at the Hotel du Vin in Glasgow in February. Neither of us had ever spent much time in Cambridge (actually, I had never been), so we planned to stay here for our first wedding anniversary on July 25th. I had rung about getting chocolates or flowers for the room prior to our arrival, but the receptionist was very distracted and unable to sufficiently answer my questions. ugh...this did not inspire confidence of a nice weekend away!

On arrival, the receptionist's were obviously busy with several people checking out, but there was no smile, no warmth about the place - it was definitely a cold reception. I will say, however, that our room was ready well before check-in and we were allowed to use the room immediately. Moreover, we were allowed to keep our luggage at the hotel until 3pm and our car until 1pm on the day of check-out. Although parking is scarce in Cambridge, I felt that the car parking fee, although steep at £15/night, was worth it as the valet service was prompt and the cars are kept in secure university parking facilities.

The building's facade is gorgeous, but the layout of the hotel is haphazard and the room could have been in any hotel except with Hotel du Vin furnishings. The bedroom was large, but there was no table except for a desk, which was covered with unwelcome magazines and had a high-backed chair, that when pushed in to its rightful place blocked all view of the TV. I checked the minibar on arrival to ensure that we were not charged for anything we did not consume and found 3 items, totally more than £10, missing! The bathroom was an adequate size, but was only 1/2 the size of the one we had in Glasgow. The sink was a strange design, in which we would hardly have been able to gather enough water to wash our faces. Moreover, the bath's drainage pipe couldn't keep up with the amount of water coming from the monsoon shower - so our showers turned into mini baths! Our windows looked out onto scaffolding and workers - thus, to keep a little privacy, we kept the heavy, dark curtains pulled most of the day, which I hate!

Luckily, we spent little time in the room and were able to enjoy Cambridge. I wish we had an extra night in the city, though maybe not at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piercel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We had the Graham Beck room which is out the back in what looks like a purpose built block, after the shock of that, the room was excellent (see photos). Great bed, furnishings and bathroom and all looking very good. Nice bathroom products too. Tables and chairs outside the room the terrace gave a nice feel as did the small garden beds.
Staff in reception and the bar were very friendly and helpful, great bar for a hotel well worth using even if you are not staying here.
The only negative point was that sash window had no catch or lock.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H4rlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews